Universal Love Can We....

Based on who we have beaten I think we have improved to the bottom part of the top 8 team. Between 5 to 8. If we win most of our games in the next month then we are a top 4 side. So let’s not get too carried away.

well it is because everyone has lost to someone which would imply no one makes the 8. we don't know who the good teams are yet.
I didn't even address that part of the argument becuase it wasridiculous. I was referring to the can only beat who you play part.

And whilst we don't have the full picture we have a fair idea on who the good teams are.

I'm not sure seasons can be built on those types of games. Melbourne flogged Adelaide at home last year as well and look at how they ended up.

I think the games our season will be built on are only just coming up.
Or more simply seasons are built on 22 games.

Collect wins and move to next game

I didn't even address that part of the argument becuase it wasridiculous. I was referring to the can only beat who you play part.

And whilst we don't have the full picture we have a fair idea on who the good teams are.

Collingwood :D

Port Adelaide

Used to be Adelaide and Melbourne but we smacked them senseless

I hope you are, given the recent resigning of JDG I believe he has not peaked this year and we will see more from him, getting Elliott back should help. I think Moore holds some real upside if we can get some continuity into him.

I don’t think it’ll be our top players who will determine our fate. Every club has those - Cripps and Curnow are damn fine players yet Carlton are languishing on the bottom of the ladder.

What has determined our fate until now is playing a rookie backman in the forward line and somehow pulling it off. Having a first year player kick 24 goals in 14 games. Having a fringe player who spent two years out of the game and now doing very well in the forward line.

Gee we’ve been very lucky in regard to players with low expectations coming and playing their role. We haven’t seen anything like that kind of luck in recent years. And we’re going to need even more of it if we’re to do well from here.

Based on who we have beaten I think we have improved to the bottom part of the top 8 team. Between 5 to 8. If we win most of our games in the next month then we are a top 4 side. So let’s not get too carried away.
Quite a few FW's phoning through on SEN today bagging us on the fact that we are overrated and have beaten nobody.....It's some of the media gooses out their that state things like we are Richmonds #1 challenger and so on.....Pies and us fans have remained quite subdued as to where we are at. We know we have improved and are playing a really exciting brand of footy with some fantastic kids coming through this year. The next 4-6 weeks will prove where we truly sit in the pecking order....Screw you DH knockers.

I thought we were a good outside chance to win it until Dunn went down and Treloar was confirmed as 8 to 10. I think that's cruelled us, just too many injuries now.

Let’s just hope that online pessimism is resisted by the playing group.

Suggest we at BF are not employed in the motivation industry.

Let’s just hope that online pessimism is resisted by the playing group.

Suggest we at BF are not employed in the motivation industry.

Fair assumption that when the selection committee are sitting down amongst themselves that they won’t be saying “Hey, no worries, we’ll just sub in Jack Madgen for Lynden Dunn and as long as we stay optimistic we’ll be fine!”

Of course if a Collingwood player PM’s you on BigFooty with “Hey Saintly Viewed, I’m really worried, how do you reckon we’ll do?”, most folks here would offer strong words of encouragement.

It depends on your point of view ... do you see yourself as having skin in the game, that your attitude has some impact on the result? Or do you see that what you post here is has no bearing on the outcome and you’re free to be brutally candid with your opinions?

Nah, not without Treloar and Dunn

Those losses are insurmountable

Agree.

The injury curse is killing us. We have depth, which has held us up so far this year, but at some point injuries are going to bite.

No club can sustain the amount of key/long-term injuries that we're receiving at the moment. I think we'll limp into finals. Gotta remember that young legs also tire deep into the season, and with so many injuries, it makes it hard to rest players.

Such a shame - with a full list, I reckon we would definitely be in it.

Fair assumption that when the selection committee are sitting down amongst themselves that they won’t be saying “Hey, no worries, we’ll just sub in Jack Madgen for Lynden Dunn and as long as we stay optimistic we’ll be fine!”

Of course if a Collingwood player PM’s you on BigFooty with “Hey Saintly Viewed, I’m really worried, how do you reckon we’ll do?”, most folks here would offer strong words of encouragement.

It depends on your point of view ... do you see yourself as having skin in the game, that your attitude has some impact on the result? Or do you see that what you post here is has no bearing on the outcome and you’re free to be brutally candid with your opinions?
My opinion is worth less than zero.

As for my fellow esteemed posters, that’s the great unknown.

All kidding aside. It’s more about mindset.
The playing group itself can’t start thinking we’re gone, they have to go in thinking we will win.
This won’t beat us.

15 rounds in .. pies second …. who would have thunk it …. dare to dream pie fans … you are in the mix.

Edit : How long is Treloar out for?? That's gunna hurt a bit … just checked … 8 weeks …. shit.

We've lost so many we could have / should have /might have won.
So now it's time to pinch one. Doing so will help rebalance the Universe and increase social wellness indicators - should also make Melbourne win world's "most liveable city" again - JUST DO IT

My opinion is worth less than zero.

As for my fellow esteemed posters, that’s the great unknown.

All kidding aside. It’s more about mindset.
The playing group itself can’t start thinking we’re gone, they have to go in thinking we will win.
This won’t beat us.

Yeah, exactly.

When we’re sitting in Ponsford being the 19th man for our team, yeah of course we’re going to be cheering and wanting to be positive (well, most are)

But when we’re at the pub chatting amongst ourselves and chewing the fat about our chances, we’re likely be a bit more hard nosed about it.

My round, what are you drinking?

Yeah, exactly.

When we’re sitting in Ponsford being the 19th man for our team, yeah of course we’re going to be cheering and wanting to be positive (well, most are)

But when we’re at the pub chatting amongst ourselves and chewing the fat about our chances, we’re likely be a bit more hard nosed about it.

My round, what are you drinking?
Scotch please

15 rounds in .. pies second …. who would have thunk it …. dare to dream pie fans … you are in the mix.

Edit : How long is Treloar out for?? That's gunna hurt a bit … just checked … 8 weeks …. shit.

Hey Metalcrusher has VJ found his textas yet? ;)