Bye Bye Nobles

Man, I would really like to know what you see in Noble that others are apparently missing. Even if he's not entirely hopeless and it turns out he's an average coach it's still not what we need right now.

The supposed 'defensive first' gameplan that you have been banging on about is simply not working and is destroying our players. If you want to argue that the intention is to teach players to defend by allowing the opposition 70+ inside 50's a game and never getting the ball in our own forward 50 then fine, but I would be absolutely shocked if that is Noble's plan.

Watch the press conference, mentioned it again.

But even despite that, wtf kind of organisation are we? Start a 4 week review and stop it 5 days in because of a big loss to sack the coach? Why exactly? What exactly is different about this loss compared to the previous 10? Another 40 points? Too much external pressure? WEAK and I hope the media give them absolute hell for it if that's what happens.

What about the players and leadership groups feeling towards the gameplan and coach? And everyone else's views for that matter.

What about actually conducting a thorough review and gaining a holistic perspective, then making informed choices that are not reactionary and will actually take us forward.

My theory for a long time has been that we've wanted elite players but can't land them with the draft picks we get so every year we go the route of grabbing one or two that have the potential but have had severe injuries worsen their draft ranking.
From memory, Simpkin was one of those injured in his draft year and slipped to us. Might have been one of the only times it has worked.

We've selected in the top few picks now every year since LDU's draft so there's no need to do it anymore.

We came out of the 2018 AFL Draft after having Pick 8 and Pick 30 which ended up in Comben, Perez, and Mahony. On current history, Comben will be our next Garner / Will Walker, Perez looks like he will be reasonable, and Mahony is really just a hard worker with nothing elite. We also gave up extra for a 3rd pick in the 2018 draft to Hawthorn and we got Powell the following year but if we take away all the wheeling and dealing we should have come away with an elite talent who would be at 50+ games now and a decent role player also at 50+ games.

A different note, but the list build age demographic (as an example), I like Lazaro as a player but trading him for Higgins is a net negative for me. As in the value of on-field education from a senior head is worth more to our current group than just another kid on the list. I know Higgins wanted to go, which is why it's an example only, but this is how to build a running around like chooks with your head cut off list on field.

But even despite that, wtf kind of organisation are we? Start a 4 week review and stop it 5 days in because of a big loss to sack the coach? Why exactly? What exactly is different about this loss compared to the previous 10? Another 40 points? Too much external pressure? WEAK and I hope the media give them absolute hell for it if that's what happens.

What about the players and leadership groups feeling towards the gameplan and coach? And everyone else's views for that matter.

What about actually conducting a thorough review and gaining a holistic perspective, then making informed choices that are not reactionary and will actually take us forward.

So you see nothing in Noble, but you just want to get the process right?

Theres been a consistent thread on narrowing the gameplan to focus on defence because in the first few rounds the players couldn't bring it all together. Now we have been only focusing on defence at the expense of offense, and that has been clearly communicated by David Noble in his press conferences, which nobody seems to watch, and it was mentioned again post Geelong. That everyone seems/wants to ignore that is not my problem.

Now, if you conduct a review and everyone in the club is saying it's a sh** gameplan and I can't work with the coach, fine, sack him!

But if the result of the review is that people are on board with that gameplan but there are teething issues, people can work with the coach, they think there other problems at play, then we should not sack the coach. And if there are actors on the board who are going to bow to anything but that, I think it is complete BS and will likely set us back years, and I will never trust this board again.

I would argue that using Cal T’s mock draft as your recruitment list would be better than what Luff did.

We have a ton of faults at the moment but the no.1 is what list management have done in the last couple of years.
It’s been a huge problem in the past and it’s now even a bigger problem!

A non negotiable for success as we know too well is recruitment and we have a vacant lot!

What a freaking task trying to get A grade performing professionals to leave a successful club and come to ours to fill that role.

Getting Clarko would be our only hope getting decent people to jump ship.

Theres been a consistent thread on narrowing the gameplan to focus on defence because in the first few rounds the players couldn't bring it all together. Now we have been only focusing on defence at the expense of offense, and that has been clearly communicated by David Noble in his press conferences, which nobody seems to watch, and it was mentioned again post Geelong. That everyone seems/wants to ignore that is not my problem.

Now, if you conduct a review and everyone in the club is saying it's a sh** gameplan and I can't work with the coach, fine, sack him!

