Game Day AFL Swans v GW$ Giants - QF

• Thread starter Thread starter Kram

Isn't that as its not performance enhancing but recreational its not an ASADA or WADA problem but an AFL problem? You can see what happened when the AFL investigated Essendon.

If you hide from the drug testers, the assumption must be made that you may have had performance enhancing drugs in your system, not just recreational drugs.
It's a big problem. AFL won't be able to sweep this one under the rug. But they will be able to delay it, until after the finals.

I really enjoy watching GWS and it was great to see them smash the swans. Not only am I sick to death of watching Swans, Hawks and especially Geelong every finals series, they just play such an attractive brand of football.

Zac Williams, Haynes and Kelly are some of the best half back flankers I have seen and combined with Heath Shaw provide so much run and skill from D50. I'm more and more convinced we need Weller and Crozier back there and need to unearth a couple more attacking defenders.

Coniglio has also quietly developed into an absolute jet as well as Scully. And Ward continues to be underrated, the hardness he shows in the contest is amazing.

[
I really enjoy watching GWS and it was great to see them smash the swans. Not only am I sick to death of watching Swans, Hawks and especially Geelong every finals series, they just play such an attractive brand of football.

Zac Williams, Haynes and Kelly are some of the best half back flankers I have seen and combined with Heath Shaw provide so much run and skill from D50. I'm more and more convinced we need Weller and Crozier back there and need to unearth a couple more attacking defenders.

Coniglio has also quietly developed into an absolute jet as well as Scully. And Ward continues to be underrated, the hardness he shows in the contest is amazing.

In the same boat.

I also rate the fact that they have recruited players with arrogance. You need a bit of arrogance to be the best, just like Hodge, Mitchell, Burgoyne, Lewis, etc do. Fyfe has arrogance. I'm convinced Taberner would be a gun with some arrogance but he is too nice.

Even though they have got a lot of gifts from the AFL, they have done plenty right. But it doesn't take much for fortunes to change in the AFL. Everyone was predicting a Collingwood dynasty in 2010 and look what happened.

I get really frustrated at stupid stupid comments like that

1. I voted this morning in Narellan (50 mins west of Sydney) and a few people in that line alone had giants gear on.
I was on my way to the game and had my scarf on. Several people said go giants to me.

2. This whole expansion is about "Growing the friken game" in a non AFL area. Who gives a shit how many of your 100 in blacktown can name a player. They are growing the game and thats the whole plan.

Its so frustrating seeing all my fellow freo fans crapping on all the time about their "12 supporters" bla bla bla. Did you think starting a team in a non AFL area was going to have 100 000 members sign up straight away ? It is big finals wins like today that get new fans on board. And that is why they put a team in Western Sydney in the first place.

The concessions were because in a "Non AFL area" 100 point flogginfs every week doesnt get people through the gate and "grow the game"

Some people are so darn stupid and childish to be honest

Sorry to revive a dying thread but I can't let this go.

Simmo, I genuinely appreciate your passion on the topic, but I'm stunned you're happy to see the AFL completely do away with it's final remaining shred of integrity under the guise of "growing the game". Especially when GWS's success is just going to highlight how much your own club suffered in its formative years. Why the **** does growing the game need to take precedence over treating every other team fairly? Gold Coast was bad enough, but that pales in comparison to the concessions GWS have received. Of course they needed the array of 1st round/mini draft picks to survive and thrive, but I'd argue the money pouring into that region is a necessity resultant from the sheer arrogance of the campaigners that run our game.

Did GWS need to exist? Hell no. Does it look great on Andy D's CV if he can say, 'well I set up an AFL team in Western Sydney'? Hell yes. 3-4 traditional Victorian clubs with a rich history have struggled over the last few years and are arguably still struggling due to awful stadium deals/shoddy fixturing etc etc, but instead of ensuring their financial stability the AFL decides to "grow the game". They even tried to do a South Melbourne to the Roos and relocate them. They'll continuously say that Tassie doesn't have the population or the drawing power to field a team, but it's amazing what a shitload of $$$ can do if you really want it to work.

The competition is a joke and seeing a grotesquely contrived side like GWS likely win multiple premierships over the next decade is genuinely infuriating. You know what the worst part will be? For every dedicated supporter like yourself, there are 4 other bandwagoners who'll make rats on the Titanic look positively slow by comparison. The AFL's policy of "here you go, here's immediate success NOW" doesn't have a hint of long-term vision or make allowances for the fact that it's a bloody rugby heartland. It's easy to support a team that flogs everyone, but if you haven't grown up loving the game there's not much chance you're going to stick around when the going inevitably gets tough...however long that may take. See Brisbane circa 2012 onwards.

Just to clarify, I don't hate GWS supporters and yes, I'm absolutely envious of them being fed instant success on a platter. I'm happy to see our game reach more people, but not under these circumstances and not at the cost of equality.

