Analysis AFC SANFL 2019 Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter pjcrows

That was an event peculiar to our situation at the time. Unless you’re thinking that we’ve got some draft sanctions coming up, JJ will enjoy a fair bit more AFL action in the tri-colours over the next 3 years.
Maybe this year, if he continues to perform at this level he will be traded.

He was the worst performed main list player on the deck.

Everyone who's gone back has had to perform above a certain level. Jenkins did not do that

Posters here said Gibbs pretty much cruised around last week. He had about 3 more touches at the lower level than what he was dropped for in the first place. Under pressure, which I expect they’ll be, our coaches revert to experience. As EC posted, his attitude was great, the set up is in.

As a Panther supporter, that was one of the most intense games I've ever seen (at SANFL level). I actually like the reserves sides in the SANFL - they're not exactly dominating the comp, but they have added a bit of freshness.

I was extremely impressed with Myles Poholke. Surely he gets a call up? The only knock is that maybe his fitness isn't quite up to a full AFL match yet?

Equally, I was unimpressed with Josh Jenkins. He offered very little. In fact, I reckon he looked no better than some big fella who had been plucked from amateur level.

People bitch and whinge about SANFL hosting the two reserves teams. Honestly, I don't see an issue. That game yesterday was a ripper.

Not seen a lot of SANFL so far this year it was goods to see this game although almost like last year with low number of AFL listed players.
One question jumps out at me why aren't our teams allowed to lead. Just so frustrating yelling at TV (leads lead )
Scholl -- scratched my head why we picked another smallish player mainly backman. But I was wrong this kid is class. Body not ready for AFL but get him in as has worked for other clubs and at least gets kick it will find team mate.
Poholke -- Lot of good went missing .Has ability but to see a slightly better CEY which doesn't make him. a AFL player but still might play a role.
Wilson -- Another doing good job but not sure AFL player and where
Hamill -- yes some poor kicks but better body for AFL and is a footballer. Tidy kicking will play this year.
Butts. -- Very skinny lad but thank goodness with our last pick picked a tall and really showing something .
Jenkins -- I am not a Jenkins basher like many on here. But my god how awful and why hasn't someone taught him how to create front space and lead.
Fogarty --- Classy skilled player but still wonder where fits in current game . But give him a game and I don't care where .
Otten. -- So sad a player with so much talent that injuries and time killed.
Davis --- Real talent but is ever going to do enough to play AFL. Agree with previous poster that might shine in AFL.
Stengle -- Look he doesn't do enough and not aFL fit but please please play him as is true forward unlike all the mids we play forward.
Ruckman ---- Well . Yes Bicks find us one in mid draft . Hunter -- nice size and ok and Strachan oh as bad as that ex Richmond ruck we got for 2 seasons.

I flicked on the TV and watched the second half. Completely missed the firat half. Sort of wish I could have my time back. Some absolute woeful clangers!

Though I guess for it to be a draw, we must have played something similar in the 1st half to what South did in the 2nd.

Posters here said Gibbs pretty much cruised around last week. He had about 3 more touches at the lower level than what he was dropped for in the first place. Under pressure, which I expect they’ll be, our coaches revert to experience. As EC posted, his attitude was great, the set up is in.
Posters who said that about Gibbs have no idea. Had 30 touches, pretty much every one of them hit a target. Did very well, as he should.

Compare that with Josh, who I'm not a basher of like some, and it was chalk and cheese. He was garbage.

Irrelevant. What isn’t is who Otten is playing for and who Thommo played for when it should have been clear to the club that their bodies were done.
Irrelevant you say ?? Cheneys body was equally cooked, otherwise a 2nd tier comp might have had a go at him..... instead he's ****ing around playing Ammos in the hills.

Given how bad he was if he was to come back in the club has officially lost it. I don’t think he will though he was shit
As people know I'm not a JJ basher, he has had a pretty reasonable career.

But yesterday he was total garbage. I have no doubt his attitude is great, but physically he looked cooked.

As a Panther supporter, that was one of the most intense games I've ever seen (at SANFL level). I actually like the reserves sides in the SANFL - they're not exactly dominating the comp, but they have added a bit of freshness.

