Barry still deserves support

swannykika

Jun 3, 2007
sydney
yes we all agree it was a low blow, but Barry has done more for this club on field over the last 5 years than most others. He has given this club a spearhead and helped build respect. He has reformed his own game remarkably and still comes under massive attention and scrutiny by opposition clubs as well as commentators week in week out. 1 brain snap does not undo all the good he has done. I am sure he more than anyone, realises the dumbness of that act last Sat night, however, he is still a great player with a great football brain, and I for one, look forward to his return.:thumbsu:

On the contrary. One brainless act *does* undo all that. Nobody remembers or praises you for the good that you've done when you've been stupid. The Eagles of all sides knows that. Eagles have plenty of players (or should I say "had") that did amazing things on and off the field, yet shamed themselves, their club and the AFL by acting like idiots. Nobody remembers Gardiner for his ruckwork - he's just that guy that got drunk and smashed his car. Cousins isn't the guy that gave until he was literally exhausted, he's the drug addict. Chick's game saving 1%ers every single week... ha! - he's a crack head and troublemaker. Chris Lewis - yeah, he's the biter... the list goes on.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_dsiuc169_w

Take another look at it. At 33 seconds in, he throws a punch that doesn't connect. Then he connects with the elbow, then throws the punch. This isn't a single brain-freeze - there were three incidents. Look at it without seeing the jumpers. If it were any other side with any other player, would you feel the same way? Would you still champion for support?

Hall should be penalized by the Swans *on top* of any suspension that he gets from the AFL. The club should say that they don't in any way condone such actions. Hell, clubs drop players for going out drinking on a weeknight, yet turn a blind eye to this sort of lunacy on the ground. Mick Malthouse said that clubs routinely turn a blind eye to the misdemeanors of great players. Roos should distance himself, not water down the incident with comments like oh he'll miss games anyway through injury. Anything less condones those actions. To the credit of Swans supporters here, they've labelled his actions for what they were. Let's hope that the Sydney Swans FC does the same.

Hall will miss a few weeks which he will miss anyway with his wrist. He'll come back mid season, and be super fit for the remainder and finals. as long as sydney can win at least as many as it loses while he's away, no real damage.
I bit of biffo will do the AFL far more good in Western Sydney than any Flyin-Flyout trip by Demetriou.

On the contrary. One brainless act *does* undo all that. Nobody remembers or praises you for the good that you've done when you've been stupid. The Eagles of all sides knows that. Eagles have plenty of players (or should I say "had") that did amazing things on and off the field, yet shamed themselves, their club and the AFL by acting like idiots. Nobody remembers Gardiner for his ruckwork - he's just that guy that got drunk and smashed his car. Cousins isn't the guy that gave until he was literally exhausted, he's the drug addict. Chick's game saving 1%ers every single week... ha! - he's a crack head and troublemaker. Chris Lewis - yeah, he's the biter... the list goes on.

Look at it without seeing the jumpers. If it were any other side with any other player, would you feel the same way? Would you still champion for support?

The club should say that they don't in any way condone such actions. Hell, clubs drop players for going out drinking on a weeknight, yet turn a blind eye to this sort of lunacy on the ground. Mick Malthouse said that clubs routinely turn a blind eye to the misdemeanors of great players. Roos should distance himself, not water down the incident with comments like oh he'll miss games anyway through injury. Anything less condones those actions. To the credit of Swans supporters here, they've labelled his actions for what they were. Let's hope that the Sydney Swans FC does the same.

Youre contrasting a bigger issue here, and that is 'club culture'. Sydney club culture does not breed thugs or criminals... you wont see a repeat of this from Hall nor any other player anytime soon, if not, ever...

I bit of biffo will do the AFL far more good in Western Sydney than any Flyin-Flyout trip by Demetriou.

This is exactly what I was thinking. A bit of biffo and crazy coverage about it will boost the AFL's presence in Western Sydney. I mean, in the NRL there is always a biff here and there and with Hall being a huge face for the Sydney Swans, I think it'll be good in that respect.

On the other hand, I do not support and applaud Hall for what he did last night. But as swannykika said, we should reflect on that good stuff Hall has done for Sydney, which I think it heavily overweighs the bad stuff. Onya Baz, use the time to heal your broken wrist and take a good hard look at yourself.

Its game over on the hall front for mine.He will plead guilty and cop whats coming.All Swans fans should now focus on next weeks game against Geelong.
Bit of a reshuffel in the forward line,but the teams heart is well and truelly
beating. Dont underestimate our new Bloods,they are hungry,and have inspired our older players,with their commitment!

Never has lost my support and never will, every AFL player has done something that they are ashamed of, Barry contribution to this club has been invalue and one brainfade does not change it for me.

Youre contrasting a bigger issue here, and that is 'club culture'. Sydney club culture does not breed thugs or criminals... you wont see a repeat of this from Hall nor any other player anytime soon, if not, ever...

But that's the point, isn't it. This isn't the first time that Hall has done something "in play" (BTW This incident was even more "in play" than the last incident IMO).

The Eagles didn't do anything to the people that were bringing down the club for a long time - they just let it slide. Finally, they acted (maybe out of necessity, but more likely out of fear of retribution) and have turned that culture around. I doubt that the Swans will do the same though. At least the culture at the Eagles is heading in the right direction.

Your club had its "bad boy, drug taking, party boy" image before, during and after the premiership season, so that crap losses all weight with me.

Take another look at it. At 33 seconds in, he throws a punch that doesn't connect. Then he connects with the elbow, then throws the punch. This isn't a single brain-freeze - there were three incidents.

