Food, Drink & Dining Out Absinthe

Have had it a few times, had it the proper way when it was burnt then you drink it, its quite nice. Have had 4 shots of it within a night as well as a heap of other drinks over a 10 hour session and it was by far the worst hangover I have had of my life.

Will definitely have it again though.

At my 18th my friends knew I'd never done a shot before, so they thought it was appropriate to bring a bottle and make it my first shot. My technique was a bit terrible, absinthe everywhere in my mouth :p took me a while to brave another shot after the that..awful stuff.

It's not supposed to be shot or burnt.

Not burnt but definitely heated. Having it heated brings out the hallucination side of it more. One of the worst experiences I ever had was on that.

What?

Hallucination? Wormwood hasn't been in these drinks for a long long time. Not only that, even if it was, what would warmth do to enhance psychoactive properties? Anything you've felt, you are imagining. As I said, its no more potent than any other high volume drink.

It should be drank with water and ice, a bit of sugar.

What?

Hallucination? Wormwood hasn't been in these drinks for a long long time. Not only that, even if it was, what would warmth do to enhance psychoactive properties? Anything you've felt, you are imagining. As I said, its no more potent than any other high volume drink.

there is some kind of compound in Absithne which isn't standard. I don't think it causes anything though other than what you would get from having a shot of say, barcadi 151.

A while back a mate bought some back from europe that had some kind of wood floating in it, which was about 80% alcohol. Obviously when the alcohol content is that high it tasted like you know, alcohol.

We got stuck into ABC's on a Canberra footy trip a few years back, in the downstairs bar of the backpackers in Civic. Absinthe, Bacardi 151 and Chartreuse, poured over a sugar cube, ignited then sculled warm. Haven't had an ulcer since.

there is some kind of compound in Absithne which isn't standard. I don't think it causes anything though other than what you would get from having a shot of say, barcadi 151.

A while back a mate bought some back from europe that had some kind of wood floating in it, which was about 80% alcohol. Obviously when the alcohol content is that high it tasted like you know, alcohol.

What has tradinationally been considered the component that causes hallucinations is generally gone by the time it is fully distilled, and any trace amounts are harmless. You'd die of alcohol poisoning before that component came anywhere close to affecting you.

The wood your friend has was probably a prop. It sucks people in.

This is all urban legend and myth.

What?

I could be wrong but I was under the influence that heating it effected the herbs that were in it?
The one I had was Bohemian-style absinth but it was acquired at the back of a bottle shop in the seedy areas of Western Sydney (Mt Druitt). The Czech's use fire to heat theirs, but that only started in the '90s and is relatively new.

drank this one once

3y8f8306.jpg

got it from a bottle-o in altona one day, thoght it would be Eurotrip awesome.

Turns out it was 85% proof, tried it with sugar cubes and flambe shots, didnt trip balls at all.

Just passed out and spewed blood the next day. Never again

Of course you're not going to trip balls.

**** me. This is laborious.

I've had absinthe with real wormwood in it before. There are restrictions on the amount.

It's a total mothergoose too I'll just add.

Yeah, it's the thujone. Just a toxin really, not a psychoactive substance at all. As I said, most of it is gone by the time it gets to you and you'd die of alcohol poisoning before the thujone got to your head.

It's just the taste and alcohol content, placebo and shady history that throws people.

Sorry to burst the bubble.

It was about 5/6 years ago when i drank it but i remember doing some research afterwards.

Something about wormwood and the oil contains thujone which is the hallucinogenic, however in australia it is limited to 35mg/L or something which is well under the threshold for making you "trip out"

Someone correct me if im that far off.

It was about 5/6 years ago when i drank it but i remember doing some research afterwards.

Something about wormwood and the oil contains thujone which is the hallucinogenic, however in australia it is limited to 35mg/L or something which is well under the threshold for making you "trip out"

Someone correct me if im that far off.

Thujone isn't hallucinogenic. If it was affecting you, which it won't in the amounts it is in the drink, you'd just be dying. Or very ****ed up.

It's a nice drink.

The Absinthe of today isn't the drink it once was, so anyone claiming its power over any other high alcohol volume drink like grappa, ever clear, Uncle Eugene's moonshine or even some Vodkas, is imagining it.

I have some Absinthe flavourd nicotine juice I'm vaping at the moment. It's awesome.

Grappa is another killer drink imo, my dad loves the stuff so have it on his birthday alot, always a big night when i finish on a glass or two of grappa.

Especially if it's home made.

My sister warned me about hitting the homemade ouzo once, someone gave me a bottle, of with I drank 90%. Took me over a week to recover, and I smelled like aniseed for days lol

Has anyone here tried Poteen? When I lived in England I had a mate, Belfast Pete, who would bring me some when he came to visit, claimed it was official RUC "approved" bootleg Poteen, but Belfast Pete, good bloke that he was, did talk a lot of shit. Whether true or not, this stuff was real falling down water, it packed an almighty punch.