News Anglesea Training Camp update

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

The Y gen need to stop being treated with kid gloves. Boxing gloves is a good start.
FFS it's time for men to stand up and be men again.

I found admiration and a huge amount of respect for the Irish boys who came over. Playing as amateurs they stay off the drinks throught the playing season. No doubt after that they get completely hammered but it shows the professionalism in which they go about it.

AFL boys could learn a thing or two from them. Sure it would be difficult to some but their not going to find themselves in any situation that they harm them. And i think this boot camp of sorts sound like bloody fun... They get to go abseiling!!....

Yeah I agree with Shmurf with the bootcamps having an enormous impact on teamwork and togetherness. When you toil through all these hard activities there is great comradeship amongst the players so good to see especially for the new boys.

I've been wanting the boys to go to Kokoda for a few years though, every team that's done it has been glowing in its support. IIRC Hawthorn was the last team to do it both in 2004 after drafting Franklin etc and again last year. Really hits home the "I've got your back" theme so prevalent in Australian culture and then filters over to the football field.

It's about developing mental toughness and resilliance. This also gives the coaches an insight into what players have the right attitude (Ressiliant, mental endurance, good work ethic and toughness).

Basically they are making blokes harden the F@#k up and seeing who hardens the F#@k up when things get tough.

Here here g-man!
Couldn't have said it any better myself.

:thumbsu:

I actually believe these sorts of camps are pretty valuable but some of them talk a lot of crap. ie I had to laugh at this:

"It sounds easy, but give it a try. Some of the elite can push up towards 30 minutes, but most of the Carlton guys were around 10 minutes."

What ****ing elite? Who else does that? :confused:

The Elite Arm Holding-Out Squad, of course.

Yeah I'm not disagreeing with that or you I agree that these camps can be great, I just question getting some random in to take them.....

On a side note the best part of a pre season camp is getting on the piss with everyone and it definetly enables players to bond. I doubt we will ever see that back at an AFL club, which is a shame because its how you get to know everyone....

On another side note...AFL has become ridiculous in terms of the majority of players not drinking...the lads of the game are being fazed out and its quite boring indeed.......

I've found getting to know people sober is a far better way of building a platform for a relationship. Sure, the young fellas would barely be able to look CJ in the eye whilst sober but with a skinful on the beach around the fire they'll be hanging and slurring all over him.

Personally I've never woken up with a hangover and felt I knew someone better because we'd gone the old "I love you, mate" the night before. Yes, you will have a few jokes to tell about the poor prick who fell into the campfire but as for real friendship and connection it's far better to take the long way round and let it happen naturally and in a state where you can remember what the hell was said.

Friendships based on grog - started on grog - are in danger of collapse once the grog factor is removed. I'm Thylacine60, that's my take.

Aint that the truth...I cant beleive AFL CLubs with all their resources and the amount of experienced people (past players) on the payroll can't put together their own pre season camps....seems quite ridiculous

These camps are not about individual training..............

Most, if not all the tasks will be impossible to complete on your own. The idea is for everyone to work together to accomplish and end goal..........does that sound familiar.

The physical side is obviuosly an important part of the program, as it will induce pain and failure before the realise to win they need to work as a team.

Still reckon if it takes going down to the beach and falling backwards hoping to be caught by a team-mate (oh, the trust) to learn to play as a team then my name's Percy Jones. It's great for camaraderie and to break up the boredom of regular training but these sorts of camps are more hype than genuine team building events for mine.

These camps are not about individual training..............

Most, if not all the tasks will be impossible to complete on your own. The idea is for everyone to work together to accomplish and end goal..........does that sound familiar.
You've misread his post. He doesn't mean each player go out and do their own thing, he means clubs shouldn't need to hire external people to run these sorts of camps. I personally think it's a pretty niche market and I feel better knowing that professionals are running it, but I think that's what he was getting at.

The Elite Arm Holding-Out Squad, of course.

Are they in any way related to the Elite Hand Wringers Squad? These ****ers are everywhere. A Stephen Conroy here, a Christian fundamentist there or a prat wanting to reduce all local speed limits to 40km p/h. The Revenge of the Nanny State! What was the question again officer? :o:rolleyes:

The major reasons for these camps is to get away from the normal training, the normal coaches, the normal voices and get the players doing something different.

Have different people telling them what to do, have them doing different tasks, have them doing non-football related tasks, see how players react when they are out of their confort zone (football), see who has leadership material, see how players work together, bonding experience.

there are alot of reasons why clubs do these activities.

Yeah I'm not disagreeing with that or you I agree that these camps can be great, I just question getting some random in to take them.
Who says these guys are random?

The club could do its own, but then you get some guy who decides walking over hot coals will be a good idea.........ask the Doggies how that turns out.

For something that pushes these guys to the limit physically and mentally in a way outside of footy, I want someone who is qualified to do it setting it up thanks.

I'm sure the boys will have learned a lot..........I like the bit about "questionning everything......they have learnt to listen"
......someimtes you need a different voice telling you what to do to have impact.:thumbsu:

Just wondering if there will be a soggy biscuit comp?, who will help who?, and likely winner ?

Tough Training Camp for the Blues

Peter Wickham of Stealth Development said the camp was designed around the key areas of Leadership, Teamwork, Fortitude and Discipline.

“It is all about fortitude, leadership and teamwork and the activities are designed to get them to think about the old fashioned core values to listen and learn.”

As part of ensuring the players are all equal and virtually stripping them of their identity they were not able to call each other by their names. Instead they were referred to by the colour and number on their bib; ‘Red 4’, ‘Green 2’ etc.

While there will be no benefit to the kicking or handballing skills from the four-day camp, the players will no doubt benefit both physically and mentally from this adventure in regional Victoria.

carry-ropes-246-1.jpg
boxing-on-beach-300.jpg

These sort of camps are more worthwhile than sending footballers to the Kokoda Track and overseas for high altitude training to develop leadership and teamwork.

Diggers fought and died at Kokoda so footy players could bond...

As part of ensuring the players are all equal and virtually stripping them of their identity they were not able to call each other by their names. Instead they were referred to by the colour and number on their bib; ‘Red 4’, ‘Green 2’ etc.

Hey Green 2 can you help me lift this....no worries red 4.............:o

I wonder if Andrew "Sky" Walker was Red 5.
red-five-x-wing.jpg

I believe Robinson was actually rapt to be referred to as Green 5. He was fully expecting to be known only as 'Ginger Pubes' for the first twelve months or so.

Having been on similar things for work (Not as physically demanding of course), they are normally a great thing. You learn alot more about the people you work with everyday (Which is what a footy team is to these boys, fellow "workers"), and learn alot of valuable things about working in a team. Sure sometimes its a load of wank and alot of what they say can just go in one ear and out the other, but they are always good fun and you do always come out of them with new knowledge.

Anywayz, watching that video, when the guys are doing pushups, I take it the ones that are just standing and squating instead are possibly carrying an injury? Not too sure why they wouldn't be doing pushups with the rest of the boys?

EDIT: later on he mentioned that those in the white bibs were injured, but there were 2 or thre in yellow and another color doing squats as well