Academy Watch

• Thread starter Thread starter irel

Just caught a small snippet of Adrian Fletcher being interviewed on SEN talking about the Academy and QLD's win over Tassie.

Full interview should be up on their website in a few hours time.

What happened to that ruckman Quigley was talking up? I think his name was Kristelly or something like that.

May I just say that I am bloody happy that Leigh Matthews is in the expansion clubs corner fighting against Eddie McGuire. Usually the AFL bends over and gives Eddie whatever he wants when he wants it but with Leigh fighting against him hopefully the AFL will not cave so quickly.

Under 18s are not usually a heavily matched up sort of game. The Tasmanians started with a lot of pressure on the ball and tackled hard but this dropped off a bit as they tired. Their focus tended to be in the middle of the ground as well which was not where Keays was playing. I did not notice him getting any close attention when he was outside 50. Inside 50 I did not notice him being in a huge amount of space so fm there was someone in his vicinity at least. It is hard to watch everything.

Kristelly I don't think has had a particularly good year and Preuss seems to have made more of the chances he has had. Not sure if there are injury issues there or not. In the Tassie match Qld used a bottom ager as the back up in Nate Dennis although Preuss had a big majority of the game time. I am still hoping to see Kristelly in one of the other games.

Under 18s are not usually a heavily matched up sort of game. The Tasmanians started with a lot of pressure on the ball and tackled hard but this dropped off a bit as they tired. Their focus tended to be in the middle of the ground as well which was not where Keays was playing. I did not notice him getting any close attention when he was outside 50. Inside 50 I did not notice him being in a huge amount of space so fm there was someone in his vicinity at least. It is hard to watch everything.

Kristelly I don't think has had a particularly good year and Preuss seems to have made more of the chances he has had. Not sure if there are injury issues there or not. In the Tassie match Qld used a bottom ager as the back up in Nate Dennis although Preuss had a big majority of the game time. I am still hoping to see Kristelly in one of the other games.

What are your thoughts on Dennis? Really liked him in the Gippsland game, seemed to get around the ground really well, really good height aswell

I didn't realise he was a bottom ager at first and I was pretty disappointed that he was getting a game ahead of Kristelly. When I worked out that he was a bottom ager it made more sense in that they were blooding him with the aim of assisting his development. Out there he looked fairly skinny and not particularly strong and did not have the overwhelming height advantage to compensate. He was reasonable with his tap work when he got his hand on it but nothing to really write home about. Around the ground he looked pretty fluid and he seems to have a reasonable idea about where he should go to receive and help out. He got involved in play more than Preuss did which was encouraging. I didn't notice him playing a lot of TOG and his endurance base might not be fantastic given there were times when Dawson was rucking.

I have to admit though that I was not going to comment on Dennis other than in passing. Rucks are difficult to pick at the best of times in the U18s and there is a big development gap between the bottom and top agers and the bottom aged rucks usually struggle even the very good ones. There are exceptions but as a rule it is often unfair to put too much weight on how they go in their first year.

Article in today's paper about an overhaul of the academy and rules that go with it by the AFL. I personally can not hate Eddie McGuire more than I do right now.

http://m.couriermail.com.au/sport/a...s-say-are-unfair/story-fnia3v70-1226966854575

Relax, I can't see it harming us too much...you can't really put a specific worth on junior players as they are so hit & miss :thumbsu:

There will always be an advantage for us to have these academies in place or they may as well close them down. I'm pretty sure the AFL will not let that occur.

Unbelievable.

Caro said it perfectly on Footy Classified this week. The AFL need to realise they run the league and need to man up and stop getting Eddie's approval on everything.

Eddie: “We have to get back to giving the game back to the supporter base and back to Victorian football which has been drained right through the last period of time.”

This is by far the biggest load of football related horseshit I've read in the last year. I can't believe he actually has influence when he speaks meaningless drivel like this. The same campaigner who threw a massive Channel 9 contract at Brown when they tried to lure him to Collingwood.

I wonder how well Eddie's love for "equality" would stand up if all third-party payments to players were counted in the cap.

The ****wit says nothing about all the inherent disadvantages that Collingwood receive... favourable draw, reduced travel, blockbusters out the wazoo, being able to offer sponsors FTA coverage nearly every single week yet absolutely loses his shit at any mechanism to address inequities experienced by frontier clubs. What's worse is that with the exception of Caroline Wilson, every other sycophantic backslapper in the media is too insipid to call him out on it.

Next generation on show next week with the U14 State Championships at Burpengary, quite a few Academy boys will be playing no doubt. There is a kid by the name of Adam Peak who will be playing for Brisbane South East who looks to be a bit of a star in the making, plays for Morningside. I've only seen him play a few times but he reminds me of a young Luke Hodge, very impressive. In the same side is Casey Voss, can't get over how much he moves across the ground like his father (to be expected I guess). I'm looking forward to seeing some future Lions take their next step, should be some quality footy.

Is Brendan Shelton from the Darling Downs still in that age group or has he gone up?

Gone up mate, playing for Wests in Brisbane now too with another couple of DD boys.

Any word how he's been going?
Started the season slowly but is really working into it now from all reports. It's tough to adjust from being a big fish in a small pond to be suddenly coming up against other equally talented players on a weekly basis. One of the knocks on Brendan in the past has been his disposal by foot but he has worked exceptionally hard at improving this area of his game and is reaping the rewards that go with it. He has all the physical attributes to be successful, quality young man.