bulletproof

Following Lonergan’s simply outstanding performance tonight at CHB and Blake’s effort in the ruck, it got me thinking about Bomber’s amazing ability to coax the best out of our players.

These two can now be added to the long line of players, I and most people, thought were not good enough to make a telling contribution to the club. Would have Mooney, Byrnes, Rooke, Mumford, Egan, N Ablett, Taylor, Varcoe, Podsiadly, even Ling (slow) and Chapman (had his problems early) made it under a lesser man/coach?

Bomber, through skill, patience, man management and in some cases sheer bloody stubbornness has managed to make players out of so many unfashionable/troubled players and build a team. He is brilliant teacher of footballers and clearly doing an absolutely amazing job for this club.

I think sometimes we are quick to praise Stephen Wells for bringing the right players to the club but I think it is more what we do with them once they get through the door.

We do have a curious relationship with our coach, I don’t think he is adored by the faithful as much as he probably should be. I can see it slowly changing and by the end of the year, just have a feeling Bomber might be recognized as a real Geelong legend.

I may be out of step with popular opinion myself, but I have an enormous amount of time for Mr Thompson. I relate best to coaches of any sport (I have a bit of a background in the field - in another sport), and Bomber is simply amazing.

I love his policy of empowering his assistants and his playing roster, and of standing by his players come hell or high water. We all remember him fronting the press for Otto a few years back, don't we? And when his neck was on the chopping block after 06, instead of taking the easy path of become a micro-manager, he showed faith in his people & gave them power. Incredibly ballsy, that. I also love the fact that he is quick to deflect praise to his assistants, and accept responsibility when things don't go all that flash.

One day - and I hope it's not any time soon - we'll all realise we miss him, and how incredibly vital he was to this dynasty that is the GFC. God knows that if I had even the barest modicum of talent (and about thirty years refunded back to me), I'd give my right :footy: to have him as my coach, in any game.

Following Lonergan’s simply outstanding performance tonight at CHB and Blake’s effort in the ruck, it got me thinking about Bomber’s amazing ability to coax the best out of our players.

These two can now be added to the long line of players, I and most people, thought were not good enough to make a telling contribution to the club. Would have Mooney, Byrnes, Rooke, Mumford, Egan, N Ablett, Taylor, Varcoe, Podsiadly, even Ling (slow) and Chapman (had his problems early) made it under a lesser man/coach?

I reckon you could add a few more names to that list. Corey for instance was a bloke who got a lot of the footy and turned it over. Otto was under serious pressure. Hawkins is playing better and better every week but if he was at the Tiges or even maybe the Pies probably wouldn't have gotten as far as he has. Mackie and Hunt and maybe even Enright were seen as weak links who panicked under pressure. Even Ablett and Bartel were at one time probably going to be just "good players" instead of outright champions.

What Bomber has done (with Balme, Cook, Costa and others) is build a machine that is better than the sum of its parts. Every player at Geelong is better for being thhere.

Incidently he's on the radio (SEN) now. Firstly, I have never, ever heard him as happy, relaxed and open as he is now. Secondly, his analysis is amazing. It's a pleasure to listen to him

It blows my mind when people (Geelong supporters as well) claim that he is overrated and anyone could coach Geelong. On Matchday maybe, but it was Bomber who got them into that position in the first place. One of the best coaches ever at developing a list. I think he is one of the main reasons why alot of players havent left despite the fact that almost all of the best 22 could be earning more money elsewhere. You see it in the way Scarlett reacted in 06' when there was talk of sacking Bomber. Its awesome.

I think he's grossly under-rated even by Cats fans because he's such a low key, unassuming sort of coach. Doesn't rant, rave or crack the you-know-what's when we lose, and doesn't show much emotion when we win either.

People seem to want him to get angry and promise retribution against players if we lose, and when he doesn't do it they assume he hasn't got a clue about what he's doing.

I'm a huge fan of Bomber, in terms of the onfields success, the credit seems to disproportionately flow to Wells, but its really Bomber pulling the strings - even on recruitment matters. No one is recruited into a club without the approval of the senior coach.

As far as man management and coaching goes, he's a master. He doesn't pull the massive game day moves often because he backs his team and his players - nothing wrong with that. Look at his record! Other coaches pull more moves on gameday, but their success rate is nothing on Bomber.

