Mega Thread Brett Ratten

Re: Respect for brett ratten

If we're sacking Ratten, who's the replacement?

Malthouse is the obvious answer.

How long will it take the next coach to implement a game plan that the players adapt to, or will our list be too old by the time they adapt?

Geelong last year, Adelaide this year. Its do-able.

And its not just Ratten. Our mids are soft and unaccountable, and our forward line setup and structures are deplorable. Our backline coach can stay.

Our plan seems to be get it to the outside mids and run like blazes. Sadly we have way to many recievers and no-one actually cracking in and getting the footy. Assuming we get it out, the plan then evolves to get it to forward 50 and chip it to a pocket for an impossible shot. Get slaughtered on the rebound as everyone is out of position.

This is the final test for mine. The coaching group needs to do their jobs and sort this side out (structurally, physically and mentally) or lets get in some people who can.

Malthouse is the obvious answer.

Geelong last year, Adelaide this year. Its do-able.

And its not just Ratten. Our mids are soft and unaccountable, and our forward line setup and structures are deplorable. Our backline coach can stay.

Our plan seems to be get it to the outside mids and run like blazes. Sadly we have way to many recievers and no-one actually cracking in and getting the footy. Assuming we get it out, the plan then evolves to get it to forward 50 and chip it to a pocket for an impossible shot. Get slaughtered on the rebound as everyone is out of position.

This is the final test for mine. The coaching group needs to do their jobs and sort this side out (structurally, physically and mentally) or lets get in some people who can.

That would be John Barkers Department, Hawks and Saints supporters did warn us.......

The Club was close to ditching Ratt's last year - but he won the final and that was his aim

For mine, don't necessary think sacking a coach will necessarily improve a team. Really need to see what's out there before you sack a coach.

Against Collingwood we were up and firing, and that's under Ratts. Since then two things have happened - clubs are suffocating us at the stoppages, and the players have lacked real intensity at times.

That shows that both the club & players need to lift. Rohan Connelly wrote a good article this morning, saying that the Blues currently lack the mental toughness of a premiership threat, like Geelong. It takes more than talent to win a premiership, it takes mental toughness

I'm not into sacking Ratts yet, by any means, but will watch the next two months closely. If the players' intensity returns & we're still losing, then Ratt's days will almost be numbered, if the players who are earning $250,000 don't show intensity, then ...

I agree with everything you said. I don't want to point the finger fairly and squarely at Rats. I am at loss to explain why our intensity has dropped off so dramatically. Yes, teams are getting physical with us but we are pretty much standing down to the physicality. It suggests one of two things (or maybe both).

1. We are soft.
2. Our structures are horrible at stoppages

Last year, we were far from soft, we were a tough side and really good in tight. Yes, carrots is a big loss but how can the loss of one player seriously make us a 10 goal worse side, cos that's the effect it seems to be having at the moment.

What I have noticed consistently over the last few weeks is how our players are always starting from behind at the contest, with their direct opponent starting in front and having a free go at the ball first. Like Rats must be so confident of Judd winning the ball by himself and these players like Murphy and Simpson just start behind to make it easier for them to spread, when in fact it makes it Judd v 3 opponents to win the hard ball. I know who I would be back to win the contested ball.

I reckon Dangerfield put in more effort at getting the hard ball than all of our midfielders combined yest. That's an indictment on the football club.

That would be John Barkers Department, Hawks and Saints supporters did warn us.......

Its just so blatantly obvious whats going wrong with what we are doing. Its been disected in the media, and weve been exposed by 4 diffferent clubs in this regard. GWS even showed us where we suck and still nothing had changed.

Game plan:

a) Everyone hovers around a pack waiting for the footy to be extracted.
b) When extracted, run in numbers trying to get the footy into the F50 before the forward line gets clogged up.

Great in theory and when it works, but we havent got anyone committed to winning the hard ball and instead have way to many players playing outside footy.

What is happening:

a) We are not winning the contested ball despite comprehensively winning the hit outs. Contest after contest there are too many blokes waiting for the footy and not winning it. Yeah, Carazzo is out, but thats no excuse for the others. Weve been overreliant on Judd and Carrots winning the hard stuff for way too long.
b) When we do win the footy, we all run one way leaving us hopelessly out of position if (and when) the ball rebounds leaving us vulnerable to the counterattack. Laidler missing and Duigans poor form this year has hurt, but the defence starts in the middle. We seem to have forgotten this (again).
c) Our forward 50 entries are invariably to a pocket for a difficult shot. This is utter shit. Eddie is a leading forward who can crumb, and Hampson needs to be plonked in the goal square in the hot spot and shown how to lead forward and straight.

We need to sort out the midfield set up and forward line asap.

I'll excuse the defenders a little due to the ease with which the ball goes down there most times.

Coaches - fix this crap or GTFO.

