Bendigo FL Thread 2010

I have heard that the Bendigo Bombers have been given the go ahead to play games at Strathfieldsaye with one of the games to be against Collingwood. I am sure Stormboy will have further info on this.

Bombers to play at Strathfieldsaye

20 Jul, 2010 12:00 AM
VICTORIAN Football League action will return to Bendigo this weekend, but not at the city’s football headquarters.
The Bendigo Bank Bombers yesterday announced they will play their next two home games at Strathfieldsaye’s Tannery Lane Complex.
The Bombers have been forced to relocate most of their home games in the past two years to Windy Hill because of the QEO’s poor surface.
The club was not expected to play in Bendigo again this season, but Bombers general manager Peter Lodewijks was elated to announce yesterday that this Saturday’s game against Werribee and the blockbuster clash with Collingwood on August 7 will both be played at Strathfieldsaye.
“We’re absolutely delighted to have these home games back in our local area” Lodewijks said.
‘‘Unfortunately, the condition of the Queen Elizabeth Oval’s surface hasn’t improved to a point which will support Victorian Football League matches.
“The possibility of using the QEO again has been assessed as a week by week proposition, but we’ve also been pro-active about seeking an alternative venue.
“Strathfieldsaye was identified as a distinct possibility because it’s a relatively new ground with a good playing surface and modern amenities.
‘‘The surface has been subjected to an independent turf inspection and has been deemed suitable for VFL football.
“Facilities at the ground don’t quite meet VFL standards, but Werribee and Collingwood understand our position and they have agreed to assist us and to play at Strathfieldsaye instead of at Windy Hill.
“The Strathfieldsaye Football Netball Club, the Strathfieldsaye Junior Football Club, the Bendigo Junior Football League, the City of Greater Bendigo and AFL Victoria have also been particularly helpful and we certainly appreciate their assistance.”
Lodewijks said the club was desperate to maintain its home games in Bendigo.
“Being able to play locally means an enormous amount to the Bendigo Bombers Football Club,” he said. ‘‘It’s where our supporters and sponsors want to see their team in action and it enables us to focus on building a club and program which continues to make a positive contribution to football in this area.”

http://www.bendigoadvertiser.com.au...mbers-to-play-at-strathfieldsaye/1889454.aspx

grimmett --- my understanding is that mr. oliver is standing for a lower house seat in the vic parl. not a seat in the legislative council

b very unlikely for a national party member (mr oliver's party) to win a lower house seat in a regional city constituency

:thumbsu: i think we can b pretty sure he will still b working in the footy world in the lead up to xmas :thumbsu:

grimmett --- my understanding is that mr. oliver is standing for a lower house seat in the vic parl. not a seat in the legislative council

b very unlikely for a national party member (mr oliver's party) to win a lower house seat in a regional city constituency

:thumbsu: i think we can b pretty sure he will still b working in the footy world in the lead up to xmas :thumbsu:

Thx razor. :)

weeka has bagged 2 goals in Vic 1's games agst SA and ACT in Yes We Can (berra) .... vics beat croweaters, lost to act but beat Vic 2 or vic districts if u like in the late game
no mention of weeka in the late one so maybe coach p knights rested him

adrian dohnt snagged a sausage in vic 2's win over qld, the midday game i think it was
vic 2 got a ruff draw .... had 2 play 4 games on opening day

Can someone please inform me the real reason why the BFL no longer use the house located at the QEO.

I have heard that they were evicted because they couldn't pay their rent.

Something about the tribunal couldn't make a sensible decision inside those four walls, so they have to get out of there for everyone's sake.

weeka has bagged 2 goals in Vic 1's games agst SA and ACT in Yes We Can (berra) .... vics beat croweaters, lost to act but beat Vic 2 or vic districts if u like in the late game
no mention of weeka in the late one so maybe coach p knights rested him

adrian dohnt snagged a sausage in vic 2's win over qld, the midday game i think it was
vic 2 got a ruff draw .... had 2 play 4 games on opening day

Weeksy has 8 goals from 4 games. Hasn't played 2 games so far and will play in the final come Sunday against SA. Pretty good effort as leading goal kicker from ACT has 9 and played all 6 games so far.

