Apples' Training Reports

• Thread starter Thread starter Apples

We are super conservative with our injury management, and it hasn't worked.

I don't see this as a time for conservatism. Winning the first final gives us another 2 weeks off and the opportunity to just about have a full side available.

You would take the risk on Treloar.

We are super conservative with our injury management, and it hasn't worked.

I don't see this as a time for conservatism. Winning the first final gives us another 2 weeks off and the opportunity to just about have a full side available.

You would take the risk on Treloar.
Agree, just play him.

Not sure, but I'd guess they'd train Tuesday and Thursday before flying on Thursday arvo or Friday.
Last week they trained on Thursday and flew to Perth in the afternoon. I reckon they will do the same this time around.
Is there anyway to confirm that? The website still has the 24th listed as the date for training.

Training Report 31 August
A dreary, wet and cold morning for training this morning.
As soon as I arrived another track watcher told me that Pendles has viral meningitis. Gee I hope that’s not correct. He wasn’t on the track. Let’s hope it was just the flu…..that would be bad enough.
•Pendlebury, Varcoe and DeGoey absent.
•Moore, Reid, Treloar, Goldsack are on the track and working with the main group.
•Moore Reid and Howe join the defenders at the Olympic Boulevard End.
•Only one player is not joining full drills at the moment (11am) and that is Murphy who is training on the Glasshouse side with a trainer.
•So far Treloar has done everything with the group. He looks pretty good so far.

Match Simulation:

•Moore, Reid and Goldsack all take positions down back, with Moore taking Cox at full back. Moore has moved well so far. Just hope he doesn’t slip in the greasy conditions!
•Treloar goes to the middle beside Adams. He is looking better this week. He is moving smoothly in all the drills to date, but I haven’t seen him do a break-away sprint yet.
•Reid stays back and the judgment is pretty good. He intercepts on one occasion and then wheels onto his left to deliver to Blair’s chest.
•Now the match play is over and the VFL-named players leave the track. Reid also leaves the track. Murphy ditto.
•The senior group now do match drills on a smaller-scaled pitch. Moore is verbal and prominent during this drill. He looks close to me.
•Howe is a lock. Did everything asked of him and will certainly play next week.
•I reckon Moore could be a chance. If he makes it through next week’s training as well as he did today, then he should be considered. Desperate times call for desperate measures.
•Goldsack is looking good, but after this weekend, he’ll have played just 2 games for the season. That’s not the preparation we need for a big final. Moore is a better bet, provided he stays upright.
•Treloar is almost there. If we were playing this week, he’d not quite come up, but in 9 days? He’s gotta be a consideration, especially if he goes that remaining 10% in the sprints.

That’s it for me. Now the walk back to the train where at least it will be dry and warm.
Happy to answer any questions.

As soon as I arrived another track watcher told me that Pendles has viral meningitis. Gee I hope that’s not correct. He wasn’t on the track. Let’s hope it was just the flu…..that would be bad enough.
•Moore, Reid, Treloar, Goldsack are on the track and working with the main group.
•Only one player is not joining full drills at the moment (11am) and that is Murphy who is training on the Glasshouse side with a trainer.
•So far Treloar has done everything with the group. He looks pretty good so far.

Match Simulation:

•Moore, Reid and Goldsack all take positions down back, with Moore taking Cox at full back. Moore has moved well so far. Just hope he doesn’t slip in the greasy conditions!
•Treloar goes to the middle beside Adams. He is looking better this week. He is moving smoothly in all the drills to date, but I haven’t seen him do a break-away sprint yet.
•Reid stays back and the judgment is pretty good. He intercepts on one occasion and then wheels onto his left to deliver to Blair’s chest.
•Now the match play is over and the VFL-named players leave the track. Reid also leaves the track. Murphy ditto.
•The senior group now do match drills on a smaller-scaled pitch. Moore is verbal and prominent during this drill. He looks close to me.
•I reckon Moore could be a chance. If he makes it through next week’s training as well as he did today, then he should be considered. Desperate times call for desperate measures.
•Goldsack is looking good, but after this weekend, he’ll have played just 2 games for the season. That’s not the preparation we need for a big final. Moore is a better bet, provided he stays upright.
•Treloar is almost there. If we were playing this week, he’d not quite come up, but in 9 days? He’s gotta be a consideration, especially if he goes that remaining 10% in the sprints.

That’s it for me. Now the walk back to the train where at least it will be dry and warm.

Pendles is sick atm, was confirmed by Buckley a few days ago. Wouldn't be too concerned unless he misses Monday/Tuesday.

Match Simulation:

Thank you very much mate,there were some encouraging signs there from your report and thank,s for making the effort to there from this interstate Pie.

Pendles is sick atm, was confirmed by Buckley a few days ago. Wouldn't be too concerned unless he misses Monday/Tuesday.

If he’s got viral meningitis then that sounds serious? (Particularly with a young kid at home)

Match Simulation:

Pendles will be fine even if it is viral meningitis.

That's a little concerning regarding De Goey missing though, as well as Murphy leaving the track.

Thanks for this. Like Ipswichpies, I appreciate the effort to brave the weather and keep us interstaters informed.

I pity the virus that dares to face Pendles immune system!

Thank you so much Apples, your contributions are a highlight to me.

Match Simulation:

Did Stephenson train at all? I saw he’s currently at the Rising Star function.

Pendles will be fine even if it is viral meningitis.

That's a little concerning regarding De Goey missing though, as well as Murphy leaving the track.
Likely managing JDG still with his leg imo.

If he’s got viral meningitis then that sounds serious? (Particularly with a young kid at home)

Stays in the system for between 7 - 10 days. Pendles had it from Monday this week, so he should be at the tail end of the virus now. Another weekend laid up, and he should be right to go next week.