acuguy

Brisbane Lions
I believe Michael Bevan should be taken to india for the following reasons.
1.Even though i like him a lot justin langer struggled here in australia and in india where it is tougher and up against spin which is not his strenght and where you have to make the pace he will most probably struggle.
2.The push for ponting to take on the number 3 spot.
3.Bevan is known as one of the best players if not the best player of spin bowling in australia.
4.Bevan was australias most successful batsmen on the last tour to pakistan
5.Bevans bowling has been successful at test level and his bowling is underratted and could be used as a very useful part timer.

Unfortunately bringing in Bevan leaves out Martyn, but i just think with bevan all of a sudden our attack without lee looks a bit better balanced as well as his batting will add some surety against the three spinners the indians will be playng.
Test Team for India
M.Hayden(flat track bully, the tracks don't get any flatter then india)
M.Slater
R.Ponting
M.Waugh
S.Waugh
M.Bevan
A.Gilchrist
S.Warne
J.Gillespie(Kasprowichs)if gillespie is ruled unfit
D.Fleming
G.Mcgrath

acuguy, you cant be serious!!!! Damian Martyn deserves to be the next Test batsman in waiting, what has Michael Bevan done in Pura Cup matches this year????? Based on a couple of ok one day matches and the perception hes a great player of spin, does that justify him leapfrogging in form players like Katich, Martyn and Hodge? Bevan has been tried at Test Level repeatedly, given plenty of opportunity and failed, let him earn a recall by dominating in Pura Cup matches like Lehmann has had to. Sorry but cant agree with you on that one. Cheers

i don't think you have fully understood my justification of the bevan selection, yes his one day form has been good, he is a proven good player of spin, but just as importantly he is a very good bowler that has a good test record, he takes wickets.
He would get a run over the others due to his bowling. His batting i believe would measure up over there, less chance of him getting bamboozled then some of the players you have named.

acuguy, are you traeting Bevan as an allrounder? He has been tried in this role before and failed because neither his bowling or batting were quite up to scratch. He cant be a front line spinner as he is a handy bowler at best and his shoulder is rooted. If we take him as a third spinner i think we would be far better off taking McGill. As for his batting against spin, i know you dont rate Martyn probably because he has grown up on bouncy wickets but he has shown in the last couple of years that he is a class act on all surfaces, but well have to agree to disagree on that point. I just dont think Bevan can bowl long enough or consistently enough to warrant ousting Martyn on his bowling ability. We need specialists in a tough environment such as India. Just my thoughts anyway. Hope this post isnt duplicated, got kicked off when i tried first time. Cheers

bevan the best spinner in aussie u heared of shane warne lately good he cant bowl he cant bat he sucks langer should go

Crap - he's about fourth in line, if not more. He's done nothing in the four day version to suggest he deserves a spot (at the moment), and if Martyn isn't first cab off the rank - I reckon he'd just about publicly cry. He's done easily enough, and theres still Hodge, Lehmann & Katich to go.

Yep I sure hope Bevan gets in the side & stays there for the Ashes series cos we'll sort him out with the 'throat' ball like we did last time.As a great man once said 'he doesn't like it up im'

bevan test statistics

batting average of 29 and bowling average of 24
i rate martyn very highly and on any other tour i would say martyn for sure, but i feel for balance an inform bevan would be extremely valuable in india, there will be no throat balls there.

Although I have some doubts about Langer I think he’ll go to India & bat at #3 in the 1st Test at least. Bevan’s bowling in particular will tempt the selectors but Martyn, Lehmann and Katich all must be miles ahead in the batting stakes.

I know Steve Waugh spoke about blasting them out with pace but I think there might have been some gamesmanship in that and with Lee out and doubts about Gillespie that option doesn’t seem near as attractive. The bloke with the blue hair would make the 1st XI, with one or more of the frontline quicks out, he’s a shoe in.

Martyn over Bevan without a doubt.
Followed by Katich, Lehmann, Hodge then Bevan.
Bevan has had chances to prove himself, time to give Martyn more of a go.

I'd like to see Langer kicked out of the test team. He has to have one of the ugliest batting styles I've seen for ages. He had one golden summer a year ago, and his technique has gone to seed since then.

And he's the luckiest batsman I've seen, too. The chances he gives, the nicks that umpires don't see or hear, the dismissals that the third ump can't get a clear camera angle on. It is excrutiating to watch.

