kelman

Kangaroos
Reading the 'boomer has signed' thread, i see that debate has turned to the Captaincy. I have been thinking about this for a about a week. On the replay of last weeks game they said that there are strong suggestions that Stevo will relinquish his captaincy at the end of the year and act as a support while he sees out his career. To me, this seems a great move. Very Stevo-like too. It means we can get our new captain up and running, while the VERY strong leaders, Arch and Stevo, are still at the club providng strong support and leadership.

But who should it be, Simmo or Stevo.

I agree with what Northboy said in the other thread, that having a guy with physical presence makes a real difference. It doesn't just have to be the hard hits etc, but rather the guy that is throwing his body in, is on the bottom of packs, is diving for every tackle, etc. That is Simmo. plus he is modest, a gun, consistent and loved around the club. he is a real Roo. The only real drawback to simmo is his disposal. Could this be frustrating to others in the team when/if times are tough? We don't want our forwards looking down the ground "richo-like" at their skipper because of poor delivery. Don't really think this matters, but trying to offer a balanced view of a player i love.

Then there is Harvey. A gamebreaker, he has perhaps the most important attribute of a modern footballer - pace. At their best, harvs is better than simmo. He can break a game open, he can kick the winning goal, he does not stop running, and he plays through hurt. There has been some criticism that he doesn't go in hard enough, but I don't see it. he is not on the bottom of the pack like Simmo or Robbins, but I doubt laidley would want him to be. Against Carlton i saw him really work hard to lay some shepards and help his teammates out. Even if this is a deficency, I thik the captaincy could make him realise that he needs to set this example. I think Harvs is a bit a arrogant (a good arrogant), and will realise what it takes to be an elite and would work for it. More so than simmo, I can see his game lifting as a Captain of the NMFC.

They're both great, and either could do it, and while I initally thought Simmo was the man, I have really come to the idea of having Brent Harvey as Captain. The thing that does it for me is that Harvey obviously wants it, and wants it bad. He wants to be the ledaer, and to lead us to glory. He thinks he can be a great captain, and is impatient for it. You don't want a Buddha Hocking or Wanganeen reluctantly accepting the burden, you want a Voss, Buckley, Carey that takes it and embraces it.

VOTE BOOMER NO. 1

First off, it says alot about a club when you have so many genuine options that would do a fantastic job. Nice problem to have.

I would vote for Simpson.

Very basically, I can picture him fitting so easily into the role. He is intelligent, fearless, hugely repected and very North Melbourne. Harvey is a more damaging player, but I like captains to be nuts and bolts first, flash second.

Simmo would kill for the job I reckon, he just doesn't get asked the question.

One other thing about Harvs. He has a fair bit of mongrel deep down.
A few years ago one of my mates played against him in the under 16s or 17s. they had been playing against eachother for a few years and knew eachother. before this game, my mate walked over to stand Harvey, who turned to him and said "G'day Nick, how are you mate?". Nick replied with a "pretty good Harvs", and they shook hands. As the other players got into position they chatted about getting ****ed and the like, then, just as the ump held up the ball, Harvey turned to Nick and gave him a huge headbutt to the nose as the siren sounded. umps saw nothing, Harvey played a blinder, Nick didn't play a minute. Tag broken.

A dog act, but i love it.
So did Nick who reckons he would have done the same thing if 1.He had of thought of it 2. He thought he would get away with it.

I'll continue to push for Colbert (in the event that Stevo steps down as skipper in 2004).

Wouldn't be unhappy either if Simmo or Arch got the nod as well.

Very comforting to have such an abundance of natural leaders - unlike most other clubs.

i think if the captaincy was to change , it would be short odds of simpson getting it, with harvey and grant not far behind.

I was feeling a bit concerned that no-one's jumping out of the pack demanding the captaincy by how they go about it - being outstanding in their teams like Buckley or Cousins - but then I realised how lucky we are to have a whole group who are very good players and good leaders. Soon we'll have three generations of them, with Stevo and Arch close to the ends of their great careers, Grant, Harvey and Simpson at their peak and Petrie, Harris and co stepping up. Not to mention Colby continuing to dazzle as a senior player. Mouth watering.

Laidley could give any of them the captaincy any time and I'd be really excited and pleased.

I could see a time when Simmo moves away from the centre as the Roos look at the likes of Harris, Wells and Harvey become the main 3.

This is due to my opinion of his lack of overall effectiveness.

Harsh, but I think it will happen, and then thus won't be in a position to really lead from a half back position.

Boomer for me!

The short term talks of a captaincy change are premature going by Laidley`s comments on the Harvey signing yesterday.

Harvey said he "would be lying" if he said he did not wish to be a future captain of the Kangaroos. Coach Dean Laidley said although the 1999 premiership player was part of the leadership group, Anthony Stevens and Glenn Archer, the current captain and vice-captain, would stay in their respective roles as long as they wished.

pretty much with laidley on this one. as appealing as all the other candidates are none of them (YET) stack up against either stevens or archer for the way they go about the game on the field or the way they hold themselves as men. their time will come though.

Originally posted by Moti
I could see a time when Simmo moves away from the centre as the Roos look at the likes of Harris, Wells and Harvey become the main 3.

This is due to my opinion of his lack of overall effectiveness.

Harsh, but I think it will happen, and then thus won't be in a position to really lead from a half back position.

Boomer for me!

Simpson not effective?

Unbelievable.

Time you upgraded your spectacles son!!

Originally posted by The Rewboy
Simpson not effective?

Unbelievable.

Time you upgraded your spectacles son!!

sleepingcap.gif

I think the Captain is important for off-field reasons as much as on-field reasons, thus the captain should be someone who is charismatic or at least someone that can string a sentance together.

Stevens might have the football respect but he doesnt want to do media because every time he does people ask about Carey, etc and they are not letting him move on.

Archer would be a great onfield captain but again, he is not very charismatic and confident as a speaker in front of the camera. If we are going to attract alot more members we need a very visible captain.

Simpson and Colbert are again both that lack real media exposure and I dont think would be the best choice.

Harvey and Grant have alot more charisma, are much better spoken and have just as much onfield respect, they are for all intents automatic players in our squad.

Alot will come down to who would be prepared to do alot more TV work, etc. I think either would be good candidates, Harvey is more than likely to play longer than Grant and might be a good long-term captain.

With Stevo intentionally whacking people to avoid Adelaide games I dont think its appropriate that he remains as captain of the team.

Originally posted by Tas
Simpson and Colbert are again both that lack real media exposure and I dont think would be the best choice.
[/B]

Ahh??? I heard Simmo on radio numerous times and on the footy show or on Rex' panel, each time he seems very comfortable in front of the camera.

Geez, l'd hate to have a captain with the charisma of a Bucks onscreen???

Originally posted by Tas
With Stevo intentionally whacking people to avoid Adelaide games I dont think its appropriate that he remains as captain of the team.
Mate, unless you know something, that`s a shocker. Stevo deserves the benefit of the doubt.