News Blair elevated to senior list

• Thread starter Thread starter TradeDraft

Maybe Ball will be rested a bit in the next few weeks, give Blair a chance to show he is not another Stanley or Cook.

Thank F*** for that, I love Blairy, and I think he will make it..Actually I know he will, I just hope it's with Collingwood.

Good stuff Blairy and Good Luck.

Simply put, CONGRATULATIONS JARRYD BLAIR.

If you listen to PieCast this week, the host gives it away, when he says "unless you (talking to Jarryd) get promoted and selected you will be playing at Vic Park on Saturday.

Surely he will play in the next 2 weeks.

Makes sense hey TRS...ahem.

I'd like to claim Nostradamus type powers, but of course I was given the tip by Smally, the Oracle.

Not a great development for O'Bree. I suspect Blair might get a chance to play that Luke Ball role to give his musty loins a rest.

Does anyone else see a Danny Nicholls deja vu scenario happening with young Blair?

Similar size and pace, Nicholls' debut was just atrocious.

Am I the only one who has concerns about his size?

Does anyone else see a Danny Nicholls deja vu scenario happening with young Blair?

Plenty of shorty's around. At 172 is comporable to Harvey, Bateman, Mitchell probably.

Get some Selwoodesque frees for too high.

Good luck to him... hope he gets a game soon

A real close to the Terra Firma player.

I do not have concerns about his size TBH.

His job will be to be under packs like Luke Ball.

He's pretty tough and solidly built, which is probably more important than lacking a few cms.

I saw him in one seconds game, he looked fantastic i thought. Very gutsy and determined, with good footy nous.

Nicholls wasn't tearing the VFL to bits, even before his elevation and subsequent "shocker".

Blair is a completely different player, who is a pure inside mid, to the point where the only "negative" to Blair is his outside work.

No problems with Blair, he and Luke Ball will form a partnership like no other in the AFL.

Makes sense hey TRS...ahem.
Ouch! Called out...

Good luck to him; I'm less confident than some but would like to see him succeed as much as anyone.

His size is definitely a concern for a lot of people, but for mine his pace is the sticking point. You see guys overcome being tiny in AFL, but they all have great acceleration. Blair seems to be pretty one-paced. I suppose an exception would be Mitchell probably, and he's just a gun footballer. As for the Nicholls comparison, I'd say they're pretty different players. Similar size maybe, Blair would be smaller, but not similar pace. Nicholl's pace was probably his best attribute, that and his left foot penetration.
If Blair get's a game I wouldn't be worried about him having Nicholl's type shocker. The problem with Nicholl's is he went out there like a bull at a gate, tried to take everyone on and showed a complete lack of poise. Blair seems to be a pretty calm footballer, better decision maker. Reckon he'd to ok.

Nicholls wasn't tearing the VFL to bits, even before his elevation and subsequent "shocker".

Blair is a completely different player, who is a pure inside mid, to the point where the only "negative" to Blair is his outside work.

No problems with Blair, he and Luke Ball will form a partnership like no other in the AFL.

Spot on Nicholls was a Purer Outside Player

Nice to hear the 28 possies in the VFL v WAFL game as an outside mid:eek:

I know it's old news but shows the boy can step up a level (while not AFL) and deserving of a crack.

Cheesy is now cooked. Thanks for your service Shane.

blair is a star,
people worried about his pace have to think he is an in and under midfielder. He is the same if not faster than ball with better disposal.
You have to think since he is shorter he will get more free kicks for a high tackle haha :P

Well done Jarryd you will kill it.

Blair would beat Ball and O'Bree in a foot race. I suppose being pushed off the ball easily may be a worry for someone so dimunitive , but he has good core strength. Solid disposal skills that are at times made to look very good , due to his football IQ, vision and creativity.

+ another.

Don't think he'll make it.

I'll stop short of saying won't so that I don't look as though I have a massive dong on my head.

+ another.

Don't think he'll make it.

I'll stop short of saying won't so that I don't look as though I have a massive dong on my head.

Why don't you think he will make it mate?

You know how you have a group of players from the football club you rate, and then you have a group of players from the football club you don't rate.

Well there you go.

This is how it will go:

1. Make his debut
2. Play a solid game
3. Have a quiet three weeks
4. Get dropped
5. Typical Bigfooty smashing with words like "dud" "spud" "useless" ...
6. Talk up Rounds.
7. Do it all over again

I have seen it happen so often. Mark my words!

Well done to him, pointless in the end. On the off chance I do end up looking like a massive dong, at least it will be for the benefit of the club.

Won't happen though, too many deficiencies.

Anyway, no need to rain on the parade. I hope he gets an AFL game, seems like a good kid and a hard worker, can't ask for more than that.

I love the comments on Blair so far, so many "will never make it", "has too many deficiancies" etc etc.

I remember the same comments being made about a few players;

* Harry O'Brien, was called uncoordinated and clumsy, and was also called a terrible kick before being promoted.
* Alan Toovey; Some said he'd never play a senior game.
* Brent MaCaffer; Simply a "plain" footballer was the "average" call, yet he will play over 100 games for this club.
* Tarkyn Lockyer; Yep, he was a rookie, and although it wasn't BF posters saying it (10 years ago) he was too slow, not skilled enough (really?) and simply too short.

I could go on and on about the amount of players we have had over the years, whether they be draftees or rookies that have been branded "not good enough", yet have developed into consistent AFL senior footballers.

I for one believe he will make it, or at least be a consistent "back up" player for several years. He will be on our list next year, either as a rookie or senior listed player, that I know for sure.

I'll back him to "make it", I've seen enough of him to tell me that he is better then a VFL player, which may well be enough.