Roast AFL Draft and Equalisation Polices collectively are an embarrassing disgrace.

I think Sydney and GWS are being force fed picks but the AFL cant stop fiddling with them so it's hard to make use of them.
Sorry, what?
The AFL has expanded to league past the supply capacity if our country, and made access to that supply incredibly skewed to 2 NSW clubs.
Again, what? Can you do some numbers to show how the supply is incredibly skewed to Sydney?

Discounts and live bids are a bit of a gag really.

Just extend draft night trades to include players already selected. Would make the draft go longer but anyone who watches the draft needs to get out more.

WC reportedly rejected picks 6 and 11 (possibly a future pick also) for pick 1 in 2023. That ended up being Windsor at 7 and Tholstrup at 13. Do we take those 2 over Reid? No. I don't know what our draft board looked like other than Reid 1, but maybe we were really keen on players that slid.

Say for example we really wanted Curtin and Darcy Wilson:

WC: pick Reid, expecting Curtin to go top 5
Melb: pick Curtin (7) and Tholstrup (13)
St Kilda: pick Wilson (18) and Collard (28)

Melbourne agree to trade Tholstrup to the Saints for Wilson and Collard and a future pick. We then trade Reid for the three players. Same end result as a 3 way pick swap, but with the selections already locked in. Alternatively with the draft order as is we get on the phone to the Saints and them to do what they have to do to get Curtin and we'll trade with them. Etc.

As it stands, Reid was only open to the team who had pick 1 and pick 1 is only available for trade to the highest bidder if they are willing to part with it. The first bid player was pick 3 who wasn't really available to anyone except Gold Coast. What is so bad about North picking him at 3 and then Gold Coast having to satisfy North if they really want him? If someone is pick 3 and the best you have is 20 you don't deserve to get them.
You do if your dad played for them or you live in nsw or qld.....

Yes they do. Fred Bassett from St Kilda is on record from a matter of weeks ago calling for their abolishment. Eddie routinely called for their abolishment when he was president. They want them gone not changed.

They want teams to pay market rates.

There is no reason academies need to abolished.

They DO want the NT zones access abolished. Not the Qld based academies.

Academies need to be grown for the benefit of the competition as a whole. Not just a select few clubs in "zones" the AFL is chasing increased TV ratings and $$$$$.

The compromised nature of the draft is the biggest issue Greg Swann needs to fix imo. The fact that the first round will likely extend out to 30 picks is frankly embarrassing for the AFL.

At its Core, the Draft is the leagues biggest equalisation measure, and the fact the worst teams don’t have unimpeded access to the best talent is defeating the whole purpose of the draft.

I actually agree with Ross Lyons “Pure” first round idea. The first round should be 18 picks (19 when TAS are in). No academy, no Father Son, no FA Compo, no priority picks. 2nd round on if they want to bring in some form of matching mechanism for academy and FS then fine. But keep the 1st round clean.

The compromised nature of the draft is the biggest issue Greg Swann needs to fix imo. The fact that the first round will likely extend out to 30 picks is frankly embarrassing for the AFL.

At its Core, the Draft is the leagues biggest equalisation measure, and the fact the worst teams don’t have unimpeded access to the best talent is defeating the whole purpose of the draft.

I actually agree with Ross Lyons “Pure” first round idea. The first round should be 18 picks (19 when TAS are in). No academy, no Father Son, no FA Compo, no priority picks. 2nd round on if they want to bring in some form of matching mechanism for academy and FS then fine. But keep the 1st round clean.

From a Brisbane Lions perspective I’m happy with no matching it would just mean the AFL needs to fund our academy. Or if a club takes an academy player there is some kind of financial amount the club has to pay to the Lions for taking that player which is then put towards running the academy.

I wouldn’t hold your breath on Greg Swann, who has just spent 10yrs at Brisbane and understands the issues, making substantive changes of the kind requested by people in these threads.

The zones era brought about a period where only a select few clubs could win VFL premierships. Now the AFL has effectively brought back zones and - surprise surprise - a select few clubs are thereabouts every year.