But if the result of the review is that people are on board with that gameplan but there are teething issues, people can work with the coach, they think there other problems at play, then we should not sack the coach. And if there are actors on the board who are going to bow to anything but that, I think it is complete BS and will likely set us back years, and I will never trust this board again.
One of my biggest concerns is that even though we've been focusing on defence all year it's seen no noticeable improvement.

On SM-G781B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Out of the 4 mentioned only Clarkson would be best...Buckley doesn't want to coach and has stated it, Simmo l dont think could do much as like C. Scott he was handed a pretty good team to start with and l Cameron had all those years with a quality side but couldn't get the job done when he should have....

I personally can't see any changes happening right now, not until the Walsh report is submitted to the board and until they have had time digest it. I have no intel except for coffee shop chat but I would think there will be a significant restructure for sure.

I reckon it is possible that some folks may walk early if they find out that they won't be part of the future, the transition period will need to be carefully managed.

And how do you reckon this defensive focus has developed over the past three months?

One of my biggest concerns is that even though we've been focusing on defence all year it's seen no noticeable improvement.

On SM-G781B using BigFooty.com mobile app
A defensive gameplan that focuses on moving the ball slowly and ensure that we continually kick down the line to contests is not a defensive game plan it’s just a shit one. All it does is means that despite parity with contested possessions regularly that we let opposition teams zone up and even when we do get through the zone it’s a long aimless kick to a contest/more often than not outnumbered in our forward half. It’s just horrendous. And when we do lose the ball the opposition always can efforlessly move the ball through the middle or switch it they have to. Just comically bad how stagnant and slow we are moving it yet how unprepared we are when we lose it.

We only look dangerous from centre bounces because teams can’t zone up and our long aimless kicking is to an even contest/one opportunity for our forwards to actually do something.

The club is beyond a joke. Noble is hopelessly out of his depth (as is Rawlings). But agree with others that the bigger issue is those who have made a litany of bad decisions to get us to where we are.

And how do you reckon this defensive focus has developed over the past three months?

I don't disagree with your point there Mastermind but there has been some improvement, particularly in the few weeks before the bye in our defensive method and that is still present.

At the moment we are really struggling to bring the ball out of defence with good method and turnovers are leading to just an avalanche of i50s. The defensive system when we are actually not caught out on these turnovers I think looks reasonable.

Interestingly I thought under the same coach last year we were pretty good moving the ball out of defence but the way we played looks like polar opposites.

I'm not a coach I don't work in footy at all but the devil will be in the detail. Conduct the review and go from there.

A defensive gameplan that focuses on moving the ball slowly and ensure that we continually kick down the line to contests is not a defensive game plan it’s just a s**t one. All it does is means that despite parity with contested possessions regularly that we let opposition teams zone up and even when we do get through the zone it’s a long aimless kick to a contest/more often than not outnumbered in our forward half. It’s just horrendous. And when we do lose the ball the opposition always can efforlessly move the ball through the middle or switch it they have to. Just comically bad how stagnant and slow we are moving it yet how unprepared we are when we lose it.

We only look dangerous from centre bounces because teams can’t zone up and our long aimless kicking is to an even contest/one opportunity for our forwards to actually do something.

The club is beyond a joke. Noble is hopelessly out of his depth (as is Rawlings). But agree with others that the bigger issue is those who have made a litany of bad decisions to get us to where we are.

We hardly kicked down the line last night

We didn’t? The slow ball movement from kick ins and out of defence hasn’t changed. All it does is invites pressure and is the major reason we always have such a disparity with the opposition for inside 50s. We are set up in a way that it makes it very, very easy for opposition teams to get repetitive inside 50s until they eventually kick a goal.

Our contested work even without Cunnington is fine but with nothing forward of the ball and obvious structural deficiencies it counts for nothing.

Fans could handle if we were more daring, quick and precise out of defence (picking our better kicks on half back would be a start) and i’m near certain it would look better on the scoreboard as well.

Yeah it looks shit.

I was thinking that the review should include all aspects of Football department. It should continue with a full report of all areas we need to improve. If the coaches position is untenable in the meantime and he is pushed out the review continues. The findings should still be useful / utilised. Unless we expect all our processes to change should we decide to turf him. But maybe the sudden won’t allow Walsh to get a sense of our day to day ops.

We’re desperate for a bit of change. Nobes won’t last. We may need this spark to salvage something out of the remainder of the year before we run out of rounds.

We’re working with a number of bad choices really.

Yeah it looks s**t.

