Best 22

Big call E Shed, I hope you are right.

Yeah me too. I've rated him since the final against Melbourne. CC always had huge wraps on him. Just watching him against Carlton in SA I just thought this kid really wants the footy. He plays with so much heart. Turns 23 this year, had a few seasons in the system, I think he'll play through the middle and win plenty of hard in and under ball for us.

So far Schammer has developed into a very average player for us. Walker may have been bagged heaps (and some of it quite deservadly), but unless Schammer does step up he may be compared badly against Walker. Personally I would hate to see Schammer muddle through 150 games for us.

We need him to be one of our best players. Bell and MacManus are on the way out, and we need a young midfielder to become a leader to replace them. Hasleby and Carr can keep it together for now, but Schammer has his fate in his own hands.

Absolutely no question marks in my mind about Schammer making it. Watching him in the centre against Carlton was impressive. He won plenty of contested possession. When he first came to us he played onball and was awesome, then he got cleaned up several times and CC played him anywhere but on the ball.

Now he's matured, Harvey has indicated he'll play onball and he looks to be back to his best (vs. Carlton in SA).

The two bolters will be Headland and Schammer. They will move into Hase and J.Carr's territory as our most important onballers.

Hello there Fellow Docker Fans,

Being a Melbourne based member I have found it hard to keep up on who is looking good at the moment.
One player that has really caught my interest is Kepler Bradley. Is there any chance for this rather large and fit player to make an impact with us this year?
Mark harvey must have surely chosen him to be picked up for a reason and he did show glimpses at Essendon of being a player that cold be very difficult to match up. Any progress on how he is going after his concussion in South Africa?

So far Schammer has developed into a very average player for us. Walker may have been bagged heaps (and some of it quite deservadly), but unless Schammer does step up he may be compared badly against Walker. Personally I would hate to see Schammer muddle through 150 games for us.

We need him to be one of our best players. Bell and MacManus are on the way out, and we need a young midfielder to become a leader to replace them. Hasleby and Carr can keep it together for now, but Schammer has his fate in his own hands.

Walker had almost no offensive side to his game though. I don't have the stats but I'd guess that Schammer and Walker would have a similar tally of career goals even though Byron has played a lot less games.

It's a bit unfair to expect Schammer to replace our best ever midfielder just because they are of similar stature. You are right though that we need a couple of Schammer, Crowley, Peake, Foster, Smith, Ibbo and Palmer to step up and be consistent performers in '08 and beyond.

Schammer looks tailor made to play the role that Cousins played for west coast. Cousins never won a lot of clearances or laid many tackles but he raked up 25 possessions and impacted the game starting at half forward but playing as a midfielder. Schammer has the endurance and goal kicking ability to play that role for many years to come.

Being a Melbourne based member I have found it hard to keep up on who is looking good at the moment.
One player that has really caught my interest is Kepler Bradley. Is there any chance for this rather large and fit player to make an impact with us this year?
Mark harvey must have surely chosen him to be picked up for a reason and he did show glimpses at Essendon of being a player that cold be very difficult to match up. Any progress on how he is going after his concussion in South Africa?

Kepler needs to play really well during the NAB Cup. He has a lot of competition for that 3rd tall forward spot.

It will be interesting to see the team sheet for Sunday. Campbell, Drum, Murphy and Kepler are all jostling for a spot in the side for the season proper, whoever misses on Sunday is probably near the bottom of the batting order.

Kepler needs to play really well during the NAB Cup. He has a lot of competition for that 3rd tall forward spot.

It will be interesting to see the team sheet for Sunday. Campbell, Drum, Murphy and Kepler are all jostling for a spot in the side for the season proper, whoever misses on Sunday is probably near the bottom of the batting order.

Drummy was with the backs this morning... the other three were with the forwards. From my untrained eye, and based on what I observed this morning, I would rank them 1. Murphy, 2. Kepler, 3. Kiwi.

I'd like to see NOD (nephew of Damian :p) given some big jobs during the NAB Cup. If Drum plays Sunday I'd like to see him on Ash Hansen.

