AFL Canberra

So our non Vics now are:

M. Armstrong, B. Neely, N. Clarke, M. Kimball, L. Jeffrey, J. Bennett, C. Healey, R. Underwood, A. Harris, J. Kavanagh, C. Pettersson, J. Stiller, R. Jaques, C. Illett, A. Leischke, G. Underwood, M. Powell, A. Ainger, S. Curtis, B. Hughes, A. Rogers, R. Quade, S. Dickinson, M. Ghobrial.

As porkhead states that is now 2/3 of the side who aren't ex vics.
Might just have to let Mr Daffy know!!!!!!!!!

So our non Vics now are:

M. Armstrong, B. Neely, N. Clarke, M. Kimball, L. Jeffrey, J. Bennett, C. Healey, R. Underwood, A. Harris, J. Kavanagh, C. Pettersson, J. Stiller, R. Jaques, C. Illett, A. Leischke, G. Underwood, M. Powell, A. Ainger, S. Curtis, B. Hughes, A. Rogers, R. Quade, S. Dickinson, M. Ghobrial.

Yes stick it up him one 4.
Also suggest he write a story about the winning side and interview the ACT playing coach. Pretty good effort that has goone largely unnoticed by the media especially in Victoria.

This is what I wrote to Daffy. Nothing will probably come of it but bugger him, info should be accurate.

To Paul Daffy,
Re story on Terry Daniher 30/7/08.
Mate, after a bit of research I believe that 16 of the 24 players that represented ACT on the weekend, have NOT come from Victoria.
Its great that ex-AFL people are involved with the Victorian sides but possibly a story on the side that did win would be great.
The side has a Playing coach, who is a NSW/ACT born and breed.
Agreed, footy everywhere has improved, due to Victorians moving to new areas, but an off hand line of Victoria where only beaten by a team of ex-Victorians does belittle the players that represented the ACT and ultimately won the Championships.
I am an ex-Victorian who moved to this area to coach and help improve the game but the locals are the one's we have to convert and teach to appreciate our game and then give credit to, when an achievement like this is reached.
if you wont the rep coaches number to do a story about the team I can get that for you as well.
Cheers

So our non Vics now are:

Fairly certain that Illett is NT and Curtis used to play for Wodonga (O&M - VCFL). Out of curiosity, how many rep players are from Canberra/Queanbeyan???

This is what I wrote to Daffy. Nothing will probably come of it but bugger him, info should be accurate.

To Paul Daffy,
Re story on Terry Daniher 30/7/08.
Mate, after a bit of research I believe that 16 of the 24 players that represented ACT on the weekend, have NOT come from Victoria.
Its great that ex-AFL people are involved with the Victorian sides but possibly a story on the side that did win would be great.
The side has a Playing coach, who is a NSW/ACT born and breed.
Agreed, footy everywhere has improved, due to Victorians moving to new areas, but an off hand line of Victoria where only beaten by a team of ex-Victorians does belittle the players that represented the ACT and ultimately won the Championships.
I am an ex-Victorian who moved to this area to coach and help improve the game but the locals are the one's we have to convert and teach to appreciate our game and then give credit to, when an achievement like this is reached.
if you wont the rep coaches number to do a story about the team I can get that for you as well.
Cheers

Well said one 4!! Good point about the locals. With league, and union to a degree, on their knees generally, Money Bill Williams, Todd Carney etc, we need to kick any goals we can and bark about it.
C/times coverage was crap as well and someone on this site predicted that last week.
In the past a reporter has gone along with the rep. side but not this time.

Fairly certain that Illett is NT and Curtis used to play for Wodonga (O&M - VCFL). Out of curiosity, how many rep players are from Canberra/Queanbeyan???

Six Codola: Dickinson, Quade, Healy, Kimball, Bennett, Harris plus maybe Petterson.

Mick Ghobrial is a Pennant Hills Demons junior and Senior player, who also had a brief stint at Balmain before a few years in his early 20s playing basketball at a decent level. All-round top bloke, good to see him still playing, especially at such a high level.
Petterson played for Manly-Warringah last year, won a flag, awesome speed and skill.

Well done to ACT footy on their win as well, kudos to players, coaches and assistants, and supporters...gave it to the powerhouses.

Curtis used to play for the tugg lions, about 3-4 season in 13-16's. he moved to wodonga after u/16's and belco recruited him when he came up for uni at anu. just thought i would clarify

Cheers:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Actually just to clarify even more... Curtis came up from wodonga with his family and started the season with weston creek. before transferring to tuggeranong mid season. Then going back to play for wodonga. Therefore wodonga junior.

Very good then ABH makes for cracker of a game.:thumbsu:

There has been much discussion around about the m/medal night and its combining with the districts medal presentation and im interested in the thoughts of others in regards to wether they should be combined or seperate affairs?.

Very good then ABH makes for cracker of a game.:thumbsu:

There has been much discussion around about the m/medal night and its combining with the districts medal presentation and im interested in the thoughts of others in regards to wether they should be combined or seperate affairs?.

