Academy v Father-Sons

Sorry, you were bleating what 5 posts ago about having to pay fair price and now we get Thomas as a "freebie"?
What came first, North setting up a Tassie academy or Thomas as a 16 year old winning both Tassies U16 & U18 b&f at the U16 and U18 national carnivals.

Thomas was a gun and known quantity before he ever got a single coaching session from North.

The NGA academies should not be producing any draftable kids for another 3 years.

That’s freebie the AFL gifted you.

Well no it's nothing alike.

There's a huge volume of TAC Cup players, Melbourne scholarship players, drafted players that come out of NSW and the Riverina, always has been.

There hasn't been a player drafted out of Tasmania in 2 years.
Incorrect. I suggest you check last years draft.

What came first, North setting up a Tassie academy or Thomas as a 16 year old winning both Tassies U16 & U18 b&f at the U16 and U18 national carnivals.

Thomas was a gun and known quantity before he ever got a single coaching session from North.

The NGA academies should not be producing any draftable kids for another 3 years.

That’s freebie the AFL gifted you.

Or Jacob Hopper, you know the kid from rural Leeton having been on a football scholarship at St Pats Ballarat since year 7, well before being involved at GWS, developed in the Rebels TAC Cup program since u15’s.

When asked after his bottom age year, he stated he’d never actually been to Sydney in his life.

Yep, glad NSW football had pumped so much development into him that he was available for the GWS academy......

Or Jacob Hopper, you know the kid from rural Leeton having been on a football scholarship at St Pats Ballarat since year 7, well before being involved at GWS, developed in the Rebels TAC Cup program since u15’s.

When asked after his bottom age year, he stated he’d never actually been to Sydney in his life.

Yep, glad NSW football had pumped so much development into him that he was available for the GWS academy......
What was that....revionist history.

Hopper moved to St. Pat's in his last two years of school, was identified by GWS in 2009 and was in the academy from 2010. https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...aduate-who-now-plays-afl-20160906-gr9qs4.html

Build a timeline if it helps.

You just love making stuff up.

So are you a Snake alt?

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

As discussed earlier Maurice Rioli jnr is eligible for Fremantle, Essendon & Richmond. But it sounds like Richmond have put in the work and he is favoured to end up in black n yellow as said by his coach in NT Rick Nolan.

https://thewest.com.au/sport/afl-dr...l-father-son-draft-pick-in-2020-ng-b88651088z

That’s how you do it North fans.

And lastly here’s a link with a map of Australia to show everyone where each academy is.

http://m.afl.com.au/news/game-development/nab-afl-rising-star-program/nga-clubacademies

Actually he couldn't have joined the academy in 2010 because it didn't exist then, he joined when it was first created in 2011.
You should probably look at reviewing your own timeline.
Sure, 2011. Was he suddenly not part of the academy for years before he went to St. Pats or the TAC cup?

The current father-son eligibility rules are broken. Did anybody read the article on AFL.com.au about Alwyn Davey’s 14 year old (yeah, that shocked me) twins who are dominating up north so much that private schools in Adelaide and Melbourne are ready to offer scholarships so they can continue their schooling and play their footy?

Alwyn Davey played 100 games for Essendon, at least 80 of which were bang average at absolute best and the remaining being games where he was serviceable to good. That’s apparently good enough for Essendon to have priority access to two of 2021’s most exciting prospects despite the club playing little to no part in their development at all.

100 games is far too friendly of a requirement. There are some shockingly average players who play 100 games for a club - they haven’t left enough of a legacy for their kids to build on. The bare minimum should be 150 but I reckon 200 should be it - the real mark of a club champion.

The current father-son eligibility rules are broken. Did anybody read the article on AFL.com.au about Alwyn Davey’s 14 year old (yeah, that shocked me) twins who are dominating up north so much that private schools in Adelaide and Melbourne are ready to offer scholarships so they can continue their schooling and play their footy?

Alwyn Davey played 100 games for Essendon, at least 80 of which were bang average at absolute best and the remaining being games where he was serviceable to good. That’s apparently good enough for Essendon to have priority access to two of 2021’s most exciting prospects despite the club playing little to no part in their development at all.

100 games is far too friendly of a requirement. There are some shockingly average players who play 100 games for a club - they haven’t left enough of a legacy for their kids to build on. The bare minimum should be 150 but I reckon 200 should be it - the real mark of a club champion.

Yet others reckon the eligibility should be around the 50 game mark.

Hope we get both and they turn out to be champs.

If Collingwood were smart they would facilitate a scholarship for both boys right now & board at Scotch like Rioli jnr n they would both fall into Collingwood’s academy zone as per the link I posted earlier. As it appears to be a 3 year qualification period for the NGA’s.

Their father played 100 games for your club. They qualify. That's all that matters.

Their father was a very average footballer who contributed nothing to the legacy of the Essendon football club. His contributions don’t warrant a walk-up entrance to a team, that’s why the rule should be changed

Kicked 3 or more goals on 15 occasions. Hardly a complete dud.

Played 100 games. That's all that matters.

Kicked 3 or more goals on 15 occasions. Hardly a complete dud.

Played 100 games. That's all that matters.

He's still bitter about the numerous goal of the year noms he got against Collingwood on ANZAC Day.

Froggy could play, just got smashed by injury and unfortunately wasn't tall enough for his natural CHF position.

Bringing facts, unlike yourself.
Sure. Again, does the time shift of a few months change the point that Hopper was identified by the Giants in 2009, on a talent pathway program, then in their academy for years before he went near the TAC cup or a Victorian boarding school?