FTA-TV Basil Zempilas- Commentary TIPS

• Thread starter Thread starter Zarrix

I think he's still calling the Hawthorn vs Melbourne game now. That's how delayed his commentary is.

Until someone mentioned it earlier in the thread, I'd never noticed how far behind the play his commentary was but at one stage on Saturday he was at least 4 possessions behind the play in his call. Now I find this more annoying then his general cringeiness.

He got yet another name fundamentally wrong today.

He had days to prepare and acquaint himself with the fact that Jack Trengove was returning for Melbourne today after his long absence.

Yet he still somehow managed to mix him up with the Port player and call him "Jackson Trengove" in his first reference to him.

His incompetence is almost beyond words now.
He took shitness to new depths in his call of that game.

When he isn't getting names wrong, being 5-10 seconds behind the play or demonstrating his wafer thin knowledge of the game, he is dribbling on about side stories that have nothing to do with what's happening on the field. Sometimes the same ones he mentioned literally 3 minutes prior.

Dwayne is still the worst caller imo but Basil is narrowing the gap as he seems to actually be getting worse.

He took shitness to new depths in his call of that game.

When he isn't getting names wrong, being 5-10 seconds behind the play or demonstrating his wafer thin knowledge of the game, he is dribbling on about side stories that have nothing to do with what's happening on the field. Sometimes the same ones he mentioned literally 3 minutes prior.

Dwayne is still the worst caller imo but Basil is narrowing the gap as he seems to actually be getting worse.
Dwayne might say some stupid OTT catchphrases, but he doesn't get players names wrong AS often, he keeps up with the timing of the play, and he doesn't go off track with stupid side stories that no one cares about either. Basil is far worse, and his partner in crime on Saturday Arvo Footy is just as bad.

Has anyone heard him on the swimming. It is even worse than his footy commentary. Pathetic.

Basil- 'Good start by the Australian'

My eyes- slow start sitting 3rd last after 25m

Basil- 'Aussie moving through now'

My eyes- has dropped back to 2nd last

Basil- 'Aussie ups rating and a chance for a medal'

Me- mute volume and just rely on my eyes as they tell me Aussie no where near it from the start.

It is a huge event, surely Australia has someone better.

Has anyone heard him on the swimming. It is even worse than his footy commentary. Pathetic.

Me- mute volume and just rely on my eyes as they tell me Aussie no where near it from the start.

Put on Gerard Whately on the ABC.

they do. but he doesn't want to travel any more

Basil's contention that the Aussie swimmers fared poorly due to their events being held at 11pm due to US TV interests might just be one of the worst unsolicited excuses ever proffered.

I thought I misheard him, but then he repeated it half an hour later!

Basil's contention that the Aussie swimmers fared poorly due to their events being held at 11pm due to US TV interests might just be one of the worst unsolicited excuses ever proffered.

I thought I misheard him, but then he repeated it half an hour later!
Didn't think Bernard Tomic would have a career as a speechwriter personally but there you go.

Anyone with any doubt on Baz as a shocking caller should listen to his full call of Chalmers' gold medal and Australia's first in the 100m men's free in 50 years.

Tip - you may nod off in the first 50 m due to Baz's monotonal call and you won't hear the winners name much until the last 10 m.

Incompetent big nosed Flog.

Every race involving Australia, "Aussies are away smartly"... But Baz we're last???

Awful commentator!
Please,
Someone stop him talking...
The fawning over swimmers is embarrassing. Will he call Ngawati Nagawati like Nicole Stevenson does?
Btw - he SWAM yesterday Not he swim yesterday!!!
My pet peeve...

Can't stand it when media 'personalities' are so hated universally by the public but keep on getting handed more and more jobs and roles they are complete undeserving of.

Who makes these decisions?

Anyone with any doubt on Baz as a shocking caller should listen to his full call of Chalmers' gold medal and Australia's first in the 100m men's free in 50 years.

Tip - you may nod off in the first 50 m due to Baz's monotonal call and you won't hear the winners name much until the last 10 m.

Likewise the Australia's 400m mens Gold and the 4 x 100m womens freestyle gold.

I thought they were heats the way Basil fell asleep during the call. Is the bloke on Valium?

Geez I miss Darrell Eastlake.

Seriously, he must have something big on a Channel 7 Executive! Because they can't be listening to him and genuinely believe that he's good at either commentating or presenting sport.

Every race involving Australia, "Aussies are away smartly"... But Baz we're last???

Awful commentator!

^
This - plus ...'so and so up and stroking'. Every race like its a good thing!! It's the bloody butterfly, the last thing you want to be doing is stroking early.

After talking about something / someone that has nothing to do with the race he returns to the race with ...'so and so moving through the field.' No, they are not, we are not blind.

He was paired with a female commentator in a to camera piece, backs to the pool, and while she was talking, he rotated his head from camera, then to her, and back to camera, over and over again. If his mouth had been open, he could have been mimicking the old Royal Show clown heads, where you dropped a ball through their open mouth to try to win a prize. Basil in clown make-up hardly requires much imagination, and like the showground versions, there are no prizes from Basil either, only disappointment.

His call is nothing like the vision I am watching....is he calling an event at a different pool or something?

Listened to Whateley's Chalmers gold medal call. Why don't most people hear that instead of this flogs call?