purplefrog

Interested to read a while back that the footy scribes were touting West Coast as achieving a great result in recruiting at the national draft.
Sure it sounds like Gaff will be a great player,Darling could be good if he gets his attitude right and Lycett was a pretty good pick up.
But I sure would rather have (as a group) Mzungu Faulks Anthony Mellington Michie Pitt and even Griffin over the Eagles picks.
Considering our relatively high ladder position last season I am very impressed with the job our recuiters have done this year and also over the last few years. We now have a list to be proud of.
Whilst we all know that in the past we wore the RECRUITERS GUMBIE CROWN:eek: it has now been passed onto our cross town rivals, not so much for their last batch of recruiting but more for the lack of quality on their list and poor decisions over the last couple of years.
How the wheel has turned:thumbsu:

There is only one time any club can boast about their recruitment, and that is when a premiershipis won.

Everything else means little.

Lets hope our day arrives soon.

This meaningless dribble between our sick neighbours is tiresome and ultimately pointless.

We are on a national stage, let's set the bar higher shall we.

There is only one time any club can boast about their recruitment, and that is when a premiershipis won.

This meaningless dribble between our sick neighbours is tiresome and ultimately pointless.

Sorry how dumb of me.:(
I should have known not to give anyone credit untill we win a premiership.
Share prices a bit low on Wall st Mr Gecko?:thumbsu:

Sorry how dumb of me.:(
I should have known not to give anyone credit untill we win a premiership.
Share prices a bit low on Wall st Mr Gecko?:thumbsu:

The only currency is respect.

Premierships build respect. You can give credit if it helps you sleep at night, I'd rather pursue a rigorous course of honesty, a relentless desire for perfection.

Back patting for a job yet to be completed seems a little stupid to me.

You do know it's pre-season and there's not a whole lot to talk about, right? No need to go rubbishing a thread right off the bat.

All he's pointing out is that the tide is turning/has turned between the two WA clubs - a fair and reasonable comment.

Yeah fair enough, but id rather get shit done then talk about it rather than talking about getting shit done.

Proof is always in the pudding and Im hungry.

Good recruitment is not reliant on a pemiership flag for validation.

Nothing else ranks as high on the list, certainly.

Mhm.

Rivalry is one of the great thing about sport and it's supporters.

I think our bar is set as high as you can get. We want a flag.

The only currency is respect.

Premierships build respect. You can give credit if it helps you sleep at night, I'd rather pursue a rigorous course of honesty, a relentless desire for perfection.

Back patting for a job yet to be completed seems a little stupid to me.

Only 1 person can win a flag. Does that mean everything else is a waste of time for every other club? Not at all. There are other positives which can be taken out of a season, things that are essential, when on your relentless quest for perfection.

It's not so much back patting on a job yet to be completed, but back patting for getting part of the job done which is crucial for the desired end result. Positive thinking is very important for success, the supporters are a part of that.

Yeah fair enough, but id rather get shit done then talk about it rather than talking about getting shit done.

Proof is always in the pudding and Im hungry.

Then let us not talk untill shit got done? No thanks.

Chef is currently preparing your dessert, here is a glass of "whine" for the mean time.

Edit: P.S. GeorgeGrljusich....... GordonGecko........ anyone else seeing the similairities?

I agree with the lizard. Perhaps we should let a couple of the listed players play a single game before we claim our crop better than theirs.

there are threads like this all over BF. Our untried young kids are better than yours!
Last year was the first time I thought WC might actually have done rather well here.

Pipsqueak Best Cider

Back on topic...