We finished 5th last year and have a young side and most commentators and the club expect us to finish top 4.

Not looking for excuses but that part cuts both ways. .. Inconsistency comes from youth as much as improvement does. ..

I reckon Dangerfield put in more effort at getting the hard ball than all of our midfielders combined yest. That's an indictment on the football club.

And Watson, Stanton, and Hayes before him.

Other sides know were soft and reluctant to do the hard stuff and they are playing us accordingly.

So to summarise:

Players not listening or responding.
Players and coach content with half arsed efforts.
Not enough depth.
Not strong enough.
No plan B.
Gold passes.
Stubborn belief in failed tactics.
Coaches too slow or unable to counter opposition strategy.
No alternate game plan for Etihad.

Have I missed anything ?

so to summarise:

Not enough depth.
Not strong enough.
No plan b.
Gold passes.
No alternate game plan for etihad.

Have i missed anything ?
no..........

So to summarise:

Not enough depth.
Not strong enough.
No plan B.
Gold passes.

Have I missed anything ?

Nope!!

So to summarise:

Not enough depth.
Not strong enough.
No plan B.
Gold passes.

Have I missed anything ?
Over confidence & Players playing for themselves.... other then all of those points everything is fine!!

Its just so blatantly obvious whats going wrong with what we are doing. Its been disected in the media, and weve been exposed by 4 diffferent clubs in this regard. GWS even showed us where we suck and still nothing had changed.

Game plan:

a) Everyone hovers around a pack waiting for the footy to be extracted.
b) When extracted, run in numbers trying to get the footy into the F50 before the forward line gets clogged up.

Great in theory and when it works, but we havent got anyone committed to winning the hard ball and instead have way to many players playing outside footy.

What is happening:

a) We are not winning the contested ball despite comprehensively winning the hit outs. Contest after contest there are too many blokes waiting for the footy and not winning it. Yeah, Carazzo is out, but thats no excuse for the others. Weve been overreliant on Judd and Carrots winning the hard stuff for way too long.
b) When we do win the footy, we all run one way leaving us hopelessly out of position if (and when) the ball rebounds leaving us vulnerable to the counterattack. Laidler missing and Duigans poor form this year has hurt, but the defence starts in the middle. We seem to have forgotten this (again).
c) Our forward 50 entries are invariably to a pocket for a difficult shot. This is utter shit. Eddie is a leading forward who can crumb, and Hampson needs to be plonked in the goal square in the hot spot and shown how to lead forward and straight.

We need to sort out the midfield set up and forward line asap.

I'll excuse the defenders a little due to the ease with which the ball goes down there most times.

Coaches - fix this crap or GTFO.

Agree with everything here - but it is worse than you say.

It isnt an accident - Carrazzo/Murphy/Laidler/Waite + 8 VFL players out for months..Judd/Kreuzer Scotland playing sore and tired - carrying the load for a bunch of third rate stinkers on the same paddock.

Seriously - Curnow/Ellard/Joseph/Bower/Russell/Thornton?? I mean you got to be kidding right...

sure play tehse against bottom 1/3rd teams - cos that is wher they rate.

Our list is a mess - too much has been expected from too few for too long - it is 1970's footie Club culture.

as for 13 coaches- 13?!! I mean you gota be kidding me-...where is teh VALUE where are the structures?

and wots with thsi stoopid "flexible player" nonsence flexible player my ar%e.

We have a list of thin bodied runners who look good against a clock - at training. No oen in the team playing - has ever hurt an opposing player with a legal tackle - no one.

Get real - this team is a total con - smoke and mirrors.

My biggest problem with our coach/coaching panel is when we are getting flogged around the ball we dont make the changes quick enough. Whats wrong with chucking a touhy,Robinson or walker on to the ball for some big bodies around the contest. Even Russell who is in bad form could go in there and at least block for our runners. If teams wanna clog up the space and take away our run do the same make it man on man around the footy! Not have gibbs at half back as a loose this tactic hasnt worked for us for 4 weeks get him fwd changing on the ball with Judd. If we dont fix these problems we are going no where and will not make the finals. The players attitude to me looks like they don't believe in Rattens game plan and want changes. There are too many guys playing because of form from last year lets play some blokes that garner a guernsey and want to play and have the hunger.

So to summarise:

Not enough depth.
Not strong enough.
No plan B.
Gold passes.

Have I missed anything ?[/QUOTE

We need to throw everything we have at Malthouse. We won't but we should.

My biggest problem with our coach/coaching panel is when we are getting flogged around the ball we dont make the changes quick enough. Whats wrong with chucking a touhy,Robinson or walker on to the ball for some big bodies around the contest. Even Russell who is in bad form could go in there and at least block for our runners. If teams wanna clog up the space and take away our run do the same make it man on man around the footy! Not have gibbs at half back as a loose this tactic hasnt worked for us for 4 weeks get him fwd changing on the ball with Judd. If we dont fix these problems we are going no where and will not make the finals. The players attitude to me looks like they don't believe in Rattens game plan and want changes. There are too many guys playing because of form from last year lets play some blokes that garner a guernsey and want to play and have the hunger.
I agree do the same until it could be like 32 players in the middle with 2 down back and 2 forward. The team who hard enough will get the ball.

