Rumour Bluemour Discussion thread

On another note. .. i am glad this nonsense isnt in the bona fide rumour thread.

I dont know how i still look young and handsome after all the stress trying to find real rumours in the old thread.

I know, right? RIGHT?

As at 8:13am AEST, I have found that time is stamped by the time the viewers clock

On another note. .. i am glad this nonsense isnt in the bona fide rumour thread.

I dont know how i still look young and handsome after all the stress trying to find real rumours in the old thread.

It's starting to resemble the old Rumour thread.

I put this idea forward some time back as I saw it as possibly the most practical.

When a mod comes across a rumour they mark it somehow and maybe even change the font colour to red and bold it.
Something that marks it immediately distinguishable as a rumour and even better, as a mod-approved rumour.

I may be wrong but it seems that when the actual rumour thread falls off the main page, it's just going to be more work for mods.
Maybe even the first post can be kept for the Mods to summarize rumours and keep that rolling:

i.e.
McLean rumour.........................Post 666
New Sponsor rumour.................Post 1332
Judd playing until 2020..............Post 2020

Just a thought but I don't know the mechanics of modding.

I put this idea forward some time back as I saw it as possibly the most practical.

When a mod comes across a rumour they mark it somehow and maybe even change the font colour to red and bold it.
Something that marks it immediately distinguishable as a rumour and even better, as a mod-approved rumour.

I may be wrong but it seems that when the actual rumour thread falls off the main page, it's just going to be more work for mods.
Maybe even the first post can be kept for the Mods to summarize rumours and keep that rolling:

i.e.

The Old Dark Navy's

i.e.

It's not really an issue to do this if it is required.

Having said that the whole reason for #bluemour was because you can go into the thread, click on the search bar, check 'this thread only' and enter #bluemour whereby your search reveals all posts in the thread with that hashtag. You will end up with quoting of the original hashtag but it still highlights the original rumour.

One cautionary part though, some rumours might be crap, may even be injurious. I'm wary of us inserting all rumours into the OP as though we are giving all rumours credibility.

It's not really an issue to do this if it is required.

Having said that the whole reason for #bluemour was because you can go into the thread, click on the search bar, check 'this thread only' and enter #bluemour whereby your search reveals all posts in the thread with that hashtag. You will end up with quoting of the original hashtag but it still highlights the original rumour.

One cautionary part though, some rumours might be crap, may even be injurious. I'm wary of us inserting all rumours into the OP as though we are giving all rumours credibility.

the good thing is is that there are 4 posts in the rumour thread.

We could edit into those posts the link where the same rumour has been copied across to this thread so people can see where the discussion starts.

Dangerfield is an excellent fit for Carlton but the cost might not be and the timing might not be either. I'm not seeing a lot of teams stuck in the middle of the ladder going out and drafting one highly paid gun and then winning the premiership. I think you need to get up there before you pull a move like this, if we finish at least 5th and look like having a chance at the flag then perhaps it's worth looking into but until then I suggest we follow the model of teams who have won the flag recently. The key is to draft and trade out of our skin for 4 or 5 years and bring a heap of high end talented young players in through the draft. We haven't been bringing in the numbers or the quality until the last few years. The quality side is still unknown but all looks well. You go 4 or 5 years nail at least two picks in the ND per year and a few in the rookie draft per year and trade really well, you get into a position to then top up with what you need to win the flag.

I just reckon that say we get Dangerfield and it puts us into the 8 but not as a genuine contender, having that cap pressure and lower picks in the draft could stall our improvement to where it needs to be to win a premiership. Would rather see us rise because we have a whole heap of good youngsters coming through than one superstar which doesn't do any favours to your quality of depth. Then again if we finish top 4 and go well in finals and a lot of our youngsters go well then why the hell not...

If we did have a good year finished say 5th/6th if we went out and got Danger do you think that would be enough to get Judd to go around one more time.

Not really many rumours (of a legit source) happen at this time of the year.

Read something interesting on Crackers column in Inside Football, apparently Allen Christensen is on massive bikkies with his front-loaded contact, that had he stayed, he would have been Geelong's highest paid player after Joel Selwood. Now with Dayne Beams joining Brizzie, makes me wonder if one of their young guns could be prised away with a big offer, Zorko, Aish or Sam Mayes would suit me fine in Navy Blue.

Not really many rumours (of a legit source) happen at this time of the year.

Read something interesting on Crackers column in Inside Football, apparently Allen Christensen is on massive bikkies with his front-loaded contact, that had he stayed, he would have been Geelong's highest paid player after Joel Selwood. Now with Dayne Beams joining Brizzie, makes me wonder if one of their young guns could be prised away with a big offer, Zorko, Aish or Sam Mayes would suit me fine in Navy Blue.

I feel the age of meaningless contracts will find many players back in their home state.

I doubt Brisbane would be in need of salary cap relief despite bringing both Christensen and Beams across on what would be significant money.

Not a whole lot there by way of experience with a very young outfit likely meaning plenty of room in the cap.

Personally I wouldn't touch Zorko who I don't see as anything other than a good ordinary footballer. Aish if he does leave will have plenty of suitors but I dare say he'll return to SA if he does leave as early as the end of 2015.

Mayes is one I am a huge fan of and would be thrilled to bring across. Classy footballer who would fit in magnificently, but it'd likely be very tough to come up with a suitable trade.

If we did have a good year finished say 5th/6th if we went out and got Danger do you think that would be enough to get Judd to go around one more time.

Judd is an unknown quantity, if he goes well and doesn't have injuries he could go around again providing his heart is still in it. Nothing is suggesting he is finished and has little to offer. Having that half year off might prolong his career. For all we know he'll do a Craig Bradley and we'll all talk about his retirement for the next 4 of 5 years until we get sick of talking about it and he finally retires.

In my mind, we are 3 years minimum off having a shot at a premiership. That means, after this year if we did get Danger, he would be in his 10th season as a player. I honest expect him to play at least 12 great seasons the maybe 1-2 pretty good ones after.

That means we could have a few decent years with a shot before his decline. He will help our players develop quicker and I'd much prefer to pay 1 million and give up zero draft picks for a gun, then give up our first and second picks for one gun ie gws boys.

If he is interested, I think it would be money well spent.

I think it would really hurt to give up picks this year. Draft looks like it could be ripper. Only way we get one of the GWS kids is if someone on our list has a breakout year and gets us some currency.

Judd is an unknown quantity, if he goes well and doesn't have injuries he could go around again providing his heart is still in it. Nothing is suggesting he is finished and has little to offer. Having that half year off might prolong his career. For all we know he'll do a Craig Bradley and we'll all talk about his retirement for the next 4 of 5 years until we get sick of talking about it and he finally retires.

I got the feeling late last season Juddy really feel back in love with footy and you could almost see it in his football. I'd love to see him play on for as long as Bradley form and fitness permitting.

Considering Judd had to be talked out of retiring at the end of last season, having him playing till Braddles age would be brilliant, but sadly a pipe dream.

Unless we can show we are capable of winning the flag in 2016, next season will very likely be Juddy's last IMO.

Let Danger go, the timing is not right. We are 3 yrs away from being good enough to challenge. We are better off chasing 2 or 3 GWS top tier kids through SOS. They will be 25 when we are good to go for a sustained run at the top.