Can Hawthorn succeed while ignoring the elite end of the draft?

stfan

The Fan in Waiting
Mar 12, 2008
Melb
If you think that was true, then it is clearly you who have no idea. Read our trading board. It wasn't daydreaming, it was a freakin nightmare. Very few thought chasing Carlisle after saints started shopping around the idea he was tradable was a good idea. Convicted drug cheat. Stupid enough to get caught doing lines (yes, all clubs have recreational drug users, but most of them are smart enough to keep it out of public view). Good player when fit, but question marks about his body now.

Yes you trading board is comedy gold. Why would anyone want to take that thread as factual. Just look at how quick Amon went from being a Hawk till not on it. The thread is a wishful thinking thread. No more, no less. As a source of facts..haha

I mean look at how Nash played everyone. on Cogs. There was a very similar poster on the StKilda Board last trade season. Same MO of tell people what they want to hear and they lap it up. Quite possibly the same guy with a different nic. Even funnier now how the mod other there now is telling the ITK's to not actually most things as posting in the thread will cost them trades. Seems to actually think it cost them Cogs. Twilight Zone!

The Carlisle "medical" was someone's mate he knew at St Kilda ;)

hk89

Jul 12, 2009
Yes you trading board is comedy gold. Why would anyone want to take that thread as factual. Just look at how quick Amon went from being a Hawk till not on it. The thread is a wishful thinking thread. No more, no less. As a source of facts..haha

Congratulations on stating the obvious. Every club's trading thread is an opinions thread with a giant dose of wishful thinking. The common opinion on our trading thread was that Carlisle was likely a s**t bloke, and had also been well and truly saintkilded, with the conclusion that we would have been crazy to go anywhere near him. Given Saints were apparently putting him up as a potential trade, it seems your own club had reached the same conclusion. Seems without any takers they are likely stuck with him now.

The melts on here when Hawthorn get both Maguinness (rated top 15 in this years draft) and Downie (rated top 5 in 2020 draft) both for FREE is going to be epic.

Get ready for some fireworks!

stfan

The Fan in Waiting
Mar 12, 2008
Melb
Given Saints were apparently putting him up as a potential trade

Lol. Virtually every St Kilda player at present is up for trade if the price is right. Not sure why you think Carlisle is somehow unusual in this?

There are probably only about six players that they would not trade.

Some that would be traded for very good deals.
Some for good to ok deals.
Some for cheap.

Carlisle was never in the cheap or ok categories. Funny that some thought that a pick in the fifties would gain him.

stfan

The Fan in Waiting
Mar 12, 2008
Melb
The melts on here when Hawthorn get both Maguinness (rated top 15 in this years draft) and Downie (rated top 5 in 2020 draft) both for FREE is going to be epic.

For Free? I thought they were F/S and Academy. If so, both will most likely be bid on by other clubs, and the Hawks then have to then use up the appropriate picks (points) if they decide to match.

How is it now free?

TonaldDrump

Nov 30, 2016

Get ready for some fireworks!
The melts on here? When that happens it will be the same 5 hawks nuffies bragging about they acquired "young talent" and how their list is in "premiership contention". Which is exactly what the 289 of these pages consist of.

Mar 2, 2015

I mean look at how Nash played everyone. on Cogs. There was a very similar poster on the StKilda Board last trade season. Same MO of tell people what they want to hear and they lap it up. Quite possibly the same guy with a different nic. Even funnier now how the mod other there now is telling the ITK's to not actually most things as posting in the read will cost them trades. Seems to actually think it cost them Cogs. Twilight Zone!

The Carlisle "medical" was someone's mate he knew at St Kilda ;)
ITK's... 😆 Every club board has a couple

My favourite ITK poster was that Essendon flog, Fogdog who acted like a sedative to all the Bombers fans during the doping scandal

hk89

Jul 12, 2009
Lol. Virtually every St Kilda player at present is up for trade if the price is right. Not sure why you think Carlisle is somehow unusual in this?

I didn't say he was unusual, simply that getting him was seen as a nightmare from most Hawthorn fans' point of views.

Funny that some thought that a pick in the fifties would gain him.

I wouldn't be happy giving up any late pick for him. Especially with our hit rate on turning late picks into decent players. He was coming back from injury, so he has some excuses, but statistically his 2019 games were probably his worst since his debut year at Essendon. Anyone taking him on would have been taking a huge gamble that he'd be getting back to his best.

hk89

Jul 12, 2009
The melts on here? When that happens it will be the same 5 hawks nuffies bragging about they acquired "young talent" and how their list is in "premiership contention". Which is exactly what the 289 of these pages consist of.

Really, is that what you see? I see the same 5 bombers nuffies and a few other assorted misfits lobbing in here to have a bit of a troll at Hawthorn's expense to deflect from their own team's inadequacies. What are you doing here? Oh, that's right , Essendon humiliated in another elimination final, 'To the "can Hawthorn succeed.." thread', ....so predictable.

15 years and counting.

TallyHawk

Jun 12, 2010
Bunbartha
Manchester City FC
LOL you clearly have no idea.

Clearly this is just another fantasy trade balloon that has been pricked. There are way too many Hawk fans who populate this thread, and BigFooty in general, who when any trade target is mentioned that they automatically take the stance that he will want to walk to the Hawks for well unders.

