Play Nice Adam Goodes

video-undefined-292DB39C00000578-473_636x358.jpg
That doesn't show anything. At no point did he throw his arm forward.
OK, he mimed a spear ready to throw...So if I mimed aiming a gun but not firing, that'd be OK?
Why do you keep asking me to double-check your moronic comparison? You compared an indigenous dance to a white power salute and a rifle shot against people who'd been the target of long-term violence. It was stupid. Let it go.
I'm saying they're both gestures promoting one race.

If one is racist, why isn't the other?

If one would cause outrage, why shouldn't the other?
Because White Power movements have a long and violent history attempting to subjugate and oppress minorities. Firing a rifle aimed directly against indigenous Australians from a white person obviously has its own obvious ties, whereas what Goodes did is indigenous dance from an u16 football team. 4

You can't seriously believe what you're posting.

I don't have a handle on anything. I barely know crap about this issue. The only experience I have ever had learning about aboriginal issues was when I was at school 8 years ago and from watching Samson and Delilah. That's why I am interested in hearing people's personal experiences.

Would love to volunteer if I had time./knew how to. However, I'm not sure if I would be a suitable teacher at all for drug/alcohol abuse in those communities. :D
The issues are not drug and alcohol as much as respect and recognition. Everyone can help with that.

JB is actually correct. If I say that Fraser Gehrig looks like an ape, that is not racist. If I say Adam Goodes looks like an ape, that is not inherently racist either. Saying someone looks like an ape does not make you a racist. Meaning and intent are what defines it as racism.
You honestly can't see why one isn't worse than the other?

JB is actually correct. If I say that Fraser Gehrig looks like an ape, that is not racist. If I say Adam Goodes looks like an ape, that is not inherently racist either. Saying someone looks like an ape does not make you a racist. Meaning and intent are what defines it as racism.
Incorrect. Its racist because
1. Terms like that have been used to oppress IA peoplesfor years
2. IA people find it racist

So any gestures players make towards spectators are OK?

And yet is a kid in the crowd says something, they should be immediately condemned...

Never said any gesture is find, you are choosing to be offended by a tribal salute some kids made up not me

Whats the teenager in the crowd got to do with it

You just want to be offended me thinks

Crowd were booing him, he celebrated a goal, they probably booed him back its just footy, seen worse with less reaction

People just want to get annoyed and condemn the bloke

The only thing goodes should be bagged for is carrying on for so long
Just get on with the bloody game

Add some context in there mate

Yeah, I know...If an aboriginal does it, it's all OK, if a whitey does it, they should be strung up..

Is that the context you're after? Strange, because I think there is a word for when you treat people differently according to their race.

OK, he mimed a spear ready to throw...So if I mimed aiming a gun but not firing, that'd be OK?

Is the mimed gun loaded?

Which part is racist?
Some would call him racist as I have, some would call him bigoted.
Perhaps for accuracy the term Racial Bigot may be more accurate.

1. Racist -a person who believes that a particular race is superior to another.
    "I had a fear of being called a racist"
    synonyms: racial bigot, racialist, xenophobe, chauvinist;
  1. Bigotry is a state of mind where a person obstinately, irrationally, unfairly or intolerantly dislikes other people, ideas, etc. Some examples include personal beliefs, race, religion, national origin, gender, disability, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, or other group characteristics.

Don't compare what they have done, or the lives they lived. Goodes has grown up, getting paid good coin, to kick a pig skin around. Mandela was in jail, purely because of his skin colour. Thats a pathetic association you have made up.
The point I am making is simply that people don't always choose the roles they play.

Adam never asked for Eddie to compare him to a gorilla on air. But once that happened, the die was cast.

Yeah, I know...If an aboriginal does it, it's all OK, if a whitey does it, they should be strung up..

Is that the context you're after? Strange, because I think there is a word for when you treat people differently according to their race.
He did a Indigneous dance in indigenous round. The kid called him a racist term. There is your context.

Apparently Lumumba and Gartlett have both made their own war dances today. That should get the confused and worried bogans in more of a lather.

Well surely people are allowed to be confused considering the Clown Prince isn't even of indigenous descent.

And what do you think is the real intent when a white person calls a darker or indigenous person, an ape?

That doesn't show anything. At no point did he throw his arm forward.

Why do you keep asking me to double-check your moronic comparison? You compared an indigenous dance to a white power salute and a rifle shot against people who'd been the target of long-term violence. It was stupid. Let it go.

You're being naive, didn't need to throw his arm forward at all! Enough action was shown to pass a message.

Never said any gesture is find, you are choosing to be offended by a tribal salute some kids made up not me

Whats the teenager in the crowd got to do with it

You just want to be offended me thinks

Crowd were booing him, he celebrated a goal, they probably booed him back its just footy, seen worse with less reaction

People just want to get annoyed and condemn the bloke

The only thing goodes should be bagged for is carrying on for so long
Just get on with the bloody game

I'm saying if the situation was reversed, there would be outrage and that races should be treated the same.

Instead, racists want aboriginals excused for what other races would be condemned for.

I'm saying they're both gestures promoting one race.

If one is racist, why isn't the other?

If one would cause outrage, why shouldn't the other?
One is affirming the worth of a race that this country tried to breed out.

The other is a hateful salute that is violent in nature and promotes racial inequality.

Laugh all you like but the crowd was provoked by it and a Carlton supporter was ejected as a result.

It was much more than a dance too, as Goodes himself said it was a war cry so it was aggressive in nature and designed to provoke a response.

No the carlton fan ejected was due to a fight with swans supporters so stop making shit up

And really a dance designed to provoke a response is a big deal, how precious. We should cut defence funding on weaponary and focus on provocative dances then

He did a dance that the under 18s worked out

I've experienced racism myself so i have empathy for anyone who has experienced actual discrimination based on their race. Not for someone who got called names based on the way he looks (not race).

No you didnt.

I can assure you, you never experienced racism in your life.

If you did you would have a better understand of the issue at hand, but you dont.

I am genuinely interested in why Goodes found the need to run at the Carlton supporters, why not the nearest Carlton players?

This would have been the most logical reaction if it wasn't totally planned tripe.

I'm saying if the situation was reversed, there would be outrage and that races should be treated the same.

Instead, racists want aboriginals excused for what other races would be condemned for.

Your last point i actually do agree with Expect calling people racists that word gets thrown around soo much with little meaning
But what i am saying is anyone condemned for the behaviour would be hard done by

Its just a bloody dance