I was extremely impressed with Myles Poholke. Surely he gets a call up? The only knock is that maybe his fitness isn't quite up to a full AFL match yet?

Equally, I was unimpressed with Josh Jenkins. He offered very little. In fact, I reckon he looked no better than some big fella who had been plucked from amateur level.

People bitch and whinge about SANFL hosting the two reserves teams. Honestly, I don't see an issue. That game yesterday was a ripper.
Shame about the umpiring.

But yesterday he was total garbage. I have no doubt his attitude is great, but physically he looked cooked.
I'm guessing he was dropped on attitude. Looked disinterested after 1st quarter.

Posters who said that about Gibbs have no idea. Had 30 touches, pretty much every one of them hit a target. Did very well, as he should.

Compare that with Josh, who I'm not a basher of like some, and it was chalk and cheese. He was garbage.
Correct, some of the game day posting in here was ridiculous.

No objectivity whatsoever, just wanting to sink the boots.

Gibbs was very good last week and thoroughly deserved his recall.

Not seen a lot of SANFL so far this year it was goods to see this game although almost like last year with low number of AFL listed players.
One question jumps out at me why aren't our teams allowed to lead. Just so frustrating yelling at TV (leads lead )
Scholl -- scratched my head why we picked another smallish player mainly backman. But I was wrong this kid is class. Body not ready for AFL but get him in as has worked for other clubs and at least gets kick it will find team mate.
Poholke -- Lot of good went missing .Has ability but to see a slightly better CEY which doesn't make him. a AFL player but still might play a role.
Hamill -- yes some poor kicks but better body for AFL and is a footballer. Tidy kicking will play this year.
Butts. -- Very skinny lad but thank goodness with our last pick picked a tall and really showing something .
Jenkins -- I am not a Jenkins basher like many on here. But my god how awful and why hasn't someone taught him how to create front space and lead.
Fogarty --- Classy skilled player but still wonder where fits in current game . But give him a game and I don't care where .
Davis --- Real talent but is ever going to do enough to play AFL. Agree with previous poster that might shine in AFL.
Stengle -- Look he doesn't do enough and not aFL fit but please please play him as is true forward unlike all the mids we play forward.
Ruckman ---- Well . Yes Bicks find us one in mid draft . Hunter -- nice size and ok and Strachan oh as bad as that ex Richmond ruck we got for 2 seasons.
Graham was better. At least he can kick

Jenkins attitude did not look great yesterday

He might have said the right things to show he had a good attitude but his attitude on the ground was shit.

He did the same poor attitude things he got dropped for, playing from behind, lack of effort, jogging around.

Bit hard on Strachan at this point in time I think. Was coming off a badly broken ankle mid last season sustained playing for Port Melbourne in the VFL and never played after that. Had a late start to pre-season training and even then was on a modified program so I wouldn't really expect Keiran to show a hell of a lot until the back half of the season. The intel on him when his fitness is spot on he actually has great endurance and is very athletic....patience is required.

I've only seen Oakleigh Charger 202cm Ruckman Nick Bryan twice this season and after watching him yesterday for the Australian U18's against the Casey Demons VFL team given our dire need for a young developing Ruckman I'd happily give our 2nd pick up for him right now. Athletic, good skills and importantly excellent tap work, some of the best I've seen in the U18's since Freo's Sean Darcy a couple of season's ago. He looks clearly the best Ruck option in this year's draft IMO.

Its not all attitude, what the TV did not show is the leads he made that were ignored, the space he made for others by taking 2 defenders to the opposite side. They double-teamed him in the first half with his defender playing in front and a 2nd dropping of and running with him, in the second half, they played a man in 10 m front with his defender behind.
Yes he did not play good enough for a recall, but he was not as bad as some make him out to be, But one thing is he started to talk more which is promising, He still lacking confidence in his goal kicking.

"Ignored leads" is the biggest pile of garbage

Nick Riewoldt would lead 5 times in a single play, double back, change direction, repeat efforts. Towards the ball, away from the ball, laterally, diagonally. Do everything possible to put space between him and his opponent. Work up to the D50 and back to the goal square - a spread of 120m.

He'd lead 150 times in a game for the 15 times that it got kicked to him.

135 ignored leads.