Re: 2010 Geelong Board MVP votes - Geelong v Essendon, Round 1

5. Selwood
4. Ling
3. Byrnes
2. Ablett
1. Lonergan

I owe Lonners a public apology after bagging his inclusion in the side in the round 1 team thread. Now excuse me while I go and wipe the egg off my face. :o

5 - ling
4 - kelly
3 - selwood
2 - byrnes
1 - bartel

5. Selwood
4. Ling
3. Ablett
2. Byrnes
1. Bartel

Apologies to Lonergan and Corey.

5. Bartel (hard at the ball, a few goals, generally quality possession)
4. Ling (consistent effort all night)
3. Kelly (played the Max Rooke role well, hard at the ball all night and laid some great tackels
2. Ablett (leading possession getter, plus a couple of goals says enough)
1. Byrnes (would have been BOG if he kicked straight early)

Honourable mentions: Lonergan (impressive showing), Selwood (would have been in top 5 if he showed up in the third Q), Johnson (had a few fumbles and a little selfish at times, good to see him up and running), Taylor (seemed to win nearly every one on one which he was involved in)
Scrubs of the game: Blake (seemed good in the ruck but showed no signs of progress around the ground, also had the fumbles), Chapman (temper), Wojak (temper), Mackie (MIA for parts of the game), Enright (very quiet early, came into the game in the later stages)

Overall, nobody played horribly. Lots of average performances and no real stand-outs.

5. Bartel (hard at the ball, a few goals, generally quality possession)
4. Ling (consistent effort all night)
3. Kelly (played the Max Rooke role well, hard at the ball all night and laid some great tackels
2. Ablett (leading possession getter, plus a couple of goals says enough)
1. Byrnes (would have been BOG if he kicked straight early)

Honourable mentions: Lonergan (impressive showing), Selwood (would have been in top 5 if he showed up in the third Q), Johnson (had a few fumbles and a little selfish at times, good to see him up and running), Taylor (seemed to win nearly every one on one which he was involved in)
Scrubs of the game: Blake (seemed good in the ruck but showed no signs of progress around the ground, also had the fumbles), Chapman (temper), Wojak (temper), Mackie (MIA for parts of the game), Enright (very quiet early, came into the game in the later stages)

Overall, nobody played horribly. Lots of average performances and no real stand-outs.

I'd have been angry too if I had my head ripped off and got nothing for it. :p

5. Bartel
4. Ling
3. Selwood
2. Ablett
1. Byrnes

This:

5. Selwood - was there when we needed him.
4. Ablett - Say above, missed him a lot during the first half, but boy when the game was there to be won in the second i noticed him a lot.
3. Byrnes - Could have been leading the Coleman if the 2009 Byrnes was in action.
2. Kelly - Put him on the field and he'll find his own spot.
1. Ling - Not sure myself, but reading how hard it it's going to be for taggers this year, to still get 29 possies and continually block Watson/Stanton meant a lot tonight.

5) Jimmy Bartel - Back to his Brownlow winning best. Such a versatile Superstar.
4) Gary Ablett - No suprise he stood out most when the game was there to be won.
3) Joel Selwood - The toughest bastard in football. Also reads the play quicker than anyone going around IMO.
2) Shannon Byrnes - Still makes me nervous at times, but his workrate is phenomenal and always runs his opponents into the ground.
1) Cameron Ling - The greatest run with player ever. Enough said.

HM) Lonergan - He was awesome tonight. If he can keep that up all year then we have another key defender for the future with Taylor.
Hunt - His kicking Is gonna make a massive difference against heavy zoning this year.

5.Bartel (quality ball, hard in packs, normal jimmy)
4.Selwood ( sparked us again )
3.Ablett ( super ball use and finishing)
2.Taylor ( was the rock in defence that goes unnoticed)
1.Byrnes (if not for the finishing byrnes could be a absolute quality goal sneak)

Week one down, 24 more til the last day in september...

5. Bartel - Was good all night.
4. Ablett - Quality touches.
3. Ling - Good job on Watson.
2. Selwood - Warrior.
1. Byrnes - Looks to be continuing on his form from last year.