I cant see how an AFL club wont try him as at least a rookie next year. Only young and could improve alot with the right club.

Weeksy has 8 goals from 4 games. Hasn't played 2 games so far and will play in the final come Sunday against SA. Pretty good effort as leading goal kicker from ACT has 9 and played all 6 games so far.

I cant see how an AFL club wont try him as at least a rookie next year. Only young and could improve alot with the right club.

How many would he kick on a james flaherty if flaherty was to play for south

I think he would need 12 months in the VFL before a AFL team would consider him on a rookie list.

lionboybear ... ur stormers had their chances y'day lionboy
mattie rice did the job in the third with 3 snags ... sharpey did his job early .... needed other boys 2 step up in the last.
but flat held on

no disgrace in only 2nd yr in a major league, but hey ... 5th spot on the bfl table was there

and then at 5 to 5 sat. nite it was gone. maybe for season 2010. gawwwwn.

lionboybear ... ur stormers had their chances y'day lionboy
mattie rice did the job in the third with 3 snags ... sharpey did his job early .... needed other boys 2 step up in the last.
but flat held on

no disgrace in only 2nd yr in a major league, but hey ... 5th spot on the bfl table was there

and then at 5 to 5 sat. nite it was gone. maybe for season 2010. gawwwwn.

Sadly I chose to go to Geelong and watch Brisbane play, a decision (Besides the good company) I regret.

I think a top 5 finish was always going to be hard when you finish the year playing Golden Square and South bendigo.

Kangaroo Flat deserve to be in the finals more then Strath, we are a key forward away from being a finals contender.

Strath have come along alot further in 2 years then what anyone would have expected, the junior club and reserves are getting stronger by the week so all looks good for the future of the Storm.

if we can get 1 or 2 more wins in 2010 it will reallt set us up for year three in the big time:thumbsu:

kris lea --- looks like tarzan, plays like jane
kicked his only goal for the day when the action was over, and the 4 premiership pts. decided
we all know talls r hard 2 get, but lea is NOT the answer @ the Storm

get someone else over summer

on the kardinia park fiasco i would say fev is in a similar situation to lea --- kicks his only goal 4 the day when everything is over :D

WELL, bigfooty forum people tomorrow night is the night
That's when the City of Greater Bendigo council will decide whether or not to tip in the [extra] 800 grand to finance the QEO re-development
We all know the sad old ground needs it. The re-development, that is. But with ripping up the surface & the underlying drainage piping and stuff it looks like it is going to be a massive job --- provided, that is, that the COGB council allocate the $$$$ needed.

Have we heard that if the work goes ahead the local cricket body can kiss the Q goodbye for the coming summer ?? I reckon there won't be any cricket on there for quite some time if the project gets the green light

Good to see the council has confirmed it will go ahead with this project.

However no matter how much money is spent on the ground the local authorities (in particular the BFNL Board) need have to have a long hard think about how much football the QEO surface can take. Sooner or later we are going to get a wet winter - or even just a wet September. When this happens:

Should Strath's home ground be the main 'back up ground' (with the switch of VFL matches or even BFNL finals there)?

Should Sandhurst and South train at the QEO throughout the season - if not, where do they train when the surface needs a rest?

Should reserves and under 18 games be played elsewhere if the surface starts to deteriorate?

Should BFNL finals be played at other venues - for example Maryborough playing a final at Castlemaine?

What is the future of cricket at the QEO in the long term?

These issues need planning for now so we are not facing the same issues with the QEO in 10 years time (or less) when a future Council may not be so generous.

Good to see the council has confirmed it will go ahead with this project.

However no matter how much money is spent on the ground the local authorities (in particular the BFNL Board) need have to have a long hard think about how much football the QEO surface can take. Sooner or later we are going to get a wet winter - or even just a wet September. When this happens:

Should Strath's home ground be the main 'back up ground' (with the switch of VFL matches or even BFNL finals there)?