A relatively uncompromised draft worked for equalisation, and what did the geniuses at AFL House do? They got rid of it, replaced with this bastardised version.

The Suns landed Academy guns Sunny Lappin (Pick 4), Ava Usher (Pick 7), Georja Davies (Pick 9), Alannah Welsh (Pick 12), Mikayla Nurse (Pick 13) and Dekota Baron (Pick 14) after matching rival bids on first-round selections.

🤣🤣🤣

What a joke of a system. It’s time to give up on the draft.
The Suns, who finished 17th in 2024 and 18th in 2025. And still there are complaints about them getting extra help.

What a laugh.

They already do.

Donald Trump GIF by Election 2016

I really hope Brisbane beat Collingwood in next year's grand final loaded with AFL gifted free hits. I guarantee you will be ranting a different tune. It's already happened when the Lions flogged the Pies in two grand finals with COLA assistance Collingwood didn't have. Eddie melted hard and the"COLA removed. FACT.
Interesting use of the word 'fact' there ... Brisbane had a retention allowance that any club could access if they had the stipulated percentage of players on their list from a different state ... COLA wasn't removed until the standard knee jerk after Buddy went to Swans instead of the Giants.

Ohhhh, so WC next year will be getting an extra dollop of 'extra help' at next years draft without all the whining.
Not sure how you came to that conclusion.

What I pointed out suggests there will always be complaints about any club getting extra help.

I really hope Brisbane beat Collingwood in next year's grand final loaded with AFL gifted free hits. I guarantee you will be ranting a different tune. It's already happened when the Lions flogged the Pies in two grand finals with COLA assistance Collingwood didn't have. Eddie melted hard and the"COLA removed. FACT.
Imagine going all out with this FACT and being completely wrong. When did the Lions have a COLA? It might be a silly question after that RANT, but what’s your understanding on the league-available allowance the Lions actually had?

I love a good whinge over father sons. I didn’t realise this was an exclusive option to some teams? It really reached its zenith when some Geelong supporters, of all teams, complained about FSs after the GF. Fans of Collingwood and the Bulldogs don’t seem to have an issue with it. I haven’t heard peep from Carlton or Port supporters recently, either, surprisingly..

Where was all this angst when our carcass was being ruthlessly picked apart at our lowest ebb? I don’t recall Eagles fans having an issue offering crumbs to bring Yeo back home. You listen to the stories from those in our head office from back then and realise what “equalisation” actually means. Those clubs pillaging us at the time (Billy Longer lol) are as much responsible for the system as any others. Thank you!!

Imagine going all out with this FACT and being completely wrong. When did the Lions have a COLA? It might be a silly question after that RANT, but what’s your understanding on the league-available allowance the Lions actually had?

I love a good whinge over father sons. I didn’t realise this was an exclusive option to some teams? It really reached its zenith when some Geelong supporters, of all teams, complained about FSs after the GF. Fans of Collingwood and the Bulldogs don’t seem to have an issue with it. I haven’t heard peep from Carlton or Port supporters recently, either, surprisingly..

Where was all this angst when our carcass was being ruthlessly picked apart at our lowest ebb? I don’t recall Eagles fans having an issue offering crumbs to bring Yeo back home. You listen to the stories from those in our head office from back then and realise what “equalisation” actually means. Those clubs pillaging us at the time (Billy Longer lol) are as much responsible for the system as any others. Thank you!!

Lions had an increase in salary cap during their 1st three peat.

Was it called COLA? Who knows and who cares.

When it was removed they went backwards.

Fast forward and the AFL allowed them academy access on top of father sons. Another leg up other clubs didn't get.

And now they are back to back premiers using the additional access others don't get.

RE Yeo. Lions short changed him. He looked at Freo, not interested.

Eagles paid their 2nd rounder for a 21 yr old back pocket with midfield potential. Not sure what you remember but that's what happened. They had two 2nd rounders and used the better one. Fact.

It’s a nice comforting thought to look at the draft and think the GC “paid peanuts” for four academy selections without considering what was traded out. Lazy is another term. It also distracts from any introspection.