Lonergan played fantastic, much more confident (even if he was playing Gumbleton).
Hawkins presented well all night and looks like he now knows how to stay involved in games and not go missing.
SJ was his usual pesky self.
Duncan looks like a natural, even though he didn't have much of it...

5. Ablett
4. Byrnes
3. Selwood
2. Bartel
1. Kelly

I thought Lonergan would have a good game and i am glad that he did. He played rather well. I wanted so badly for Duncan to get a goal even though he seemed to be down back so often. Wojo played rather well too compared to how he was playing towards the end of the season last year. And well i suppose there are to many more people to really mention them all.

I just want to drop a quick post. No votes for Enright but for me he is exceptional. Easy to be drawn to Ablett, Selwood, Scarlett and Bartel but I really enjoy watching what Enright does. In the third quater when it was hot he took a mark going back with the flight that was fantastic. With the team you have it is easy to get lost but Enright does a lot of things right most of the time. I could not name a better HBF than him in the last 10 years.:thumbsu:

5. Bartel
4. Ling
3. Selwood
2. Ablett
1. Byrnes

Don't really think there were any stinkers. Lonergan looked fine as a second or third tall option down back and it can't hurt to have him as an option to go forward in a pinch as long as he holds his spot. I'll watch his next couple of weeks with interest.

5. Byrnes
4. Selwood
3. Ablett
2. Bartel
1. Enright

Can't understand the love for Ling, gave away free kicks galore including one 20m out dead in front. Not saying he was bad just not vote worthy in my eyes.

5. Selwood-I know Ablett had 37, but when the game was there to be won, and we weren't on top of it, Sel's ferociousness at the ball and the tackle, and ability to tackle and then still make good decisions to distribute it while getting up to his feet were fantastic.
4. Ablett-put the jets on at the right times, and kicked goals as well as won contested footy.
3. Byrnes-he's too risky for how I play SC/DT, but at nights like to tonight I think about putting him in. Kicked 3.4, had heaps of it, marked well and zipped around. Imagine how awesome it will be when we have him and Varcoe buzzing in the forward line.
2. Ling-blanketed Watson which is so important against the Dons. Also like Selwood, stepped up in the contested when it was needed.
1. Bartel-racks it up as ever, and good when in the forwards too.

Honourable mentions to Kel-great game and I hope he plays a lot more forward of the ball this year. Lonergan-I'm never sold on anyone's long term future on just one game, but he exceeded my expectations, both in effort and execution. Tomahawk when he starts to grab it with the big mitts, warms my heart. And Harry was great as always, not just limited to that tackle. I thought Josh Hunt had a great first game back and showed why he's going to be really important for us this year.

On the whole, I thought no one played badly (Duncan may have been quiet but it's only his first game). Although, someone please tell Wojo to stop giving away cheap free kicks :mad: (he was good as well though tonight)

I just want to drop a quick post. No votes for Enright but for me he is exceptional. Easy to be drawn to Ablett, Selwood, Scarlett and Bartel but I really enjoy watching what Enright does. In the third quater when it was hot he took a mark going back with the flight that was fantastic. With the team you have it is easy to get lost but Enright does a lot of things right most of the time. I could not name a better HBF than him in the last 10 years.:thumbsu:

Agree...there's so many others to talk about that he slips under the guard, but he is so important, and it is great to be able to rely on him because he rarely gets beaten by his opponent or has a bad game.

Congratulations to Joel Corey on his 200th game too, may there be many more mate.

Can't understand the love for Ling, gave away free kicks galore including one 20m out dead in front. Not saying he was bad just not vote worthy in my eyes.

we lost the clearances 34-47

ling had 8 of them and stood up when our midfield was being smashed

Huh?

Lonergon was horrid. At half time he had assisted in 6 of Essendons scoring shots or something stupid like that.

5 - Selwood
4 - Byrnes
3 - Kelly
2 - Bartel
1 - Probably Ablett.

could somebody please send lonergan a pair of gloves or something

he would be handy player if could take a mark