I was thinking that the review should include all aspects of Football department. It should continue with a full report of all areas we need to improve. If the coaches position is untenable in the meantime and he is pushed out the review continues. The findings should still be useful / utilised. Unless we expect all our processes to change should we decide to turf him. But maybe the sudden won’t allow Walsh to get a sense of our day to day ops.

We’re desperate for a bit of change. Nobes won’t last. We may need this spark to salvage something out of the remainder of the year before we run out of rounds.

We’re working with a number of bad choices really.

Interim coaches just get the blokes to play unaccountable footy without a long term view to the gameplan.

Do not want for the sake of everyone's good feels and backslapping.

If Noble is trying to implement a defensive structure that holds up well enough, then it's not being executed well at all because we are still getting slaughtered on the turnover.

The thing is, I reckon we need to balance how we are playing. If we are flooding the 50 then trying to slingshot, a simple mechanism would be to push those extra numbers forward ahead of the ball carrier so we effectively don't have to rush the kick and we can open up the ground.

We are kicking to small forwards like they are 200cm. The style is just not there.

We are worrying so much about our man and can't make opposition accountable.

Our only gettable shots at goal at the moment are 1v1s where we are betting on the chance we win the ball or free kick. That's not how we should be playing. We need to guarantee Larkey will get a lead up kick 30 out or a play that will repeatedly hurt opposition structures.

We're also not utilising our talent effectively. There's just so many things wrong.

Interim coaches just get the blokes to play unaccountable footy without a long term view to the gameplan.

Do not want for the sake of everyone's good feels and backslapping.
We don’t have a game plan anyway .

Copy of my opinion as relevant to both threads.

Ok.

Noble is gone.

But it wasn't necessarily all his fault.

Yes sure Noble is *en useless, as we should be much better than this, but his dismissal is only one part imo.

I'm not against Rawlings getting axed also to be honest.

We need change, I have no trust anymore in our decisions but we must do something and now.

We don’t have a game plan anyway .
I saw a shitty gameplan last night.

Get ball, turn it over until oppo gets goal. Rinse and repeat.

70 points off turnover is diabolical.
74/25 inside 50s is pure garbage.
Belted in uncontested ball week in, week out.

We are a flipping rabble and how anyone here is in defence of Nobles is astounding.

On SM-G991B using BigFooty.com mobile app

I saw a shitty gameplan last night.

Get ball, turn it over until oppo gets goal. Rinse and repeat.

70 points off turnover is diabolical.
74/25 inside 50s is pure garbage.
Belted in uncontested ball week in, week out.

We are a f*n rabble and how anyone here is in defence of Nobles is astounding.

On SM-G991B using BigFooty.com mobile app
He should’ve been shown the door months ago .

Maybe I'm speaking as a supporter instead of a coach - I have lots of experience as one and none as the other. What I know about our current game plan/ focus is the following

1. It guarantees around 7-8 goals a game
2. It guarantees we lose
3. It's boring to watch
4. The players look like they hate football.

All the players have enough talent to get this far. Just let them show it. Nothing to be gained for the year. Show some flair, have some fun. Try throw some punches (figuratively). Teach them to enjoy playing footy again instead of some unsustainable, ineffective structure. If we're going to lose, go down swinging and reset with something that gives us a chance in the off-season.

Probably just the supporter talking.

Maybe I'm speaking as a supporter instead of a coach - I have lots of experience as one and none as the other. What I know about our current game plan/ focus is the following

1. It guarantees around 7-8 goals a game
2. It guarantees we lose
3. It's boring to watch
4. The players look like they hate football.

All the players have enough talent to get this far. Just let them show it. Nothing to be gained for the year. Show some flair, have some fun. Try throw some punches (figuratively). Teach them to enjoy playing footy again instead of some unsustainable, ineffective structure. If we're going to lose, go down swinging and reset with something that gives us a chance in the off-season.

Probably just the supporter taking.
Cunnington is a big key contributor to nobles game plan. As he would be in anyones design. Unfortunately there isnt anyone on the list that is capable of delivering what Cunners can do. The vision to create spread and break the pressure line by either a hand ball or by fending the opposition 6 feet into the ground.

The fact he isn’t able to use the team at his disposal to come up with something else is most concerning. This is why I have turned on the bloke. I gave him a shot. I’d do better with that team with a basic zone structure then an exit plan. He is attempting to play 1 v 1 footy. You are doomed from the get go if thats your power move. Its not just him its the entire coaching panel. ****ing nuffies the lot of em.