S/C, have seen a bit on other sites on the medal count. While it is ideal to try and have all the counts in the one place I reckon there is too much to do on the night and it doesn't give the players due recognition if things are rushed through.It is the players night after all.
Don't know what the ideal situation is but in the current format everyones head is spinning at the end of the night and it isn't from the grog.

ainslie v belco should be a cracker this w/e.. 1 game each this year 1st v 2nd.. will see where the tri's are at aginst the benchmark of the comp.. few rep players are in doubt hope they can come up.. belco gave both 1's and 2's bit of a hiding earlier on but both grades have improved and will be lot closer.. wanna see some good footy get to ainslie on saturday

All three games this w/e should be good with positions in the four up for grabs ect ect. From what the boys have told me the swans will be down on numbers and up on top ups which will provide an exciting game. There have been a few issues with top ups recently with a couple of the clubs not providing the youngsters, can anyone clarify or give me an idea why this would happen. Though there was some sort of arrangement that was in place....

Just though i would let people know, it is Ben Funnels 200th 1st grade game this w/e which is a great achievment for a great boke and player, all the best.

Eastlake by 4 goals
Belco by 6 goals
and Hawks by 3 goals.

All three games this w/e should be good with positions in the four up for grabs ect ect. From what the boys have told me the swans will be down on numbers and up on top ups which will provide an exciting game. There have been a few issues with top ups recently with a couple of the clubs not providing the youngsters, can anyone clarify or give me an idea why this would happen. Though there was some sort of arrangement that was in place....

Just though i would let people know, it is Ben Funnels 200th 1st grade game this w/e which is a great achievment for a great boke and player, all the best.

Eastlake by 4 goals
Belco by 6 goals
and Hawks by 3 goals.

My Tips

Tigers by 5 Goals they wont let there finals chances slip.

Belconnen by 8 Goals plus i dont think ainslie have what it take to match them. (i also think they dont have what it takes to be real chance for a flag)

Swans by 6 Goals plus even though down on players still will be to classy for a hawks outfit.

Mick Ghobrial is a Pennant Hills Demons junior and Senior player, who also had a brief stint at Balmain before a few years in his early 20s playing basketball at a decent level. All-round top bloke, good to see him still playing, especially at such a high level.
Petterson played for Manly-Warringah last year, won a flag, awesome speed and skill.

Well done to ACT footy on their win as well, kudos to players, coaches and assistants, and supporters...gave it to the powerhouses.

Dear Pekay-Nirthwest – sorry to differ the opinion but PN but Ghobriel is no “top bloke” he is a dead beat who is lucky he is 6foot 6 & athletic. with out that he would be a football ******. He is a dead set car salesman, I am surprised that no one has knocked out his diamond tooth. He is lucky he is at Ainslie where he has the opportunity to re negotiate his contract a few time this year otherwise he would still have to “bounce” at night clubs to earn a little extra cash to buy the next Armani suite. He has obviously working hard at Ainslie which is great, but he never worked that hard at Belco as soon as he came to town and wasn’t the 1st choice full back.
When it was his turn to take a punch in the face (that he duely dishes out to anyone smaller then him) he sooks like a 2 year old. Hardly the attributes of a “top bloke”. Although good luck on the All Australian selection I also hope it helps him pay out a bill or 2. :)

Dear Pekay-Nirthwest – sorry to differ the opinion but PN but Ghobriel is no “top bloke” he is a dead beat who is lucky he is 6foot 6 & athletic. with out that he would be a football ******. He is a dead set car salesman, I am surprised that no one has knocked out his diamond tooth. He is lucky he is at Ainslie where he has the opportunity to re negotiate his contract a few time this year otherwise he would still have to “bounce” at night clubs to earn a little extra cash to buy the next Armani suite. He has obviously working hard at Ainslie which is great, but he never worked that hard at Belco as soon as he came to town and wasn’t the 1st choice full back.
When it was his turn to take a punch in the face (that he duely dishes out to anyone smaller then him) he sooks like a 2 year old. Hardly the attributes of a “top bloke”. Although good luck on the All Australian selection I also hope it helps him pay out a bill or 2. :)

I don't think this forum is the place to bag blokes behind their back, with no opportunity to defend themselves. Very brave man codola, you hero!

For the record Gobbers is top bloke who has been fantastic on and off the field for AInslie this yer.

I don't think this forum is the place to bag blokes behind their back, with no opportunity to defend themselves. Very brave man codola, you hero!

For the record Gobbers is top bloke who has been fantastic on and off the field for AInslie this yer.
That's what the fisherman from yabbie creek does AFC1. He loves to have the ability to express himself as he sees fit, which is what these forums are all about.

Great round coming up:
Tigers by 28 points, must win.
Belco by 44, just good good.
Tuggers, in the upset, 16 points.

Ainslie Oval will provide a pretty dry track with Belco to win by 5 goals over Ainslie. Magpies have too many quality onballers led by Griffin Underwoooooood and Eyelet !!

A slushy DFP will provide a quicker Demons team a win over Queanbo and end the Tigers season. 6 points the difference. Too many big blokes in the Tigers - perhaps they should look at Country championship final and the wet conditions suiting a small running team with only one ruck

Out at a freezing Greenway (why would anyone want to play out there), the Swans will win to confirm a final 4 spot. Swans by 4 goals after an even three quarters. Who are the top up players coming from ?

Tigers by 4 goals - as i said defeat is not an option, lose here and back up your bags and go home
Belco by 8 goals if wet and 12 if dry
Tuggers just!! and thats all it needs to be:)
Okay ABH and all the rest of you tigers blokes, give it to me straight. How can a club that has the financial and human resources that you do at your disposal, fail to make the finals in a six team comp?