I'd definately agree that Campbell is at the back of the pack. WAFL/pre-season form will be very important for the other two.

Thanks for the lowdown guys. Is there any news from training ? Any chance that Ryley Dunn is going t oget out of the sick bay this season? it appears that a lot of out top draft pics have not come through for us (Injuries and not enough form) and I am hoping for a bit of a change in fortune.
Any standouts that would look good for a Pick up in my Dream Team?

Thanks for the lowdown guys. Is there any news from training ? Any chance that Ryley Dunn is going t oget out of the sick bay this season? it appears that a lot of out top draft pics have not come through for us (Injuries and not enough form) and I am hoping for a bit of a change in fortune.
Any standouts that would look good for a Pick up in my Dream Team?

You are setting yourself up for a disappointing season if Dunn and Bradley are your favourite players. :D

There is a seperate thread on todays training, hope it helps.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=414295

There will be a dream team thread closer to round one.

I can certainly say that they are not my favourite players. Just players that have had a lot expected of them and now is the time to deliver.

Mr Josh Carr is my favourite player. His hard and tough way of playing football should be an example for the whole team to follow.

I am sure that our new Coach will be instilling these values into our players this year and as a result I expect a very exciting Season!:cool:

Thanks for the link. Another excellent rewiew from Imperial.

dockerland1. I/m also melbourne based and rely on bf for all my docker news,
I think Keplar copped a pretty bum rap, being played out of position at the bombers and being 6/7 (and despite the bad publicity,) is athletic,quick & can take a grab .Would be pretty hard to match up on with Pav & Taz taking the best defenders & could prove to be pretty handy with Jeffrey yapping around his ankles .This could be a Harvey masterstroke,he could be our fullforward.How does this sound
Taz Pav Dessie
Jeffrey Keplar Belly

dockerland1. I/m also melbourne based and rely on bf for all my docker news,
I think Keplar copped a pretty bum rap, being played out of position at the bombers and being 6/7 (and despite the bad publicity,) is athletic,quick & can take a grab .Would be pretty hard to match up on with Pav & Taz taking the best defenders & could prove to be pretty handy with Jeffrey yapping around his ankles .This could be a Harvey masterstroke,he could be our fullforward.How does this sound
Taz Pav Dessie
Jeffrey Keplar Belly
name 1 there that will be an easy match up.

If we played ourselves we'd probably match up:

Taz - Johnson Pav - McPharlin Des - Dodd
Farmer - Hayden Kepler - Grover Bell - Thornton/Mark Johnson?

Grover would flog Kep

If we played ourselves we'd probably match up:

Taz - Johnson Pav - McPharlin Des - Dodd
Farmer - Hayden Kepler - Grover Bell - Thornton/Mark Johnson?

Grover would flog Kep

dont know about that 1 he just short of 200cm with a good mark if its bombed in grover wouldn't stand a chance, i think dodd would have more luck there.

ok..

Taz v Dodd Pav v McPharlin Des v Grover???
Farmer v Hayden Johnson v Kep Bell v ????

I'm confused, not sure who Grover would play on really. Pretty sure our forwards would win just about every match up except keplar's though.

ok..

Taz v Dodd Pav v McPharlin Des v Grover???
Farmer v Hayden Johnson v Kep Bell v ????

I'm confused, not sure who Grover would play on really. Pretty sure our forwards would win just about every match up except keplar's though.

IMO CC usually had two leading forwards(taz,Pav) about the fifty,one crumber(Wiz) and a full forward(murf)this is grovers man.
It will be interesting how Harvey will set up the forwards.Maybe Bell and Farmer will rotate the small forward position with the other playing Headlands role freeing him for more midfield duty.Wiz showed a couple of times last year he could do it.

The 2 rounds of NAB cup have given most of us a pretty good look at the players and although a tad under done in fitness and skills most should have a pretty good idea of there thoughts of Round 1 line up. This is mine based on what ive seen.

