- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Geelong
- Other Teams
- Geelong reserves,Falcons,
Can't get the ball is hi biggest defiance and his opponent gets its too often

LIVE: Adelaide v Geelong - Rd 13 - 7:00PM Thu
Squiggle tips Cats at 57% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists » -- All Rd 13 Games
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 13
The Golden Ticket - Corporate tickets, functions, Open Air Boxes at the Adelaide Oval, ENGIE, Gabba, MCG, Marvel, Optus & People First Stadiums. Corporate Suites at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.

Hi. Just new here.
Saw him play a game last year against Essendon and thought he was outstanding, was tough,attacking the ball really hard and breaking through tackles/packs disposing really well under pressure. Based on that game I knew he was going to be a really good player. Since then I think he has been solid. Would love to see him in more of a Lingy role cause he reminds me a bit of how he plays or maybe cause he's got a bit of weird head bit like Ling
Cheers mate. Strange head/hairstyle usually = good Geelong playerWelcome Spazz....
Good first post....lol'd at the weird head line.....
Keep posting!![]()
What do you mean by this? Are we talking about how often he gets the footy, how good/bad he is at shutting opponents down, or what?
He only averages 13 disposals a game, but when most of those are effective, as is the case with Guthrie, that figure is almost worth 26 disposals. I see a player who attacks the footy hard and who has a cool head on his shoulders.
As for his opponents, they're always going to get a lot of the footy, especially since he's on a learning curve as a young player. On occasion he's actually applied some good pressure to his direct opponents, and the more he matures and his confidence grows the more that will occur.
As is the case with our other young players, the people who expected the world of Guthrie were always going to be the only ones disappointed in his efforts. There will be some turds here and there among the gems, but most good players started out like this. It'd be nice if some people could have a little patience.
Long way to go but still think JHunt slightly ahead of Guthrie.
Look at how tight spots will be come finals if we get back injured players. Cannot see room for both unless we still have a few injuries.
Liked Corey's game against GWS - and for he last 3 weeks. Reckon he is ahead of GHS and Caddie.
The team come finals may not have too many new faces.
Possible players could include HMac, Blitz, Caddie, GHS, Rivers and Smedts. No way more than 3 of these will be in the team unless we have injury concerns.
Long way to go but still think JHunt slightly ahead of Guthrie.
Look at how tight spots will be come finals if we get back injured players. Cannot see room for both unless we still have a few injuries.
Liked Corey's game against GWS - and for he last 3 weeks. Reckon he is ahead of GHS and Caddie.
The team come finals may not have too many new faces.
Possible players could include HMac, Blitz, Caddie, GHS, Rivers and Smedts. No way more than 3 of these will be in the team unless we have injury concerns.
Thought he was really good early, has great hands and a good contested mark for his size.
Butchered what should have been a certain goal with a poor pass to Mackie.
Yes he has all the tools to be a good player but I think he is either low on confidence or being badly coached at the moment. Everyone says he is doing his role, if that is the case he has a strange role in the team, keep their third best small forward quiet and not touch the ball himself.
He is going to be a good player but if Smedts and Caddy can be dropped so can he.
Someone in good form, because they kept Walters to 2 marks.Who played on Walters he kicked 3
Who played on Walters he kicked 3
Thought he was really good early, has great hands and a good contested mark for his size.
Butchered what should have been a certain goal with a poor pass to Mackie.
Guthrie and J.Hunt split time on him, mostly.
First: Hunt high contact free + 50m penalty.
Second: A good team goal which started from the half back line, with Walters getting on the end of it. Pretty sure Guthrie wasn't even on the ground; Kelly and Caddy were the closest players to him and Guthrie is nowhere to be seen.
Third: Fremantle clearance with 30 seconds to go. Bartel was responsible for Walters at the time. The reason Walters was in the clear was because Bartel went to challenge Pearce. Guthrie is clearly on Mayne at that stage.
Even the most adament Guthrie-denier would be flat out trying to attribute even the slightest bit of blame to Guthrie for any of those goals. And even if he'd been responsible for all of them, it's the ninth time Walters has kicked 3+ in his last 20 games. He's a class player and getting three kicked on you by him isn't the end of the world.