Just hope that he decides to extend his contract!!!!

Yeah I sometime think coaches that make the moves on game day and pull off a come from behind victory fluke it.
All their moves previously never worked and somehow pulled one off.

I'll love to read Bomba's book on his experience at Geelong when everything is done and dusted.
how he formulated a game plan, putting the building blocks together to make a team that would entertain and dominate.The characters of the players.
All without doing a St.Kilda and Carlton,sitting at the bottom of the table for a few years to grab draft picks.

I think game day is only one percent of his job, and probably his weakest component but hands down the best coach in the AFL IMO.

The thing I admire most is that despite every year coaches analysis to death and painstakingly trying to work out a plan to beat us. Geelong has been immune to it. In three years we've changed bugger all, just refined our play, and if we are honest no team has really come close to nullifying nor adopting the Geelong approach. He's a genius, he implemented something no other team in the AFL can copy.

He's 10 years ahead of his time IMO.

A good General will make battlefield manoeuvres to win a battle.

A great General will set the strategy and train his soldiers to win the war, even if he is absent from the battlefield.

One thing I have noticed is that Bomber does tend to make moves a bit earlier than he used to when things aren't working. Previously he'd probably wait until the third or even fourth quarter. Now he's more likely to do it at quarter time. I think in 2008 he was probably a bit too passive. He's had the balance just right since then though.

One of the things I really love about the way we're playing: we're still learning and trying to improve.

He is a great coach. But his blind love of certain players cost us the 2008 premiership. And I think that is the main reason many Cat fans always hold back a little bit of love

Two things cost us that GF. Firstly, and most importantly, we didn't convert. Secondly, we didn't shut down Hodge. Can probably be blamed for the second but not the first (and if the first had happened the second was irrelevant). Hodge went on to win the Norm Smith of course. In 2009, at quarter time Lenny was the Norm Smith medallist and I reckon the Saints were probably on track to win by about 15 points. But Bomber did what he didn't do in 2008 - he adjusted and made what is likely to go down as one of the great coaching moves of all time.

Losing in 2008 has made Bomber a better coach today. You could argue it's probably made us a better team now too. I think if we'd won in 2008, we wouldn't have won in 2009, and it's possible we wouldn't be in the position we are today.

I was one of the many who were critical of Bomber in his early days. Perhaps we don't give sufficient weight to how much there is learn when we're commenting on coaches doing the senior job for the first time. He's certainly matured into a top class coach and mentor.

I thought the SEN interview showed he has a real feeling for the club. The following piece from The Age covered it well

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/thompson-focuses-on-winning-not-gary-ablett-20100522-w2pg.html

The following excerpt resonated with me.

Asked if he could understand the dilemma Ablett faced given the size of the Gold Coast's offer, Thompson replied: "Nup."

"A lot of our players have stayed for the right reasons, they love playing together, they love playing for Geelong, they love playing footy together," he said.

"That's me too. That's what I love about team sports and what Geelong are doing at the moment. That's just the way I feel."

Here's the interview I mentioned earlier. REALLY worth a listen.

http://www.sen.com.au/audioplayer/Audio/Mark-Thompson-Crunch-Time-2252010/428

It's not in here, but after this Lloyd talked about the respect he had for Bomber... the tone of his voice was almost like awe.

Thanks for this link.

That interview, with its deep rooted honesty and its insight in to Bomber's thought processes, served to reinforce my respect for him as both a coach & a person. We as a club are so incredibly lucky to have that man in our midst, and all kudos for those that stood so resolutely by him as he honed his craft and molded his superlative squad in to the champions that they have become.

The interview also strengthened my belief that a thread like this is long overdue.

Bomber, through skill, patience, man management and in some cases sheer bloody stubbornness has managed to make players out of so many unfashionable/troubled players and build a team. He is brilliant teacher of footballers and clearly doing an absolutely amazing job for this club.

I think sometimes we are quick to praise Stephen Wells for bringing the right players to the club but I think it is more what we do with them once they get through the door.

We do have a curious relationship with our coach, I don’t think he is adored by the faithful as much as he probably should be. I can see it slowly changing and by the end of the year, just have a feeling Bomber might be recognized as a real Geelong legend.

