BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Now YOU just need to appreciate the awesomeness that is Ties!

So don't listen to the recorded one and go hit up a live oneI'd rather listen to someone hit a baby with a cat than listen to that chorus.
I know the tickets say 7pm, but what time to we expect him on stage? Sometime after 8? I'll be struggling to make it by 7pm on the 27th and will have to produce some magic to get a decent spot in the pit. Fake edit: Oh hang on, I'll find out on the 14th anyway.![]()

While we're on the topic, what are some of the more popular songs that you guys don't really grab you?
For me Glory Days is up there, I don't hate it but don't love it, not really a fan. Cover Me never really did anything for me. I don't like Kitty's Back at all, Brilliant Disguise is so/so, not fantastic but I don't hate it. Much of The River has never made a last impression and I am not a fan of The Seeger Sessions era at all.
Anyway, over to you chaps, DrVanNostrand pjcrows jpkennedy UpForGrabs RussellEbertHandball NitroFan Gasometer JuddyBuddy Ford Fairlane The Old Dark Navy's
Then why do we have to pay $220 for a ticket when he has all this money coming in? It'll still be a ripper concert though.Bruce is playing five shows in Ireland in the northern summer. 140,000 tickets over the five shows, tickets are priced at €90 and €100. Will make about €13M Euro from those shows alone.
WOWZER!!!!!
No love for Darkness? I listened to Born To Run last night, woweeeeee. Need to listen to it more often.I find The River hit and miss. Some belters - Drive All Night, Jackson Cage - but a lot of filler IMO.
The album I least spin is BITUSA. Great pop songwriting, just never grabbed me - mainly the production of the album, but that was the era so I don't blame them.
For me, it's all about Greetings, Wild Innoncent, Born To Run, Joad and Magic. But I love it all.
Well we are a long way awayThen why do we have to pay $220 for a ticket when he has all this money coming in? It'll still be a ripper concert though.

