Bomber Thompson

I would say yes, Mark Thompson was the difference tonight. Too much of a coincidence to suggest otherwise. Not a big deal, we were going to drop one sooner or later, and Essendon were always going to come out pumped.

Their season was on the line, not ours.

Mark Thompson coaching , now that would be a first. Mark Thompson with tactics , also a first. Having said that now that he is back at his love club perhaps he is.
Ask any player from the early 2000's what he used to say all of the time " this how we did it at Essendon'. It was only when the players took control after round 5 in 2007 and played their game that we became the great team that we are still.

Lol poor effort mate

More like disgraceful.

Bomber coached us for ten years and through that time made mistakes. May even have been a little naive in his team management in 2008. But he coached two flags.

I suppose we saw him at his emotionally unstable worst (2006 and 2010) and sometimes wonder what might have been.

As for last night, of course it was important. You didn't just have the ex-coach but the ex-assistant. They probably even knew GFC players better than most of our coaching staff did. I would say the coaching change was about 50% responsible.

It's an unusual situation, but the Bombers played the best footy. Important thing is for GFC to learn from it.

Good luck for the rest of the season.

I would say yes, Mark Thompson was the difference tonight. Too much of a coincidence to suggest otherwise. Not a big deal, we were going to drop one sooner or later, and Essendon were always going to come out pumped.

Their season was on the line, not ours.
Equally important was McCartney who you'll notice always sits next to Hird in the coaches box. He not only knows how we go about things very well he was responsible for developing many of our players.

That said, while their inside knowledge was a factor in our defeat it wasn't the only one or the principal one.

More like disgraceful.

Bomber coached us for ten years and through that time made mistakes. May even have been a little naive in his team management in 2008. But he coached two flags.

I suppose we saw him at his emotionally unstable worst (2006 and 2010) and sometimes wonder what might have been.

As for last night, of course it was important. You didn't just have the ex-coach but the ex-assistant. They probably even knew GFC players better than most of our coaching staff did. I would say the coaching change was about 50% responsible.

It's an unusual situation, but the Bombers played the best footy. Important thing is for GFC to learn from it.

Good luck for the rest of the season.

:thumbsu:

But I remember Bluey Mark Thompson used to always say that the players coached themselves. Another lie perhaps then.
If you want to give him credit for 2 premierships then blame him for the lost chances in 04 and 05 to play further into the finals, 06 for completely stuffing up, 08 for losing the GF and 10 for just blowing our chances, he is way behind.

If Bomber and Macca were not involved tonight, Essendon wouldn't have even come close. They were pivotal in this victory. Makes me dislike them, actively, although luckily they haven't got a chance this year for the flag so it probably doesn't matter.

i know, that was what was thinking.

But I remember Bluey Mark Thompson used to always say that the players coached themselves. Another lie perhaps then.
If you want to give him credit for 2 premierships then blame him for the lost chances in 04 and 05 to play further into the finals, 06 for completely stuffing up, 08 for losing the GF and 10 for just blowing our chances, he is way behind.

way behind? You're kidding me!! How did Geelong go winning Premierships pre Mark Thompson?

As for "completely stuffing up" '06, that "stuff-up" got you Selwood; without whom you wouldn't be the team you are. You can't have it both ways

way behind? You're kidding me!! How did Geelong go winning Premierships pre Mark Thompson?

As for "completely stuffing up" '06, that "stuff-up" got you Selwood; without whom you wouldn't be the team you are. You can't have it both ways

How did Bomber go winning Premierships pre Neil Balme?

Of course Bomber was important. But he wasn't the only one.

When we played Hawthorn, Clarkson plugged every leak he could. Bomber could not have tied us down more. Yet we won. We played better against Hawthorn, and that helped a lot. :D

Bombers influence on the cats latest era was crucial in two areas:
1 Bravely Cleaning out the list and playing the young 'bombers babies' that morphed into the brutes we now know and love ( with a nod to Wells' recruiting )
2 Finally throwing the shackles off the players and allowing them to express their manifold skills in the free flowing tsunami football that changed the comp ( whether he was forced into this by the players input is debatable)

A master tactician he certainly aint - Mcartney probably more important there

I would have hoped Cats supporters would have gotten over the manner of Bomber's departure and now afford him the respect he deserves for being the coach of a quarter of Geelong's premierships. His inside knowledge may have had some impact on last weeks game, but to credit that as the reason we lost is to ignore the main factor - intensity - and that Essendon had it and we didn't.

I noted last night after Richmond match Bomber talking at Hird like he was instructing him what to do. Hird looked very sheepish and down. I suspect Bomber will end up senior coach there in not too distant future.

If he gets the motivation he will certainly lift that club as he did GFC.

I noted last night after Richmond match Bomber talking at Hird like he was instructing him what to do. Hird looked very sheepish and down. I suspect Bomber will end up senior coach there in not too distant future.

He already is.You didn't know this ? He pulls the strings because Hird has NFI.Hird is just the face of the club.

sometimes you read posts and you can only shake your head. You've got to be kidding me.

Firstly, I'll bet you any money that never happens; and secondly, make up your mind! I thought Bomber Thompson couldn't coach, but apparently he's the mastermind at Essendon. So confusing

thoughts? Do you reckon his inside information was an issue? The Welsh/Scarlett matchup certainly seemed spot on in the first half, for example.

Obviously he was awesome for you guys, and his leaving was a historical opportunity for you take the next step, but do you think his influence had anything to do with tonights result?

Who????