People tend to forget that Bomber Thompson's only VFL-AFL coach was the great Kevin Sheedy who had the stubborness and determination to select a certain number of players and play them despite negative comments from supporters and various media commentators.

Back in the 80s and 90s, Kevin Sheedy had the determination to stick with a young Roger Merrett, Shane Heard, Dean Wallis and Kevin Walsh. Who remembers the days on World of Sport where critics bagged Kevin Sheedy for sticking with Kevin Walsh?

Gee, Bomber Thompson has adopted the same mindset and approach with the current Geelong playing group. He will stick by Tom Hawkins, Tom Lonergan, Mark Blake and Travis Varcoe. And, with Brad Ottens coming back in 6 weeks time, he will find the room to play Otto, Blake and Ottens as a 3 man ruck combination come September!!

THE GOVERNOR

If you are all correct in your analysis of Thompson then please add some words to this thread, in case he reads it, to tell him to back of from having a go at Gary Ablett. From the man, Thompson, who once famously said that being the coach of Geelong was "just a job" ,the continual snipes at Gary are uncalled for and nasty.
If he was a real leader Thompson would understand how difficult it must be to choose between the club that you love and have grown up, with to the point that it is your life, and the promised $2m from another one. And, that perhaps Gary sees it as not just a job.

Having given Bomber a well deserved rap earlier in the thread I wouldn't underestimate Balmeys positive influence. It's no accident our resurgence occurred at the time he arrived at the club. He had a very successful coaching stint in S.A. He's on the match committee and always in the coaching box on match days. A very astute footy brain.

I'm appreciating the Bomber support and he does deserve a lot of kudos for the way this team plays and the improvement in a number of players. The Cats game style is amazing in itself. He'll go down as Geelong's greatest coach and one of the great coaches of the modern era

But selecting an unfit Stokes ahead of Gamble or Wojo, and then making Stokes the centrepiece of the anti-Luke Hodge forward line strategy was one of the greatest blunders in VFL-AFL coaching history

Cost us the 2008 flag, no question.

So he's a great coach, yes, But there's a couple of blemishes

You're spot on that there are blemishes, but there hasn't been a perfect man since the first one got nailed to a cross.

Bomber is astute and self aware enough to learn from his mistakes, and what does make him great is that they never happen twice. Yes, playing underdone players was a factor in the 2008 loss (but far from the only one), but it was not repeated when we won the 2009 title over a team that - on the basis of its performances before the GF - had a far stronger claim to the title than us. And where Bomber significantly outcoached his opposite number on the day.

Yeah, well I'm not totally bagging him. The O.P. says we have a "curious relationship" with our coach and I'm having a dip at why he isn't revered by the Cat faithful

I may be out of step with popular opinion myself, but I have an enormous amount of time for Mr Thompson. I relate best to coaches of any sport (I have a bit of a background in the field - in another sport), and Bomber is simply amazing.

I love his policy of empowering his assistants and his playing roster, and of standing by his players come hell or high water. We all remember him fronting the press for Otto a few years back, don't we? And when his neck was on the chopping block after 06, instead of taking the easy path of become a micro-manager, he showed faith in his people & gave them power. Incredibly ballsy, that. I also love the fact that he is quick to deflect praise to his assistants, and accept responsibility when things don't go all that flash.

One day - and I hope it's not any time soon - we'll all realise we miss him, and how incredibly vital he was to this dynasty that is the GFC. God knows that if I had even the barest modicum of talent (and about thirty years refunded back to me), I'd give my right :footy: to have him as my coach, in any game.

I don't know what's in that tank water at Gilgandra, but that's a bloody good post, mate.

Further to this, I think some Geelong fans are a bit wary of Bomber because of his petulant display after keeping his job post 2006 (the "crappy process" comment), the Kent Kingsley thing, and his ridiculous and unnecessary baiting of Gary Ablett during the Gold Coast saga.

Mike Sheahan reported that Gary was swaying towards staying about 4-6 weeks ago. But is now reporting that since Thompson's continued taunts in the media, Gary Senior is now not happy and Junior may be shifting back towards heading north

Bomber has played the Gold Coast thing poorly, you must say. He's a good coach, but not in the Phil Jackson mould