Not a fan of The Rising?How did I forget Darkness?
Pure gold
His is much better. More detailed, better descriptions, more songs. I'm going over it again now re-reading the songs I like. Glad I'm doing it.Yep a great effort by UFG. Like your list Cruyffy, took me a few days to get through.
His is much better. More detailed, better descriptions, more songs. I'm going over it again now re-reading the songs I like. Glad I'm doing it.
And it's shit he isn't seeing Bruce. That really pisses me off.
There are people selling tix for face value all over Bruce FB pages. Dare I say it, I'd be willing to contribute to some of your ticket if other people would, but then alas, flights are the problem.The feeling's mutual mate - don't worry about that.
But you know, these things happen for a reason. Or at least that's what I have to believe. Because if these things don't happen for a reason, well... damn.
Cheers for posting that list, btw. I haven't read it in a while. To be honest with you, since I realised I wouldn't be seeing Bruce in concert I've been pretty bummed by the thought of his music, so much so that I haven't wanted to listen to him at all.
But a few things come out of it.
1) There's more than a few typos in my original countdown,
2) In the thread, I'm more open and honest about my life than I've ever been with those close to me
3) 'Drive All Night' is ranked way too low (should've been top ten, easy)
4) I need to listen to some Bruce.
So that can only be a good thing.
DrVanNostrand pjcrows jpkennedy RussellEbertHandball NitroFan Gasometer JuddyBuddy Ford Fairlane The Old Dark Navy's [USER] Black Thunder [/USER]
This is something worth reading when you have the time, the thing that inspired me which has got this thread to span for so long. The Original Countdown made by our own UpForGrabs. His descriptions are perfect and I connect with them. Get to it guys and gal. You won't regret it. Deserves all the plaudits he gets.
http://www.soundopinions.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=23728&st=0
Yes I remember you saying the fam also. No doubt there will be heaps of stuff on YouTube to seeNah - it's all good mate.
No need to go into specifics, but there's more than the money factor keeping me home...
Mine is so crap compared to his lol, his is holy shit out of this world good.Wow, that was riveting. Stopped what I was doing and read the whole thread through. A couple of hours have passed me by. Loved the injection of the personal stories. It strikes me that there is so many good songs in Springsteen's catalogue and it is when and where you hear them that has a bearing on how you rate them. I never understand those that find it sacriligious to not list a song or to list a song that many dismiss. These are not works of art where you analyse the brush strokes. These are tales of life and everybody's life is different.
I tell you what though, I certainly feel embarrassed about my waning commitment to music and the Boss over the last decade or more, after reading that thread. I bow down to a more passionate fan and am in awe of the commitment.
I was planning on doing a top 50 thread of another of my favourite bands, but might have to stall it and do it more justice after reading that effort.
It was the bolded part, about The Big Man. Thankfully, your statement turned out to be wrong. I had no idea what was gonna happen when Clarence died, but I am glad Bruce found a replacement, and there wouldn't have been a more fitting one than Jake. I'm happy that the E-Street Band is still kicking on and while it's never going to the same as it was when Clarence was around, I think Jake's doing a damn fine job.39. The Promised Land
38. Something in the Night
Get them on: Darkness on the Edge of Town (1978)
I’ve been going back over my previous entries and although it seems like I started only a few weeks ago, I actually remembered that this all began before Christmas! Considering it took about two years to finish my Neil Young thread off (which now needs more updating), I think I’m doing not too badly with the progression.
But I noticed a couple of things which I should probably clarify straight away.
1) That I’m not much of a fan of the efforts Clarence Clemons
Completely false. Love the Big Man. His finest moments are yet to come in this countdown where I’ll do my very best to heap just the right amount of praise on him. What I don’t like is something that I don’t necessarily feel is his fault. He plays the saxophone in a band where not every song has the need for a saxophone. He’s also the member of the band who gets the most attention, and I get the hunch that every band member could be replaced and no one would care, but replace the Big Man and shit would go down. Think about that. Max Weinberg is the third drummer the band has had. Roy Bittan’s the 2nd pianist. Danny Federici died and was replaced. Hell, even Steve Van Zandt was allowed to leave for a solo career and Nils Lofgren slotted straight in. Patti Scialfa goes missing for dates at a time on tour and the band is no poorer for it. Only Gary Tallent has remained with Clarence Clemons. But if Clemons left, then the E Street Band would seem hollow.
(I honestly think that the reason Bruce broke up the E Street Band wasn’t necessarily because he wanted to work with other musicians (after all, he dragged Roy Bittan along to the other band), but because he couldn’t figure out how to make the E Street Band continue without Clarence Clemons. If he could find a way for that to work out then he would have done it, no doubt. His music was moving away from the saxophone sound, plain and simple as that.)
I feel sorry for Clemons because he’s much older than the rest of the band and he’s running around (well, not really running these days) on bum knees and replaced hips. He has to play an instrument where a bad note is noticed more than any other on stage and on most of the songs he has to sit there on percussion duties. That and there’s the feeling that there’s a lot of songs out there where his sax solos are there not because the song requires it, but his presence in the band demands it. And that’s not really a great way to look at things. Especially if it’s to the detriment of the songs (I’ve documented a few tunes so far which I feel have been slightly let down by giving Clemons an obligatory solo).
But as I said... love the Big Man.
2) That I don’t really like Darkness on the Edge of Town
Well, this one’s not as clear cut as the last one. The songs on the album are fantastic and there’s still a few to be spoken about, but I’m just not a fan of the sound on the album. In particular Bruce’s voice. It feels unnecessarily pompous at times. But it’s still a great album. How many albums are out there like that - where you can name what you feel is a pretty damn big flaw, but that the album is still great. It’s like saying The Godfather Part III is a great film (it’s not) even though you can’t get past the glaring monstrosity that it Sofia Coppola. Now I’m not saying that Brue’s vocals on Darkness are a monstrosity, they’re not at all. But there’s a few times where I think he’s giving a bit too much and not necessarily trying to sing naturally. But never mind, I still listen to the album often and enjoy it each time... it’s just not I’m not going to ever say that I prefer it to The Wild, the Innocent & the E Street Shuffle or Born to Run or The River. But that doesn’t mean to be a slight on the album.
But what about ‘The Promised Land’ and ‘Something in the Night’? Two gems.
Has anyone ever had as great a knack as Bruce Springsteen of being able to write the darkest freakin’ lyrics while adding them to music that will make 100,000 strangers sing along and pump their fists at the same time? I mean, take ‘Glory Days’ for example. He’s singing a song hating on people who spend their time looking back but does so in a way that seems (if you were a casual listener) as though he was glorifying them. He does it so often. ‘The Promised Land’ is just the same. It’s a raging sing along song, yet when you’re singing along you don’t necessarily realise that this is what you’re singing along to:
“Sometimes I feel so weak I just want to explode
Explode and tear this whole town apart
Take a knife and cut this pain from my heart
Find somebody itching for something to start”
Yeah! Pump those fists!! Raise them up high!! You want to kill yourself or someone else!!
Haha, love it. How can anyone say the guy isn’t a great songwriter?
‘Something in the Night’, on the other hand, is like a cheesy soundtrack highlight from a terrible early 80s film. And I mean that in a good way, trust me.
It’s a frustrating song and my frustrations in it really highlight my frustrations with Darkness on the Edge of Town. My problem is that I find it so enjoyable while at the same time finding it remarkably flawed. It tries far too hard, spends too long avoiding the sections of the song which make it great.
Despite those flaws I can’t think badly of it. It’s like that friend who grew up with you. You were the good, clean kid, while he was the dirtbag. Even though you knew he may have been trouble you still wouldn’t ever entertain the thought of him not being a close friend. That’s how I feel about this flawed song. Flawed but still great.
The best bit from ‘The Promised Land’: The crash of the cymbals on each word every time Bruce sings “no I’m a man”
The best ‘Something in the Night’ bit: At the start, the band has been building up and building up, and Bruce’s wordless moan reaches its peak. The band picks up, and then at about the 1:06 mark, Bruce notches it up and the band kicks right into gear with Gary Tallent’s bass rumbling in your ears.