Bryce Gibbs and his personal issues

His old man absolutely hates Port through the SANFL old days. Salary cap or not, he wouldnt ever play for the club. Plus we've got Aaron Young. Only enough space for 1 man bun in the salary cap.
His old man hate Port more than Cornes snr?

Would have no bearing on it whatsoever.

He signed a long term deal and I'm glad he was held to it. First thing I've liked about Carlton since - well ever. Well done Blues!

Mark Bickley tonight said a couple of things:
1) that Adelaide offered him a 5 year contract.
2) That as his former manager, Justin Reid knew full details of his Carlton contract and the fact it was heavily front loaded.

Why would Adelaide have to offer him a long term contract if he approached them for "personal" reasons when he still had 3 years to run on his existing contract and all they needed to do to match it.

Its highly likely that Reid and his former client were looking at making a move and thought they could get one over Carlton.

Damn your avatar Malibu, how many years has that bug been crawling around for now?

Anyhoo, Tredders' comments on MMM this arvo (paraphrased below) back up your spiel.

Stated that...
the Crows tried to stitch Carlton thinking they'd roll over but in the end shot themselves in the foot...consider they had $700k ready to go at a moment's notice...that they weren't interested in re-signing other midfielders Henderson or Lyons...that they had no other trade strategy...Crows have been after Gibbs since he was drafted...Carlton were apparently 'blindsided' but not surprised, hence the hard line - you want him, pay our price, not yours.

heard gibbs really tried running back to adelaide over money. apparently he was on big coin in the first two years of his 5 year deal and now he is on the average part he thought he could use home sickness and run back to the crows and get a boost to his income and play for a contender. as much as i hate carlton pretty shitty thing to do from gibbs they have looked after him well and he hasn't repaid that faith imo

Gibbs should now just put his head down and give Blues three solid years, because he has come out looking very poor. Just a money/finals grab, nothing more. About time clubs told players a contract is a contract. And for the Crows to only offer pick 13 and Kelly...wow! Reid should just quietly step aside.

Given that Gibbs signed his current contract prior to having the kid things change massively once you become parents, especially first time parents.

Carlton are dogs IMO. Pick 13 + Lyons was a decent offer.
"Carlton are dogs". Yeah, thanks for the laugh. Should we have just bent over and copped it from the Crows, purely because we don't want to hurt Gibbs' feelings?

I'm sure when Judd wanted out you were just worried about getting any kind of deal done, so he could feel okay, weren't you?

He's the one who signed the contract with us, made plenty of comment about being thrilled to be at Carlton long-term and then basically blindsided Carlton this year with his demand. This was nothing more than the Crows finally being in a decent situation, having some coin to throw at Gibbs and then getting in his ear about seeing his family and all that. It didn't suit him to leave the club two years ago, but it did now.

If anyone is a dog in this situation, it's Adelaide. They got in his ear, convinced him they could get a deal done, and then he requested a trade as a result, and now is left in a very strange situation because they didn't want to give Carlton what they wanted.

Carlton may have been asking for two firsts, but that isn't a ridiculous amount, particularly if Gibbs goes over there, improves their midfield and they're a top 4 side next year (not unrealistic at all). It might be slight overs, but I can't blame SOS here in this situation. Carlton has lost enough good players recently, without letting another club walk allover us and take one more.

As for the kid comment, what complete bullshit. He got married while living in Melbourne, spent a good while renovating a house for a family in Melbourne, so it would have been discussed plenty that kids were on the cards. Sure, the reality might have set in once a baby actually came that it's tough on the family being far away, but that certainly doesn't make Carlton the bad guys here.

Gibbs probably only has 4-5 years left. If it troubles him and his wife so much not seeing family I'm sure he can make some sort of arrangement to cope in the meantime.

I bet the people who are having a go at the bloke for wanting to come back home are some of the softest people IRL. I'd love for you to say that to his face and watch your teeth get knocked out.

So because I'm an Adelaide supporter the people I referred to must have been linked to Adelaide? If you'd read anything being reported on the AFL website it was mentioned over and over that many believed our offer to be reasonable.

Not everyone is so one-eyed, try it sometime.
the crows got a fair deal for dangerfield

Players on front loaded contracts should be made to repay if they leave mid contract the difference betwenn what they have been paid and what their average contracted salary is.

Or the destination club has to wear that nonomal difference as part of their salary cap expenditure.

Attempting to walk mid contract after you have already banked a sigbnifiant proportion of the contacted salary is poor form.

I bet the people who are having a go at the bloke for wanting to come back home are some of the softest people IRL. I'd love for you to say that to his face and watch your teeth get knocked out.
It's the fact he wanted out when the lucrative part of his contract finished

This says it all!
Great post

That's the point that a lot are missing in regards to Carlton wanting the two picks.

Carlton did not want to lose Gibbs and really had no intention of trading him as it was going to really weaken an already weak midfield.

The only way they would consider trading him was if they got a 'godfather' offer - hence the almost ambit claim of two first round picks or first round pick and gun player.

It's like the tradie who quotes on a job he doesn't really want - he just maxes out his price and waits to see if you accept it.

I'm guessing you don't have kids? Because if you did, and were actually a decent parent, you would realize how important family support can be.
He could always retire from footy and find a job requiring less commitment which would give him more time at home supporting his wife and child.

Sure his salary may take a hit, but it's no different to the choice many parents make to have more quality time with family.

Those players on big contracts at Port I assume would be Gray, Boak, Wines, Wingard, Ryder, Dixon. They wouldn't trade one of those players for Gibbs.

Hatlett on huge money too, Theres quite a few overpaid players at Port, hence why they couldnt get involved in any player trades. To trade them theýd probably need to pay some of their wages, which defeats the purpose of freeing up cap.

I cant imagine there was any way imaginable they could have landed Gibbs. Even if he was uncontracted!

Carlton's request was fair. I have no idea why Adelaide would would be pissed at them because they didn't take less for a player that is contracted to them for three more years. If anything, Carlton should be pissed at Adelaide.

Bryce Gibbs and his personal issues