FF: Mark Johnson Taz Farmer
HF: Bell Pav Crowley
C: Black Solly Palmer
HB: Mundy Mike Johnson Grover
FB: Roger McPharlin Dodd
R: Sandi Dessy JCar
INT: Gilly Warnock Schammer Peake

I know we havent yet seen Belly and Black but at least with these tweo guys you know what you are gonna get week in week out. The Mundy, Johnson midfield experiment hasnt worked. They were okay against Carlton but against a quality midlfield like Adelaide, they just could handle the pressure. Too many missed handballs by these guys in the mid who are normally so cool in the back half. Maybe put them through there for a quarter or so against lower ranked or similar mids but we need our best against the best. And, these guys are among our best backs.

Solly and Des have impressed with there attack on the ball and the man as well as there clearances and foot skills. Play them mid for as long as possible. Palmer another option but body size my be an issue at the moment so bette rto run on the wing all day, Not super quick but if he can run his opponent/s around all day he will look very quick when it comes time to get the pill and go.

Mark Johnson forward is a tricky one but left him there simply to get out of there and create space and apply pressure at our half forward. Would love to see Warnock and Sandi push into the goal square and hold some marks.

Gilly i think is a bit of an X factor because of he is a true utility. Love to watch him run down the wing and kick long to the forwards or ruck or sit in the pocket where he is a good marking option. Defiantley a case to play him along side Sandi and Warnock.

FB: Grover McPharlin Thornton
HB: Hayden Johnson Drum
C: M.Carr J.Carr H.Black
HF: Bell Tarrant Crowley
F: Farmer Campbell Pavlich
R: Sandilands Headland Solomon

Int: Warnock Gilmore Palmer Schammer

Those that normally appear in the 22 which i've left out:

Dodd
Peake
Mundy
Murphy
Ma.Johnson

I've left Dodd out for Drum. Drum seems better at the shutdown role without giving away stupid free kicks. I've liked what i've seen so far from Drum this preseason, i think he has better pace on the lead. Also there's little Dodd offers that Thornton or Michael Johnson can't in the defensive 50. Drum has the added versatility of being able to move forward with good effect. In fact that leads onto the reason Murphy and Mundy have been left out of the team, Drum combined with Gilmore are better utilities.

Especially having both Warnock and Sandilands in the team. Either of which can play a role in the forward line intermittently.

Peake in my opinion has been overtaken by Palmer.

Campbell has proved an effective FF option. Crashing packs and making space. His physical presence around the forward line is great. Also i rate his 1 on 1 marking ability in comparison with some of our other forward options.

Effectively our deep options become Campbell and Farmer with Pav and Tarrant doing whatever they like.

It's a bit unfair to expect Schammer to replace our best ever midfielder just because they are of similar stature. You are right though that we need a couple of Schammer, Crowley, Peake, Foster, Smith, Ibbo and Palmer to step up and be consistent performers in '08 and beyond.

Bell is finishing his career and Schammer is the most "like" player that we have, and on that list that you produced is at the top of the heap in terms of experience in the midfield. I don't see his goal kicking ability in the same way you do, and generally think his kicking is amongst his negatives. His strengths to me seem to be courage and stamina.

Certainly would not look for playing him in a "Cousins" style role. This year we have lost Hasleby, and Scahmmer needs to be found at the bottom of packs, dishing it out to Headland, not vice versa.

Bell is finishing his career and Schammer is the most "like" player that we have, and on that list that you produced is at the top of the heap in terms of experience in the midfield. I don't see his goal kicking ability in the same way you do, and generally think his kicking is amongst his negatives. His strengths to me seem to be courage and stamina.

Certainly would not look for playing him in a "Cousins" style role. This year we have lost Hasleby, and Scahmmer needs to be found at the bottom of packs, dishing it out to Headland, not vice versa.

Schammer's kicking is a weakness around the ground but he's a very good shot for goal, especially on the run. He's the opposite of Tarrant, who hits targets but turns to jelly when forced to shoot for goal.

Obviously in an ideal world Schammer would collect 25 possessions and be a clearance machine. But he doesn't have the core strength of Bell and is pushed off the ball too easily. I can't see him being a consistent clearance player in the near future but hopefully I'm wrong.