Balls On The Line

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Time to lay them on the line, we have all had our say on what we hope will happen but now it is time to say what you actually think will happen.

Simply put what do you expect the Tigers to dish up this year?

Do you expect a push into the finals?
or
Do you expect more of the same, i.e. close but no cigar?
or
Do you expect them to be battling to avoid the spoon?

Personally I think we fall in between the last 2, we could get close but just fall short yet I also think we are a couple major injuries away from being a complete disaster this year and taking out another spoon. I hope for finals like all of us do but in reality I don't think we quite have the cattle to get us there just yet.

We're a bottom 4 side and as sad as it is to say, we need the old fella no 12 to hang up the boots at the end of this year so we can build a decent forward line without him constantly being the target. His time is nearly up im afraid and we need to get some game time into the likes of cleve hughes, luke mcguane etc to see what they've got.

good stuff man

its sad to say it and many dont want to beleive it but it needs to happen, but wont

the lynch comparison that all the coaching staff try to preach is laughable

itsintheblood said:
Sad, but true, I think. What are we going to do the day the big fella calls it quits?

As far the side goes, we simply won't be a success until the kids we've drafted over the last three drafts are our best players, and I get the feeling that's still 2 years away yet.

Sad, but true, I think. What are we going to do the day the big fella calls it quits?

As far the side goes, we simply won't be a success until the kids we've drafted over the last three drafts are our best players, and I get the feeling that's still 2 years away yet.

Just in time for their current contracts to be finished and they then sign on bigger ones at other teams.:thumbsd:

Let us hope not.

010601_0783_0004_lshs~Line-of-Pool-Balls-on-Blue-Felt-Posters.jpg
http://imagecache2.allposters.com/i...s~Line-of-Pool-Balls-on-Blue-Felt-Posters.jpg

Just in time for their current contracts to be finished and they then sign on bigger ones at other teams.:thumbsd:

Let us hope not.
What, all of them? I would think they'll be signed before hand, if not that they'll be wanting to stay given the team they'd be part of.

good stuff man

its sad to say it and many dont want to beleive it but it needs to happen, but wont

the lynch comparison that all the coaching staff try to preach is laughable

That's right...Richo is a better player than Lynch.

GO TIGES!!!

That's right...Richo is a better player than Lynch.

GO TIGES!!!

yeh thats the point

richo is a chf not a monster ff like lynch was late in his career so the fluff that the coaches are saying richo can play until he is 40 is a joke

benny_furs said:
Why would all of our youngsters leave the club in 2 years?

Paranoia to the max :thumbsd:

turtle27 said:
What, all of them? I would think they'll be signed before hand, if not that they'll be wanting to stay given the team they'd be part of.

I don't think it will happen, but hey this is Richmond I'm used to something going haywire as soon as it finally looks like we are getting some light at the end of the tunnel.

to put em on the line i will say somewhere between 16th and 13th. if i have to narrow it down 15th.

Will make the 8 and will grow momentum never give up we have alot to lose and everyone doesnt rate us I think that is a great bonus Terry need to pull finger out of arse and stop doing alot in the media START COACHING not looking after your own issues.

We may well lose this week, but don't go jumping off rooftops just yet (well, some off you are welcome to top yourselves).

I know I lean to the optimistic, but we've got a young list with some top kids going into their third season, we didn't lose any important players, we've got a better draw than last year (12 at the G instead of 9, 4 or 5 interstate rather than 6), we had our fair share of injuries in '06 and despite some concerns at the moment there's no reason to think we'll be worse hit this year - and we won 11 games.

Yep, we got thumped in some games but that's the sort of thing that will diminish with experience. There's absolutely no reason to think we'll go backwards other than blind pessimism (or an inbuilt need to understate our chances built up from 25 years of disappointment), and while that doesn't mean we'll fly to the top just yet I would put us somewhere from 11th to 6th.

If you can give me a measured, logical reason to think otherwise please go ahead.

How strange. Add up who have we lost and who have we gained since finishing 9th last year. Its certainly positive so how we can drop below 10th just doesnt add up to me. I refuse to count practise match form and our training hasnt been bad except general skills are still a problem(but that's a constant from last year.)

So 10th and up, no higher than 7th though I'd think.

We may well lose this week, but don't go jumping off rooftops just yet (well, some off you are welcome to top yourselves).

I know I lean to the optimistic, but we've got a young list with some top kids going into their third season, we didn't lose any important players, we've got a better draw than last year (12 at the G instead of 9, 4 or 5 interstate rather than 6), we had our fair share of injuries in '06 and despite some concerns at the moment there's no reason to think we'll be worse hit this year - and we won 11 games.

Yep, we got thumped in some games but that's the sort of thing that will diminish with experience. There's absolutely no reason to think we'll go backwards other than blind pessimism (or an inbuilt need to understate our chances built up from 25 years of disappointment), and while that doesn't mean we'll fly to the top just yet I would put us somewhere from 11th to 6th.

If you can give me a measured, logical reason to think otherwise please go ahead.

do you follow footy or spend the whole pre season making your game day merchandise?

the only team who is dropping out of the eight is collingwood, geelong and port who finished below us will be fighting for that spot

essendon will be in the mix for sure, their midfield sucks but the spine is quality and if you take your glasses off no one can say they werent unlucky last year

then their is hawthorn who will still be inconsistent but i reckon their tanking days are over and clarkson knows he needs to win games

carlton who cares

brisbane will still win 5 games at the gabba, any team with black, power and brown wiil win more

kangas are ****ed

i know it not logical lol but i see us 12th

I've got to go and pick the kids up from school so I can't do the big reponse P, but I reckon I could argue each of your 'rising teams' back down, as well as make a very good argument as to why the Dogs, the Dees and Freo are all likely to miss the finals. If there's enough of a response by the time I get in tomorrow morning I'll start a thread on it.

Merchandise? Funny, but way off the mark.

about time benny had a comrade! hope your right mate, plenty of what you say does make sense theoretically, unfortunately the tigers always find a way to make pre season predictions become a piece of comedic genius.