Should Sandhurst and South train at the QEO throughout the season - if not, where do they train when the surface needs a rest?

Should reserves and under 18 games be played elsewhere if the surface starts to deteriorate?

Should BFNL finals be played at other venues - for example Maryborough playing a final at Castlemaine?

These issues need planning for now so we are not facing the same issues with the QEO in 10 years time (or less) when a future Council may not be so generous.

(Welcome Back To myself)

i beleive all finals should be playing at the kyneton showgrounds as it is the best ground in the league by a long way

We’ve had the wettest winter in 5 years already – 7 mths of above average rainfall. I actually think the ground is holding up well. Just strolled up for a gander at lunchtime. Better than in 2005 when it was a mudpot. The purpose of the upgrade is so we can play footy / cricket on it all year round

Possible. Doesn’t have a lot of shelter for the crowd, but a possible option. Canterbury Park seems a better immediate option.

A great question because they don’t train at the QEO now. Currently sharing / swapping between Tom Flood and Epsom soccer ovals. NOT ideal. An alternative training ground could be built b/w the swimming centre, tom flood area. Great potential… no money to do it. This is where Essendon could come in and put its money where its mouth is… but too concerned about their Windy Hill HQ issues at the moment so QEO won’t get a look in until that is settled… if at all. Here’s hoping they do get financially involved.

Absolutely not an option. Do this and the clubs financial and social fabric will die a quick death. It’s supposed to be a day out for the club, family, supporters. Can’t be driving across town at 100mph to get to the seniors and pay another gate entry fee.

M/B won’t have a home final (that’s if they make it)… but Castlemaine has great atmosphere and only 25min down the road. Good option.

The cricketers I have spoken to are (mostly) happy to sit out a summer for the greater benefit. Cricket should be played there from 2011 onwards.

We’ve had the wettest winter in 5 years already – 7 mths of above average rainfall. I actually think the ground is holding up well. Just strolled up for a gander at lunchtime. Better than in 2005 when it was a mudpot. The purpose of the upgrade is so we can play footy / cricket on it all year round

Possible. Doesn’t have a lot of shelter for the crowd, but a possible option. Canterbury Park seems a better immediate option.

A great question because they don’t train at the QEO now. Currently sharing / swapping between Tom Flood and Epsom soccer ovals. NOT ideal. An alternative training ground could be built b/w the swimming centre, tom flood area. Great potential… no money to do it. This is where Essendon could come in and put its money where its mouth is… but too concerned about their Windy Hill HQ issues at the moment so QEO won’t get a look in until that is settled… if at all. Here’s hoping they do get financially involved.

Absolutely not an option. Do this and the clubs financial and social fabric will die a quick death. It’s supposed to be a day out for the club, family, supporters. Can’t be driving across town at 100mph to get to the seniors and pay another gate entry fee.

M/B won’t have a home final (that’s if they make it)… but Castlemaine has great atmosphere and only 25min down the road. Good option.

The cricketers I have spoken to are (mostly) happy to sit out a summer for the greater benefit. Cricket should be played there from 2011 onwards.

DR DR???

I always enjoy reading your thoughts and yes you are only one opinion but have you a problem with maryborough?

You seem to keep having pot shots for a while now. They would be first to say they are not travelling well and this can be put down to a number of reason( players committment, training venues and in reality its list is not what everyone thought) but ease up.

If you need to know YES your mob is better and will play finals but not every team can and lets be honest only two sides can win the flag.

Would hate to think you have sought of problem with the place even though after reading this bendigo thread for a while i can see that cousin ben would annoy you.

0oc, let me make it clear that I am against this as much as you - but it has happened in the past. Years ago a Sandhurst v Golden Square under 18s grandfinal was moved off the QEO and the players parents in particular were very hostile about the decision. If I remember correctly Laurie O'Farrell (former Sandhurst President) had sons playing in the match and wrote a letter to the Advertiser complaining about the decision.