Hahaha. What punch at 33 seconds??? That seemed like a fend off that you see during every game and a two handed one at that. Unless your going to suggest that it was an attempted two handed punch:rolleyes:

Connected with what elbow??? If an elbow connected between the 33 second point of the youtube and the 37 second point of the youtube when the punch took place, don't you think Brent Staker would of gone down looking for the free kick knowing already that the umpiring was looking at the two of them? You really can't make you West Coast fans up:rolleyes:

The punch took place out of no where and for that there can be NO EXCUSE. Trying to pin two extra "events" onto the crime is just being petty.

Look at it without seeing the jumpers. If it were any other side with any other player, would you feel the same way? Would you still champion for support?

Like Eagles fans can talk about this topic..........

Hall should be penalized by the Swans *on top* of any suspension that he gets from the AFL.

Why? Plus would it be allow under the AFLPA's rules, I doubt it would.

The club should say that they don't in any way condone such actions. Hell, clubs drop players for going out drinking on a weeknight, yet turn a blind eye to this sort of lunacy on the ground.

I doubt the club condones the action, in fact they have already said they won't contest any punishment handed out so you should head off back to where you came from and find another angle to attack our club. Plus on field actions of a player have NOTHING to do with the off field actions of a player and therefore stop trying to link them together.

Mick Malthouse said that clubs routinely turn a blind eye to the misdemeanors of great players.

Yeah, just look at what he allowed his Premiership captain to get away with on the field.....

Roos should distance himself, not water down the incident with comments like oh he'll miss games anyway through injury. Anything less condones those actions.

You should get you info from more places than just Perth media outlets and Big Footy, because he has.

To the credit of Swans supporters here, they've labelled his actions for what they were. Let's hope that the Sydney Swans FC does the same.

Clearly you have no idea.....

But that's the point, isn't it. This isn't the first time that Hall has done something "in play" (BTW This incident was even more "in play" than the last incident IMO).

The Eagles didn't do anything to the people that were bringing down the club for a long time - they just let it slide. Finally, they acted (maybe out of necessity, but more likely out of fear of retribution) and have turned that culture around. I doubt that the Swans will do the same though. At least the culture at the Eagles is heading in the right direction.

You're funny, mate. A West Coast supporter trying to take the moral high ground? Now I've seen everything!

I reckon he will get 5/6 reduced to 4/5, unless he gets the disrepute clause .

Hypothetically, if Hall had not already thrown a punch :

1/ would Glass be getting investigated for assisting Hall into the fence
2/would the swans be going the ground manager and the AFL for the proximity of the fence and the surface next to the fence

Get on the phones bloods and deflect,deflect,deflect

I'm not going to eleborate on this comment, all I'm gonna say is I completely disagree with all Swans supporters in this thread, sorry to say it but Barry deserves what he gets and then some.

Just exactly what morally reprehensible culture is at the swans?

Your attempt to impute Hall's moment of insanity on the swans is laughable.

I feel really sorry for Barry. After I got home from the game I watched some of the game and saw him in the rooms at half time and he looked extremely upset. He has come so far since coming to Sydney so to see that happen it wasn't nice. It really isn't the Barry that we've all come to know and love..

Now he has just gotta do the time, get over the wrist injury and then come back fighting.

I'm not going to eleborate on this comment, all I'm gonna say is I completely disagree with all Swans supporters in this thread, sorry to say it but Barry deserves what he gets and then some.

I think we're all on the same page here. No one is saying he doesn't deserve a severe punishment.

I feel really sorry for Barry. After I got home from the game I watched some of the game and saw him in the rooms at half time and he looked extremely upset. He has come so far since coming to Sydney so to see that happen it wasn't nice. It really isn't the Barry that we've all come to know and love..

Now he has just gotta do the time, get over the wrist injury and then come back fighting.

It looked like he was crying when Roos was talking to him about something in the rooms at half-time.

I agree with the thread title.

You dont let your mates go because of brain fades.

You do have the right to let them now how angry you are at them. Let them know they have let you all down and demeaned the group as a whole, Club, players and supporters and you must let them know by ensuring they feel the hurt.

But what kind of group would they all be if they just turned their backs at the lowest moment as well. Hall will forever have this punch labeled on him for the rest of his life but he has accomplished more. He's still one of us and for that he still deserves our support too.

I will still support Barry. Just like the eagles supported Cousins Fletcher Kerr Chick et al and like Collingwood supported Didaks indiscretions last year. My kids will still love Barry Hall and he will continue to be the figure that brings people to the swans even in his absense.

I do agree it was in play (What would be the point of holding by staker otherwise) and he wasnt hiding anything cause he drew atention to what was going on by calling for a free kick. As for the incident on hunter he put his hands up no pushing or shoving involved to stop hunter charging at him and hunter couldnt keep his feet.

Yes he deserves his punishment absolutely he was wrong no one will dispute that but lets not dis him we need to support him and make sure he gets back to the way he was playing earlier in the year.

Hall deserves support for one good reason - he has a fractured wrist.

I do not condone his striking offence. I am disappointed that he did that. Judging by his apology, so is he. But even if he gets 6 or 7 weeks, he may still be out of the game for about 8 weeks anyway due to his injury.

As to people suggesting that Glass should be investigated for helping Hall into the fence, I doubt there's anything in that incident worth investigating. Hall's fractured wrist happened because the advertising boards at the ground were inadequately constructed, not because Glass helped him on his way into the fence. Hopefully, some good will actually come out of all this and the AFL will introduce better standards for constructing advertising hoardings at all venues so as to provide better protection to players from all clubs.

Barry still deserves support