Our recruitment has been very good and I haven't seen any reason why this years i.e. the 2010 crop won't be as good as any of the other years

I have a lot of confidence in our recruiting and development departments to turn any player in to gold :)

I'm new around here but don't mind the thread Gecko, but the Wallstreet sequel is worse. I wasted two hours watching it so will spend 5 min on a response.
I Agree that premierships are the only thing that matter, but this thread is about recruits so ....IMO Freo have had the better recruits in 2007-2009 compared to most AFL teams, even those who have had better picks than us including Melbourne, tigers &eagles, without first picks and/or multiple priority picks is a positive to our recruiters. off topic i think 09 group of Martin, trengove, Scully, Bito will be like the '01 draft with multiple brownlow/GFs between them )

in '10 Eagles have the better top picks and secured a star in Gaff @ pick 4. ,with darling ready to go, lycett a replacement for Cox, and Brennan an unknown.
But in terms of picks maybe compare all recruits: Pitt, , Michie, Mellington, Faulks, mzungu.recruiters also planned for the comprimised draft by recruiting the best WAFL/VFL these last few years with the resultant upgrades of Barlow, Silvagni, JVB and Deboer which as a group the 10 looks like a pretty good year.

I'm new around here but don't mind the thread Gecko, but the Wallstreet sequel is worse. I wasted two hours watching it so will spend 5 min on a response.
I Agree that premierships are the only thing that matter, but this thread is about recruits so ....IMO Freo have had the better recruits in 2007-2009 compared to most AFL teams, even those who have had better picks than us including Melbourne, tigers &eagles, without first picks and/or multiple priority picks is a positive to our recruiters. off topic i think 09 group of Martin, trengove, Scully, Bito will be like the '01 draft with multiple brownlow/GFs between them )

in '10 Eagles have the better top picks and secured a star in Gaff @ pick 4. ,with darling ready to go, lycett a replacement for Cox, and Brennan an unknown.
But in terms of picks maybe compare all recruits: Pitt, , Michie, Mellington, Faulks, mzungu.recruiters also planned for the comprimised draft by recruiting the best WAFL/VFL these last few years with the resultant upgrades of Barlow, Silvagni, JVB and Deboer which as a group the 10 looks like a pretty good year.

:thumbsu:Finally we have someone who understands what we are talking about>

The thing that has been impressive in our recent drafting has so many facets for me.

1) We seem to have got best value for our high draft picks;

Hill over Rich
Palmer winning the RS
Mora stepping right in

Look at the first round picks we actually did use prior to the new regime and the last success for us was Pavlich.

2) The recruiters have also done a fair job at trading ending in an improvement for us. Drum for the selection that got Roberton is pretty bloody awesome, and while they may not have know Roberton would/n't be available, they knew the draft would still have quality at the selection. Pretty much carbon copy result for Peake. Even Warnock and Tarrant may end well for us.

3) The success rate for players after the first round are in my opinion probably where a team is going to make the most difference by getting their research and knowledge to the best level possible. And how awesome has the club done here. We have some more than handy players mixed with some stars. I struggle to see many out and out list fillers.

4) We are top-shelf in results from the rookie draft. Getting Barlow alone is almost enough to get that accolade, but there are some very good players on our list now via the RL. Plus I like the way they are using it this year with Bucca etc, getting players with injury issues onto that list.

5) General innovation has also been a skill netting us Faulks and Mz. Pure rat cunning I reckon. Plus we seem to be getting our positioning in place for Jaeger.

6) Moeller and Head also look like outstanding prospects, who as very young potential recruits fit some sort of planned recruitment vision. Good stuff.

In the past we seem to have got some things right with recruitment. At the moment it just feels like every box is getting the full inspection, and then a very thick, black tick put inside it.

im actually at the point now where i dont give a shit about the idiots down the road. lets face it with the media the way it is, they were always going to spruik about how awesome there young guys are..... the problem is they also keep going on about how chris masten is a gun, how ebert is a star etc etc... anyone can see that they are hopeless, so i say let them keep talking, while we watch our young late draftees do more in one season than what theres will in their entire "career"...... arrghh bring on round 1

I think everyone expects good picks to turn into at least handy players with the depth of the talent pool in recent years.

All players have a band between where they can be taken from low-end to high-end, what turns a good draft into a great draft is picking up guys towards the low-end of the band.

Gaff was a no-brainer type of pick, eagles really need Darling and Lycett to make the grade for the draft to live up to the hype and with the KPP types it could be 3 or more years before they really can show what their potential is.

I think in the recent drafts where Fremantle did very well it wasn't just securing the high-end players, but there was a lot of value generated from lower end picks and rookie picks as well.