Regardless, the eligibility and bidding process will be further tightened and refined this year. Miraculously, I suspect there will be a sudden drop in first round quality prospects - completely coincidental of course. You’ll see a lot less bids on Northern academy boys, less you end up with a Dodo-Mosquito scenario. Looking forward to seeing whether other clubs start experiencing the struggle (including implications on the salary cap) of the go-home pull.

Lions had an increase in salary cap during their 1st three peat.

Was it called COLA? Who knows and who cares.

When it was removed they went backwards.

Fast forward and the AFL allowed them academy access on top of father sons. Another leg up other clubs didn't get.

And now they are back to back premiers using the additional access others don't get.

RE Yeo. Lions short changed him. He looked at Freo, not interested.

Eagles paid their 2nd rounder for a 21 yr old back pocket with midfield potential. Not sure what you remember but that's what happened. They had two 2nd rounders and used the better one. Fact.
Nice revisionism.

The Eagles didn’t have access to a retention allowance depending on a percentage of non-local / traditional based players? If you don’t actually know what it was, and why it was in place, it makes you look a bit silly, and quite simple, when discussing the topic.

And yes, they went backwards after losing a RA. Had nothing to do with a generational side losing players such as Voss, Lynch, McRae, Leppitsch, White, Johnson, Hart, Pike, Keating etc to retirement? You’re right, they should have stayed up the top indefinitely.

And premiers using the additional access other teams don’t get? Do the Eagles not have access to an academy? Or allowed father sons? Can they trade for players? And access free agency? Are they allowed to bid on players?

What’s your understanding on the comments made by the Lions’ backroom staff around the time of the Go Home 5 (many have gone to other clubs and reiterated the same)? Happy to have a discussion regarding that after you respond, because otherwise it looks like you are either naive, or more likely, completely uninformed, on the topic.

I’d love to know what you actually think equalisation actually means.

Nice revisionism.

The Eagles didn’t have access to a retention allowance depending on a percentage of non-local / traditional based players? If you don’t actually know what it was, and why it was in place, it makes you look a bit silly, and quite simple, when discussing the topic.

And yes, they went backwards after losing a RA. Had nothing to do with a generational side losing players such as Voss, Lynch, McRae, Leppitsch, White, Johnson, Hart, Pike, Keating etc to retirement? You’re right, they should have stayed up the top indefinitely.

And premiers using the additional access other teams don’t get? Do the Eagles not have access to an academy? Or allowed father sons? Can they trade for players? And access free agency? Are they allowed to bid on players?

What’s your understanding on the comments made by the Lions’ backroom staff around the time of the Go Home 5 (many have gone to other clubs and reiterated the same)? Happy to have a discussion regarding that after you respond, because otherwise it looks like you are either naive, or more likely, completely uninformed, on the topic.

I’d love to know what you actually think equalisation actually means.

Equalisation means only one thing in the AFL.

All clubs are equal, but some clubs are more equal than others as the AFL strives to strangle NRL and so be it.

But would be nice for the northern clubs to savour this success whilst admitting they are being kissed on the dick by the AFL and whilst their success relies on 'good management', they are getting a pretty awesome leg up.

At the same time as kids with dads that played AFL are getting northern academy leg ups, the fact is indigenous drafting rates in AFL are falling and the AFL is doing sweet f all to try and reverse this.

The NGA academies are great in general for kids living in Perth, and whilst Freo and WC do the best they can remotely in WA and pony up with corporate sponsors like BHP to help, NGA funding (with some AFL discretion) is included in the WA footy clubs soft caps.

So WC trying to run clinics etc in Derby (which is further from Perth than Melbourne is from Brissie), runs the risk of the 'luxury tax' if it was to overspend on its NGA.

So the WA clubs are trying to administer zones that vastly exceed the size of any other clubs (you ain't driving to Derby for a quick day trip), with super low population density (only 300,000 live outside Perth), with the same financial rules as the other clubs.