There was no due diligence on Carlisle. The visit never happened. Carlisle to Hawks was just part of the many phantom deals that many Hawk fans have imagined this year. The HFC may well have enquired though as all clues are out for what they can get, and rightly so. If the Hawks made a lowball offer on Carlisle, then it would just have been rejected. The Saints also do not have a salary cap problem where we need to offload salary. Indeed the problem the club has is spending the required minimum TPP and this is why the club can pay overs to Hill.

Carlisle was flagged as a possible trade if a club was willing to pay enough trade wise. The Saints have flagged that many players are available this year IF the deal is right as the Club want to re-balance the list. That is IF. The Club is open to offers, but not in gifting away players.

Hawk Fans were daydreaming about Carlisle joining for a pick in the 50's. Cogs joining for free (would always have had to have been a trade if he had of nominated the Hawks ) etc etc. There is this huge denial fantasy going on where we constantly see posts of good players joining the Hawks this trade period for bugga all just to play under Clarko. It is not happening.

Dogs want Bruce (Bevo must see a bullocking CHF as their missing link) and if the trade price is right they will gain him. Dogs are evidently reported to be willing to pay decent coin to Bruce, and a large trade price for Bruce.

Saints already have heaps of salary cap space to pay Hill, and most likely use of pick 5 as part of the trade will be used to acquire him. If Bruce goes his trade value gained will used be for a different player.

I am not naive enough to think that all the players linked to the Saints will join as a large part of it is just the Saints, player mangers and the other clubs testing values and deals. Often this is just to help the player manager to jack up the salary of the player at his current club. Steven, for obvious reasons, is the only St Kilda player that may go for unders, though Saints may pay part of his salary to increase the Cats offer. Most will go for what they are worth. Bruce may go for a bit overs as Dogs are keen.

Degenerative disc issue mate means we are not interested, you guys are stuck with managing him and his salary.

stfan

The Fan in Waiting
Mar 12, 2008
Melb
It's on the record about his disc surgery and his battle to even train, the discs continue to falter and you end up requiring spinal fusion.

Geeze amazing what you can tell from whispers. He had surgery to relieve pressure on a nerve in his lower back caused by a disc protrusion. DR TallyHawk is now ramping that up to full blown spinal fusion. No x-rays or scans, just a diagnosis based on rumours.

Yes he missed pre-season and had surgery. Throughout that period he was on restricted training, then after surgery ramped it up to full training and then playing. You do realise that he played the last 10 games straight? His intercept marking in the Freo game was the difference between winning and losing.
But clearly no player can not have full training for half a year and then play at their best against opponents who are all 100% match conditioned.

You do realise that the Saints did pick him and allow him to play the 8 games required for his trigger clause? If his back was actually stuffed they just would not have selected him.

TallyHawk

Jun 12, 2010
Bunbartha
Manchester City FC
Geeze amazing what you can tell from whispers. He had surgery to relieve pressure on a nerve in his lower back caused by a disc protrusion. DR TallyHawk is now ramping that up to full blown spinal fusion. No x-rays or scans, just a diagnosis based on rumours.

Yes he missed pre-season and had surgery. Throughout that period he was on restricted training, then after surgery ramped it up to full training and then playing. You do realise that he played the last 10 games straight? His intercept marking in the Freo game was the difference between winning and losing.
But clearly no player can not have full training for half a year and then play at their best against opponents who are all 100% match conditioned.

You do realise that the Saints did pick him and allow him to play the 8 games required for his trigger clause? If his back was actually stuffed they just would not have selected him.

I'm not going to pretend to understand how StKilda run their footy club, allowing him to limp to the trigger clause is baffling.

I did sit down with one of your biggest financial backers last year at the blue ribbon Presidents Dinner, tried to tell him Hanners was a mistake but he was adamant Hanners wasn't cooked.

Hopefully Ratten and Rough can have an influence on your Club because it is amateur hour there sometimes.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

stfan

The Fan in Waiting
Mar 12, 2008
Melb
I did sit down with one of your biggest financial backers last year at the blue ribbon Presidents Dinner, tried to tell him Hanners was a mistake but he was adamant Hanners wasn't cooked.

OMG. So you sat at a table at a match day function, and annoyed the s**t out of some poor bastard that was unlucky enough to be on the same table. Geeze you must a definite ITK then. I mean a person attending a match day function is such a rare beast. :rolleyes:

That you think this some how increases your credibility is quite funny.

TallyHawk

Jun 12, 2010
Bunbartha
Manchester City FC
OMG. So you sat at a table at a match day function, and annoyed the s**t out of some poor bastard that was unlucky enough to be on the same table. Geeze you must a definite ITK then. I mean a person attending a match day function is such a rare beast. :rolleyes:

That you think this in some how increases your credibility is quite funny.

I was a guest and we do business together anyway it appears you will keep sticking your head in the sand.

I hope you guys can one day salute again I really do. The missus was Saints fanatic now she can’t watch them, such a shame.

Reality suggests you won’t get either

Why? Maguinness is a F/S and no club has access to him unless Hawthorn pass on him which they won’t. Downie is a next generation academy prospect who’s tied to the Hawks.

hk89

Jul 12, 2009
Why? Maguinness is a F/S and no club has access to him unless Hawthorn pass on him which they won’t. Downie is a next generation academy prospect who’s tied to the Hawks.

Poor Gavin's sense of reality has been shaken after Friday night. Just because we passed on Mosquito, preferring other options, doesn't mean we'll let Maguinness and Downie go. Hypnotised by Dodoro's fist pump perhaps?