Brisbane's premiership window

LeBronco

GWS
How long can we expect it to remain open? It's been open since 2019 and doesn't look like closing anytime soon although stranger things have happened look at Melbourne their 2021 season was meant to be the beginning of a lengthy premiership window only for it to close after the 2023 season. Brisbane have done well to have father sons in Fletcher and the Ashcrofts come through which is the best crop of father sons we've seen at one club since Scarlett, Ablett and Hawkins, and it has resulted in Brisbane's window remain open longer than it otherwise would have similar to Geelong when their window looked closed and Dangerfield arrived to open the window straight back up. I've noticed people here saying Brisbane's window is set to remain open for at least another decade but it comes across as overexaggeration and fearmongering in my opinion, sure they'll remain good for the time being but 5 years in footy is a long time let alone 10 years and there was similar panic about Suns and Giants domination after both sides had entered the competition with their original start up concessions.

2026 they will be similar to 2025, all depends on how they manage injuries. And to be honest, the next three years are probably the same, they have replacements for Neale and Zorko. The real question is the years after that when McCluggage, Andrews, Rayner, Dunkley etc all start to get old, how will they manage. I can't see them falling in a hole because the talent under 22 is very good, but will they compete for flags, who knows.

While they continue to get ludicrous draft/academy advantages it will last for another 10 years
Perhaps your club shouldn’t have voted the merge. It always brings me sweet joy when people like you sook it up. Maybe you should have voted North Fitzroy instead of the Brisbane Lions. You can thank Richmond for doing that.

Always a watch on how hungry premiership teams can stay.
Brisbane, Hawks and Cats and the tiges proved it can be done. Time caught up with them not lack of hunger. Also

Lions lost 2004 after winning 3
Hawks made 4 straight, won 3 and in 2016 put up a good effort. Almost went straight into a prelim. They fought hard.

Look at Lions now. 3 straight granny's for 2 wins. Their hunger wasn't lacking. But they're going to have to compete with Hawks, Suns and Dockers who look to be the long term future imo. And short term still can't rule out Geelong.

The window will be open as long as the AFL wants it open. If the club isn't incompetent, it should be able to contend for the next decade.

The AFL wants us strong and will keep giving us big beautiful advantages over the rest of the competition for the foreseeable future.

All teams should strive to position themselves as important as the lions have to the survival of AFL football.

Minimum of another 5 years.

They have the best defender in the game, one of the best young key forwards in the game, a top 5 midfielder in the league (Mccluggage), and have just recruited a 5 year ruckman and another clubs captain.

Not to mention Mccluggages running mates in Dunkley, Ashcroft x 2, Bailey, Rayner.

I think 2026 will be their most dominant year of this run.

They will pick whoever they want from around the league to replace Zorko and Neale at years end. There is no player in their right mind that will turn them down.

Perhaps your club shouldn’t have voted the merge. It always brings me sweet joy when people like you sook it up. Maybe you should have voted North Fitzroy instead of the Brisbane Lions. You can thank Richmond for doing that.
I like Brisbane. It's better they dominate than Melbourne based clubs getting flags.

The AFL wants us strong and will keep giving us big beautiful advantages over the rest of the competition for the foreseeable future.

All teams should strive to position themselves as important as the lions have to the survival of AFL football.

A strong Carlton Brisbane is good for the competition.

Absolutely, the AFL know a strong Brisbane is good for football. To make us even stronger we were handed our own Western Australian academy, and we’re finally seeing the “benefits” rorts that inevitably follow. Our future has never looked brighter. And let’s be honest: a strong Brisbane is good for football. I know it, you know it, everyone knows it