- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Fremantle
- Other Teams
- NY Giants, Chelsea
By vote you surely all mean non binding survey??

Are they all civil liberties afforded to one section of the community and not another?
Anyone with half a brain can see the difference between the AFL taking a stance on this issue and the AFL taking a stance on negative gearing.No one in here disagrees mate. But once they open the door to telling us how to vote then where does it stop on trying to influence the public regardless on how correct the stance may feel to the majority
For the sake of the argument, if the Labour party said they were no longer going to invest in sporting infrastructure and bulldoze all sporting stadiums on public land and invest in ballet as opposed to football grounds, yes I'd expect the AFL to side with the Liberal party and I would be ok with them being vocal about this.You are a dick head if you think sporting bodies should be a political measure. So you would be OK with the AFL siding with one side of the government before an election and being vocal about it?
The SRP already has a billion threads on marriage equality. This is about the AFL's stance. Surely there's a difference?Given this is not about footy and more of a social issue aligning to a political view, we can move it to the SRP board and discuss there.
As if Gillon and his crownies up in the AFL house give two shits about these issues. All that is important to them is lining their pockets with money.
The SRP already has a billion threads on marriage equality. This is about the AFL's stance. Surely there's a difference?
Civil liberties are not a contentious moral or political issue, no matter how much some people try to pretend they. The AFL is on the right side of history, as is every organisation that supported women's rights or Aboriginal rights. In 50 years, most no campaigners (in both senses of the word) will be pretending they were right alongside the AFL on this one.I hope the yes vote passes in a landslide but this is utterly dangerous territory for the AFL. What else should they be informing the public to vote on? Euthanasia? Abortion? Tax Hikes? Jail sentences?
It's very wrong.
I wasn't prepared for the relief I felt upon hearing this. That "vote no" sky writing was so utterly dehumanising that I've been deflated all week. If you think this won't make a difference to thousands of struggling Australians you're kidding yourselves. If you think it is the wrong platform then consider what it will mean to the young footballers who might now give footy a chance.
False equivalence.You are a dick head if you think sporting bodies should be a political measure. So you would be OK with the AFL siding with one side of the government before an election and being vocal about it?
False equivalence.
Any organisation that preaches inclusion, diversity and equality as the AFL does should be speaking out for marriage equality, whether or not it falls in the political domain.
Comparing a politicised issue such as marriage equality to a general election is just disingenuous, as logical as you must believe it to be.
Already know you're going to attack me over semantics so I'll give you a heads up - you're wasting your time![]()
You're a massive dickhead if you reckon a business with the reach of the AFL should stay out of politics.
You should have seen Gil on 360 last night. Eventually said they are "ÿes" at HQ, but danced around it like he wanted to tell us the holocost didnt happen.This move is straight out of the standard AFL populist play book.
The AFL portrays itself as a leader in social issues, but in reality it is a follower of already popular and (for the league) safe causes.
No doubt the AFL has done some good work on social issues, most particularly around racism.
However, they never take a public stance until they 'sniff the wind' of public opinion, and then never take a position which will attract widespread criticism, especially from the media.
I'm not suggesting that the AFL should be taking the opposite position on any of it's social causes.
I just think that they get falsely credited by a compliant media with being community leaders, when in reality they always play safety politics.
You're a massive dickhead if you reckon a business with the reach of the AFL should stay out of politics.
You are a dick head if you think sporting bodies should be a political measure. So you would be OK with the AFL siding with one side of the government before an election and being vocal about it?
Is gay marriage the same as anti-apartheid?It comes from a conveniently impoverished conception of what "politics" is - good on 'em I say! The bullshit conservative talking point that they should stay out of "politics" is laughable - that was the justification for going to South Africa during apartheid
Is gay marriage the same as anti-apartheid?
I'd suggest that the conflation of the issue to be the same as apartheid demonstrates how impoverished modern left politics is.