That's equalisation for you without getting started on ...... (tip, one ain't like the other):

Northern Academy representative picture:

1765930306508.png

NGA rep picture

1765930568276.png

This is a long post so apologies in advance.

AFL House has brought in many draft policies across many years to fix different issues. Each on there own seem ok In isolation. Collectively they are an embarrassing disgrace.

Collectively they have destroyed the draft and have divided the competition. Fact.

Collectively AFL draft policies have split the competition into teams who can play in grand finals, win flags consistently and still receive draft assistance EVERY year and rort free agency.

Opposed to teams finished last / bottom 3 year after year and get scraps or nothing then ridiculed for needing / asking for assistance.

Let's just have a look at right now and Brisbane for the perfect example.

Hit rock bottom a while back and the AFL decided to assist. TV rights deals and expansion to Northern market were the real reason, let's be honest.

So Greg Swann came in and they rebuilt. Northern academies created to help grow the game and the Lions to improve, and they did.

So now fast forward to 2025. Lions have been playing in multiple finals series, grand finals and currently are reigning premiers.

Mission accomplished.

Do they need continued draft assistance and priority access now? No they do not. But poor AFL policies allow it to continue.

This FA trade period and draft the assistance the Lion's look likely to continue receiving includes:

1. Priority access and discounts on father sons. Of which recently they picked up 2 x Ashcroft brothers and Fletcher. No limits.

2. Priority access and discounts on ALL it's academy zones. Not just NGA's.

3. Unlimited access to free agents. This FA period look like getting Oscar Allen AND Sam Drapper off two teams struggling to rebuild.

And to really take the mickey the Lion's have a free agent in Starcevich linked to the Eagles. In order to keep any compensation pick for losing their captain Oscar Allen the Eagles under current AFL policies will need to TRADE picks for a free agent. (Just stop and think about that.

The team finishing 18th will need to TRADE with the premiers for a free agent or they LOSE / reduce the compensation pick for their captain.) Yep that's the rule ATM.

Why doesn't the AFL limit assistance? Fair question. They tried to.

Now the AFL has in place limitations on how many academy kids finalists can access. The brains trust at AFL House could foresee the academy access blowing out of control, so they put a bogus limit on it.

However there are NO controls NO limits stopping the premier landing discounted academy kids PLUS discounted father sons PLUS access to as many free agents it can purchase.

PLUS if they are smart they trade their own free agents to clubs losing free agents forcing a trade.

In the mean time a club like North or the Eagles or Essendon struggling to rebuild will need to formally ask for assistance.

Well done AFL. Your poorly devised policies have left so many loop holes the current premiers will access more draft assistance, YET AGAIN, than other teams consistently finishing last.

And the new AFL boss, yep ex Lion's boss Greg Swann, comes in and says. "Just do what the Lions have done."

What a joke of a competition.

Teams that don't need draft help access it every year via loopholes in poorly devised policies.

Why?
You apologised for it being long, wish you had mentioned it was full of whinging, biased, woe is us bullshit - would not have bothered reading it.

Still waiting for all these “free hits” we were gifted to be listed.

Like this one.

Lol.

Amazing how fans forget the handouts over time.

This was a big one.

And when it stopped. So did the Lions.

10 years later the AFL turn on another assistance package and the Lions start winning again.

Amazing correlation. Just amazing.

You apologised for it being long, wish you had mentioned it was full of whinging, biased, woe is us bullshit - would not have bothered reading it.

When it highlights the leg ups your club has received over the journey that's totally understandable.

Funny how other posters from clubs who don't get leg ups think the opposite.

Like this one.

Lol.

Amazing how fans forget the handouts over time.

This was a big one.

And when it stopped. So did the Lions.

10 years later the AFL turn on another assistance package and the Lions start winning again.

Amazing correlation. Just amazing.
Tell us about these handouts?

And shocking the best side of the 21st century couldn’t stay up the top for 20 years. Remarkable.

I don’t mind debating the facts with informed posters. It’s the salty, whiny, clueless ones that you’re never going have a reasoned conversation with.

Roast AFL Draft and Equalisation Polices collectively are an embarrassing disgrace.