The QEO does get a heavy workload of football (and cricket). This year may be wetter than the previous ones, but realistically we have been in a drought for a decade now. Sooner or later we will get a really wet winter and the BFNL and other sporting authorities need to think NOW about what can be done to protect the QEO when this happens - so we do not get a repeat of the above.

Davis 24, I think any country club ground should be considered for the qualifying and elimination finals if they can present a ground with good facilities and in an excellent condition - but it should be a neutral venue. Clearly it would make no sence Sandhust v Eaglehawk playing an elimination finalk at Kyneton, but in future say a Gisborne v Maryborough qualifying final at Kyneton could be a goer.

I always enjoy reading your thoughts and yes you are only one opinion but have you a problem with maryborough? quote]

Steady on tiger, M/B have lost the last 4 games so their form is not crash hot. KFlat are on 28 pts, M/B on 24pts. So obviously I'm entitled to say ... "that's if they make it". It will come down to percentage, unless they cause an upset or Flat fall in a heap.

The Run home -
M/B - KF, Gis, GS, Kyn. (assuming 2-3 wins against KF, Gis, Kyn = 36pts)
K/F - MB, Cm, Sh, Eh (assuming 2 wins against M/B & Cm = 36 pts)

But if M/B beat Flat this week, Flat are gone. If it makes you happy, I will be tipping M/B at home.

I always enjoy reading your thoughts and yes you are only one opinion but have you a problem with maryborough? quote]

Steady on tiger, M/B have lost the last 4 games so their form is not crash hot. KFlat are on 28 pts, M/B on 24pts. So obviously I'm entitled to say ... "that's if they make it". It will come down to percentage, unless they cause an upset or Flat fall in a heap.

The Run home -
M/B - KF, Gis, GS, Kyn. (assuming 2-3 wins against KF, Gis, Kyn = 36pts)
K/F - MB, Cm, Sh, Eh (assuming 2 wins against M/B & Cm = 36 pts)

But if M/B beat Flat this week, Flat are gone. If it makes you happy, I will be tipping M/B at home.

Doc - you seem a little bit rattled, which is not like you at all.

Obviously being rattled has caused you to forget your weekly diagnosis ???

Doc - you seem a little bit rattled, which is not like you at all.
Obviously being rattled has caused you to forget your weekly diagnosis ???

thanks for your concern Stormboy, but I'm all good :thumbsu:;). Ran out of time today, so won't go into the usual detail. Tipping South, Square, Sandhurst, Maryborough in a close one and your boys, The Storm. Promise to make up for it next week!

I think he was referring as much to past "digs" you've had at M'borough, rather than just the last one expressing a (quite reasonable) opinion that they may not make the five.

You don't mind having a crack at them, and you are perfectly entitled to. It's only natural there are going to be others having a go in return though. They do have internet in some of these other places, you may have forgotten.

DR DR???

I always enjoy reading your thoughts and yes you are only one opinion but have you a problem with maryborough?

You seem to keep having pot shots for a while now. They would be first to say they are not travelling well and this can be put down to a number of reason( players committment, training venues and in reality its list is not what everyone thought) but ease up.

If you need to know YES your mob is better and will play finals but not every team can and lets be honest only two sides can win the flag.

Would hate to think you have sought of problem with the place even though after reading this bendigo thread for a while i can see that cousin ben would annoy you.

Hey, leave me out of this "Tiger". I've been blacklisted and will no longer be acknowledged by the correspondent you dare to question.

Well done to M'borough for showing some pluck for once. From what I understand it was a "dirty" day all round for Flat on several fronts. Apart from losing all 3 games in the mud, Big Harry went down in the 3rd quarter (is his injury serious?), and I hear one of the Bonds had his teeth smashed courtesy of a "Liverpool Kiss" from another of Flat's big-name forwards!?!

Been involved in the league for a long time now,is it just me or is there a feeling that the comp is dead.Some positives from the year the improvement of strath(or has the bootom half drop more than last year)the goal kicking of weeks other than that just play the GF square and south (will be a great final)and lets all move on.

ps over to you doc