gaffy444

Feb 14, 2011
Hey guys,

me and some mates are heading the the Rd 7 match in Melbourne next month. I was just wondering if any members could point me in the direction of some accommodation that is quite affordable and close to etihad and the G (as I am going to the friday melbourne match). I realise that there have probably been threads for this before but I had trouble finding them so I have made a new thread. Please delete and merge to old thread if you wish mods.

Thanks in advance to all!

When my mate and I went over a few years ago (managed to watch the 12 goal Le Cras game :D) we stayed at a place called Hotel Ibis on Little Bourke Street, a short tram ride from the G and walking distance to Etihad if you want to catch a game there too.

It was pretty cheap and good from memory, not sure how much it would be now but couldn't hurt to check it out...

http://www.ibishotel.com/gb/hotel-3030-ibis-melbourne-little-bourke-street/index.shtml

When my mate and I went over a few years ago (managed to watch the 12 goal Le Cras game :D) we stayed at a place called Hotel Ibis on Little Bourke Street, a short tram ride from the G and walking distance to Etihad if you want to catch a game there too.

It was pretty cheap and good from memory, not sure how much it would be now but couldn't hurt to check it out...

http://www.ibishotel.com/gb/hotel-3030-ibis-melbourne-little-bourke-street/index.shtml
Stayed there last year for the Carlton game (where Naitanui took that massive hanger).
Great location. So close to everything. Was looking at staying there again this year but it seems it's not as cheap as it was, given we got a package deal or something.

Actually, just looked, seems the same deal is back.
Cool.

I'm actually heading over to Melbourne during that week and I don't mean to hijack the thread but I was wondering what would be the best way to get tickets for the wce ess match? (4 tickets)

Wait for ticketek/ticketmaster to sell to the general public or just purchase at the gate?

Any advice will be much appreciated.
Thanks

If you're willing to consider a hostel, I absolutely love Urban Central. Within walking distance of Etihad (about 2 kms - if you don't mind a decent stroll) and a tram regular service over the road (and McDonald's a stone throw away) so getting to the 'G is no problem. I don't mind sharing a room with others so I love how cheap it is.

If that isn't your thing I would recommend Hotel Enterprize. I stayed there for the '05 and '06 GF and did like it. Good rooms and service and from memory good prices for comparable locations. It's even closer to Etihad (nearly opposite the train station which is VERY close to the stadium) so travelling around Melbourne on public transport is easy.

I'm actually considering going Round 7 as well but haven't made my mind up yet :)

Well, Ibis to Etihad is pretty close. Given this is the view.
268349_10150238629943762_825623761_7015021_8084006_n.jpg

That was the view from the room. Ignore the bloke in the photo. There's one of just the view from the window. Must be on the girlfriend's computer.

Edit:
270195_10150238627833762_825623761_7014971_6387939_n.jpg

Thanks very much for the responses so far. Will be discussing with my mates soon, and will pick the lucky winner soon :p

Space hotel in Melbourne is very affordable with lots of different options. It is not as close as some of the other hotels, but with the trams everything is reachable quite easily. We walked to the MCG from the hotel, but it was quite a trek. You would need the tram to Etihad. But for the price it was clean and comfortable.

I'm actually heading over to Melbourne during that week and I don't mean to hijack the thread but I was wondering what would be the best way to get tickets for the wce ess match? (4 tickets)

Wait for ticketek/ticketmaster to sell to the general public or just purchase at the gate?

Thanks

Every Essendon game that I have been to in Victoria has been reserved seating so if you want a particular seat I would get them off ticketek/ticketmaster.

Not sure what your demographic is and if the fooy is the only reason why you are in Melbourne.

If footy is your sole focus then IBIS is a good place and just around the corner is Movida restaurant for a good feed.

If you are also interested in "night life" I would look at South Yarra area and catch a train into Docklands (10 minute ride to Southern Cross) and then you have all of South Yarra as your playground (as well as areas like South Mebourne, St Kilda etc.) I would not socialise in Melbourne CBD these days.

Every Essendon game that I have been to in Victoria has been reserved seating so if you want a particular seat I would get them off ticketek/ticketmaster.

Thanks. Just checked Ticketmaster and tickets are already on sale and yep, only reserved seating available.

Any idea on where is the best to sit in Etihad during an Eagles away game and is Level 1 better than Level 2? Hopefully somewhere in the middle of the ground.

We are also going to Melbourne for the Essendon match. Staying in South Yarra at Darling Towers Apartments. Stayed there last year as well and is a couple of minutes walk to tram and trains. Reasonable prices and excellent facilites and location. We always prebook tickets. Last year (at Etihad) got tickets right on race where Eagles run out - near Eagles cheer squad and were heaps of other Eagles fans as well.

Thanks again for all the replies guy. I will be discussing the South Yarra game with my mates because I can see ourselves becoming quite the Yahoos if we get up on the Saturday.

Try the below link, it is right smack bang in the middle of Melbourne, just near Bourke street mall, i stayed here all the time when i used to fly over for games before i moved to Melbourne. Could not get more central.

http://www.mercurewelcome.com.au/

Stayed here during the weekend when we lost to St Kilda at Docklands in July last year.

Awesome location, caught the tram up to Abbotsford on the Friday, did a tour at the Carlton Brewery, walked to the 'G to watch Carlton play Collingwood on the Saturday then caught the tram to Docklands and watched West Coast play Saint Kilda.

It is cheap, central, and right near china town for 4 am greasy feeds.

It's worth having a look on ebay for your tickets to the Bombers game at Etihad. My sister and her partner are Essendon fans and buy tickets off ebay for cheap to most games they attend - corporates sell them, and they're usually in abundance for games against interstate sides. Good seats too.

Another strong vote for the Hotel Ibis. Get in there.

Thanks
Ticketmaster.

Still and this is just personal preference, but I actually like to get tickets on the top lvl on the wing. Will probably be reserved if Essendon is playing and not general admission, but either way due to the design of Etihad there isn't a gradual incline like at Subiaco or the G so you are still reasonably close to the action but have the benefit of a birds eye view. Plus its cheaper.

Ticketmaster.

Still and this is just personal preference, but I actually like to get tickets on the top lvl on the wing. Will probably be reserved if Essendon is playing and not general admission, but either way due to the design of Etihad there isn't a gradual incline like at Subiaco or the G so you are still reasonably close to the action but have the benefit of a birds eye view. Plus its cheaper.

Thanks mate. Will definitely try for some of those seats. I enjoy being on a 2nd tier and on the wing so fingers crossed We can swing some.

Have a great time! I always stay down in St Kilda at a great value place in The Cosmopolitan Hotel, and just tram it in to the grounds... awesome walkability in St Kilda, and every year we've run into a few of the Eagles guys there having breakfast.

Usually there are a few weekends in the fixture that are good options for catching a cracker WCE game plus a block buster between two melbourne teams... but this season seems light on for that option apart from Round 7 and Round 23.

Im going to eye off heading over for Round 23 - should be a big last weekend before finals with us playing the Hawks (and likely jockying for finals ranking advantage), plus Ess v Pies, and to a lesser extend Carlton v Saints.

So just to double check what I assume by common sense - with that floating fixture in Round 23, the home team cant change right - WCE v Hawks has to be played in Melbourne?

Ticketmaster.

My preference is also level three on the wing also. Most of the time it is reserved seating though. Etihad is my favorite stadium to watch footy at as you are literally on top of the action.

Accommodation in Melbourne