Ponting is the man for No 3. His batting is as attractive as his personality isn't. He's barely been tried there, but I can still recall the flogging he gave the Windies at No 3 the last time they came. He single handedly turned that series around with one knock.

Martyn is three times the batsman Langer is.
I'd even back Katich against him, sight unseen. As a Victorian, I'd love to see Hodge go, but he hasn't done nearly enough. He'll go the way of Law of Siddons. One of the lost generation.

Bevan? You have to be joking.

Bevan has to be one of the most boring players to watch on a cricket field! He wouldn't know where the boundary is.....except when he's fielding out there - stupid spot for him in the field as even I can throw 8 ounces of leather further!

You keep on harping about his test record....can't exactly compare him with those who deserve a run in the test arena but have yet to get one , can we!

Bring on the youngsters......Katich and Hodge. And if you want reliable and proven, what's wrong with Elliott and Blewett?

It's time that NSW players had to actually earn their spots by performing in the domestic season......look where they are on the ladder and yet there is a disproportionate amount of them in the Australian sides!

[This message has been edited by Kaz (edited 08 February 2001).]

Originally posted by Kaz:

And if you want reliable and proven, what's wrong with Elliott and Blewett?

[This message has been edited by Kaz (edited 08 February 2001).]

If they were 'reliable and proven' how come they got dropped from the Australian team Kaz? *G*

Originally posted by Kaz:

It's time that NSW players had to actually earn their spots by performing in the domestic season......look where they are on the ladder and yet there is a disproportionate amount of them in the Australian sides!

Their standing on domestic tables is bad BECAUSE their stars are on international duty.
Try this for a First XI :
Slater, Richards, Bevan, M.Waugh, S.Waugh, S.Lee, Haddin, B.Lee, Nash/Bracken, MacGill, McGrath

That team at full strength would flog all comers in domestic cricket, and probably take apart at least 4-5 Test teams. Take 6 or more players out of the team and of course you're going to struggle.

The regular national representatives are Slater, Bevan, M.Waugh, S.Waugh, McGrath, B.Lee and MacGill.
Surely you can't say they havent (a) earned their baggy green caps or (b) performed at the highest level.

Hey GoEagles

I don't know about Blewett, but there was a rumour going around about the reason Elliott won't get selected again. Apparently his teammates weren't too enamoured of him, especially Damien Martyn. Personal reasons. Something about touring and saying a bit too much.

Don't know if it's true.

Originally posted by GoEagles:
If they were 'reliable and proven' how come they got dropped from the Australian team Kaz? *G*

OK, i was going to get involved but i just cant help myself. Being dropped doesnt mean your never gonna be good enough, Steve Waugh,Ricky Ponting, Michael Slater, Shane Warne all have been dropped at some stage of there careers, they won there spots back because of the consistency of performance outside of the Test team, i reckon Elliot has been pretty good in the last two seasons, hence winning back his ACB contract. And by the way i think he has proven he is capable at Test level, look at his stats during the last Ashes tour! Any player can experience a loss of confidence,Elliots was brought about because of a bad knee

[This message has been edited by BUBBALOUIS (edited 08 February 2001).]

BUBBALOUIS, you probably guessed my comment was tongue in cheek. They are both very good players and their form this season has proved they are worthy of selection. I do hope the ACB selectors have a good look at Elliot (even though he's a Vic) and his past form in England.

Originally posted by GoEagles:
BUBBALOUIS, you probably guessed my comment was tongue in cheek. They are both very good players and their form this season has proved they are worthy of selection. I do hope the ACB selectors have a good look at Elliot (even though he's a Vic) and his past form in England.

Sorry GE, it was a bit hot in Melbourne yesterday and my brain wasnt functioning at full capacity (some would say it never does). On a serious note though i reckon in the next couple of years the top of the Australian batting order will be our biggest weakness. None of the current crop bar Slater have grabbed the positions as their own, although Langer did show glimpses, and of all the talent coming through there arent too many young openers or number threes shining. What are your thoughts?

Good point raised BUB. I guess if the top 4 batters in the Australian team died, they would probably pick Hussey, Love and maybe Hodge and Katich (of course this is very debatable). But as long as they keep bringing in new faces to the state cricket, they will rise up and be able to put their hand up for Australian selection

There is no way that Bevan should ever play test cricket again!!!!!
Bevan is so suspect against short pitched deliveries that my little sister would trouble him on a dead track. He is a dud...end of story.
mad.gif

------------------
If ya smell what Santos is cooking!!