Wow his new master plan is to play 3 rucks it's getting embarrassing.

206 in

Drop atleast one of kruz or hammer.

I thought kruz woeful form was due to injury? Surely he must be rested.

206 in

Might be some late changes but with Waite and most every other CHF option out and no faith in TBird (Thornton shouldn't be expected to play as the main tall anyway) then it was a suitable time to try the three rucks. ..

Oh Brett...

Did anyone else hear him mention moving Robinson into the midfield to solve our hardness issues?

DAMN IT BRETT! It's not just one player that is causing our problems (and can therefore solve them). The onus is on the whole team to play a tougher, more committed brand of football. By deferring responsibility to one single player, you send the wrong message - that everyone else is fine doing as they are, and that Mitch is our silver bullet and will solve all our woes.

Yes, I know it's just something he said to the media and there would be a lot more going on behind the scenes, but what is he even saying that for? It completely misses the mark in terms of what's gone wrong recently.

I personally think we'll be OK - teams have come out breathing fire against us and we've struggled to adapt (key injuries haven't helped). Still a top 4 side IMO, but I must continually question whether Ratten has the depth of understanding & intelligence to be a great Head Coach. Top player, Carlton legend, but just doesn't seem to have the smarts to be a top coach.

Oh Brett...

Did anyone else hear him mention moving Robinson into the midfield to solve our hardness issues?

DAMN IT BRETT! It's not just one player that is causing our problems (and can therefore solve them). The onus is on the whole team to play a tougher, more committed brand of football. By deferring responsibility to one single player, you send the wrong message - that everyone else is fine doing as they are, and that Mitch is our silver bullet and will solve all our woes.

Yes, I know it's just something he said to the media and there would be a lot more going on behind the scenes, but what is he even saying that for? It completely misses the mark in terms of what's gone wrong recently.

I personally think we'll be OK - teams have come out breathing fire against us and we've struggled to adapt (key injuries haven't helped). Still a top 4 side IMO, but I must continually question whether Ratten has the depth of understanding & intelligence to be a great Head Coach. Top player, Carlton legend, but just doesn't seem to have the smarts to be a top coach.

The reality is anything we do achieve in terms of success will be an amazing reflection on the playing group as I have never witnessed a coach so out of his depth.

His lack of understanding is terrifying, read his weekly members letter or listen to his interviews and it is just so clear he is out of his depth.

As mentioned love the bloke, love the player, but as a coach he is as bad as I have seen.

206 in

Have to agree. Hammer & Kreuzer as our FF & CHF:eek:
Both have shown they lack the smarts to play forward permanently, both lead to the wrong areas all the time, both fail to provide the long bomb to goal square option as they are out of position and the amount of times they go under or are pushed under the flight of the ball is disappointing. It is a lot easier playing in ruck and drifting forward to impact the scoreboard and MK has shown he is capable of this in the past.
Hopefully they step up and kick 8 goals between them, cannot see it happenning unfortunately.

Leaving aside excuses / reasons/accidents/bad luck etc etc
Benchmark was to finish top4 this year.

We look like we havent progressed whilst others have ...

Essendon - embarasssing
Saints - humiliating
Adelaide - embarassing and humiliating

Now ( Murphy, Carrazzzo, Laidler, Waite, Duigan, inj Kreuzer on one leg...) + lets not talk about pretty much every big player in development injured.

Top4 finish looking unlikely unless we get 4 out of next 6 games...

Yep pressure is starting to increase.

We can still finish in top4 - unlikely as it may look from here - but we can also not make finals - this is the doomsday scenario..

Next 6 weeks is defining for Ratts and his assistant coaches.

Let us be frank the suggestion to play three rucks demonstrates a complete misunderstanding of modern football, however if he was to press ahead given the weather as it currently stands it would probably be time for the club to step in and say thanks mate but thats it.

Yet Ross Lyon is also looking at doing the same thing & if Hawthorn could keep their rucks on the ground they would most likely be doing it to, with Hale playing at FF.

Yet Ross Lyon is also looking at doing the same thing & if Hawthorn could keep their rucks on the ground they would most likely be doing it to, with Hale playing at FF.[/

Sorry not true.

206, hammer and kruz are pure rucks. If at any stage one of them kicks 70 goals in a season like roughead and 8 goals on Scarlett as per hale then happy to agree. But while Kruz and hammer continue to have zero impact as forwards I will respectfully suggest yor examples are flawed.

As for the saints kosi is a proven fwd so refer above.