End rant.

I know maybe I shouldn't be because it's GWS, but I'm staggered that someone with Johnson's record was only offered 1 week for that kind of hit and that Mumford got off completely. wtf
Do you really think when it's a likely GWS v Geelong GF the AFL would let slip the promotional opportunity of S.Johnson coming up against his old side in the big one?

Was always zero chance of getting more than 1 week.

i was there. not many freo supporters either.
probably as many as there were on saturday in orange, but they had a lot less further to travel
But we didn't have to drive past both a bottle-o and a Centrelink office to get there.

mrp4039381.jpg

Sorry to revive a dying thread but I can't let this go.

Simmo, I genuinely appreciate your passion on the topic, but I'm stunned you're happy to see the AFL completely do away with it's final remaining shred of integrity under the guise of "growing the game". Especially when GWS's success is just going to highlight how much your own club suffered in its formative years. Why the **** does growing the game need to take precedence over treating every other team fairly? Gold Coast was bad enough, but that pales in comparison to the concessions GWS have received. Of course they needed the array of 1st round/mini draft picks to survive and thrive, but I'd argue the money pouring into that region is a necessity resultant from the sheer arrogance of the campaigners that run our game.

Did GWS need to exist? Hell no. Does it look great on Andy D's CV if he can say, 'well I set up an AFL team in Western Sydney'? Hell yes. 3-4 traditional Victorian clubs with a rich history have struggled over the last few years and are arguably still struggling due to awful stadium deals/shoddy fixturing etc etc, but instead of ensuring their financial stability the AFL decides to "grow the game". They even tried to do a South Melbourne to the Roos and relocate them. They'll continuously say that Tassie doesn't have the population or the drawing power to field a team, but it's amazing what a shitload of $$$ can do if you really want it to work.

The competition is a joke and seeing a grotesquely contrived side like GWS likely win multiple premierships over the next decade is genuinely infuriating. You know what the worst part will be? For every dedicated supporter like yourself, there are 4 other bandwagoners who'll make rats on the Titanic look positively slow by comparison. The AFL's policy of "here you go, here's immediate success NOW" doesn't have a hint of long-term vision or make allowances for the fact that it's a bloody rugby heartland. It's easy to support a team that flogs everyone, but if you haven't grown up loving the game there's not much chance you're going to stick around when the going inevitably gets tough...however long that may take. See Brisbane circa 2012 onwards.

Just to clarify, I don't hate GWS supporters and yes, I'm absolutely envious of them being fed instant success on a platter. I'm happy to see our game reach more people, but not under these circumstances and not at the cost of equality.

End rant.
All good mate I understand

Maybe it's hard for me to have the exact same feelings when I have been a foundation member and current member of both clubs

I sat through every single 100 point flogging for freo and GWS for the love of live footy. So I guess the same way I have enjoyed the recent success of the mighty Dockers, I have enjoyed seeing the giants improve too.

I have seen them grow so I guess it's hard to see it from the other side.

But I know where you are coming from mate.

Maybe it's hard for me to have the exact same feelings when I have been a foundation member and current member of both clubs

I sat through every single 100 point flogging for freo and GWS for the love of live footy. So I guess the same way I have enjoyed the recent success of the mighty Dockers, I have enjoyed seeing the giants improve too.

Thanks mate, I absolutely get where you're coming from too and I know it must be galling having to constantly see the '10 supporter' barbs thrown around.

The club would be in great shape if it had a large enough group of members like yourself, who have been happy to sit through the drubbings and will continue to do so when the good times finish. Although I have my doubts, that may even be achieved in the future (I do know the GWS boys are constantly visiting schools/engaging with the community, which is great). Ultimately though, they're battling in a rugby-centric part of the world and even if it turns out to be a successful experiment, it'll still come at a huge cost to the rest of the clubs in the AFL. Like I said, my issue isn't so much with the club itself and definitely not with the supporters, it's more so the way it's been built at the expense of a competition which was already heavily inequitable.

I reckon more people in Western Sydney have watched this.

Rather than anything relating to GWS.

I reckon more people in Western Sydney have watched this.

Rather than anything relating to GWS.

Isn't there a rule limiting kids to playing other kids of the same weight in a sport like rugby or league?

Australian football is so much more inclusive. The big kid can stay down forward, or ruck, and the little kids can run around and get a kick without fear of being flattened by a behemoth.

Isn't there a rule limiting kids to playing other kids of the same weight in a sport like rugby or league?

Australian football is so much more inclusive. The big kid can stay down forward, or ruck, and the little kids can run around and get a kick without fear of being flattened by a behemoth.

Yep thats why i chose to play afl as a kid instead of league and i come from a league family. I was skinny kid and in league its a joke here in western sydney watching the average size aussie get run over by the big Polynesian kids who actually have their DOB when their christened not born which means they could be a year older than the rest and thats not including their big weight difference.