Carlton Forums Training Thread

^^ Also kind of looks like a male Sandra Bullock?
..:o

Ahem, What I came on to say however, is what I saw of the Ellard boy last year as an outsider, is he appears to have pretty good 'crunch-time' skills, one of those who have a strong will and real belief in themselves.

It seems I am one of the few posters on this board who have Ellard well ahead of McLean for the inside-mid role. I thought he was very impressive in the seniors last year when finally given his chance, after a string of quality performances for the Bullants, and I don't see why McLean should automatically get his spot essentially on reputation alone.

You make a very good point actually. Have to admit I never rated Ellard much, but late last year I was surprised. I expected a slow determined tagger. What I saw was a player with surprisingly good ability to rove taps, and effect clearances. (see last Q V Essendon). His skills were very good as well. We all know he's good defensively but he does have an attacking dimension to his game that's easy to overlook. He didn't seem slow either. Basically, he's a much improved footballer. It's tricky thing for the MC this whole performance V reputation thing. Realistically reputation has to play a factor, because proven match winners are more likely the win matches again.

:)

No way is Ellard ahead of McLean when both are fit. Not even close.

If McLean hadn't been traded for pick 12 I doubt you would be so strong in your position.

I think Ellard is on a steep upward curve, whilst McLean has been steadily declining for the last three or four seasons. Ellard, after dominating the Bullants week in week out, comfortably made the transition to senior football and continued to show further improvement with each game.

I cannot see what McLean offers us that Ellard doesn't, and in my opinion, Ellard is yet to show his best and will continue to flourish with opportunity.

Mclean is better than Ellard.

No contest.

Brockstar has a bigger body, better hands, better footy brain and a bigger motor than Ellard.

Better kick too.

The only thing they have in come if they lay tackles and go in hard.

I can recall everyone writing off Rice after he did his knee in his first game to destroy his first season with Carlton.

Mclean will be there (if fit).

If McLean hadn't been traded for pick 12 I doubt you would be so strong in your position.

Incorrect.

Even if McLean was still playing for Melbourne I'd be saying that he's a much better footballer than Ellard.

What we gave up for him has nothing to do with this discussion.

I cannot see what McLean offers us that Ellard doesn't, and in my opinion, Ellard is yet to show his best and will continue to flourish with opportunity.

They may offer us the same things, yet I can't think of a facet of the game that Ellard does better than McLean.

Ellard is possibly faster than Brock, but that's about it.

McLean is the far superior footballer.

It's easy to forget just how good a player can be when they've been injured for a while.

Well I disagree, and think Ellard is really being sold short. I think Ellard is a superior clearance player to McLean, has a good edge in pace, and impacts upon the contest harder. Maybe I was seeing things towards the end of last season... 51 tackles in 7 games was a truly fantastic effort.

Will be interesting to see which player has more of an impact this year, although a fit and performing McLean could only be a good thing for Carlton. :thumbsu:

Fair enough...I think Hadley had more of an impact in the clinches though compared to Ellard towards the end of the season. Both good players, I just believe Brock gives more to the side and has performed on par while having terrible injuries

McLean easily. Not knocking Ellard, but Brock is a quality mid when fit and firing.

This.

But that is the problem, he is never fit! He is quality when on song but he needs to play consecutive games to get into that level of consistency. Hopefully he can this year but I am more than doubtful.

The good thing now is we have a couple of good young prospects in Curnow and Cachia who may get a taste of it next year.

Sin, thank this guy for all of us. I don't get to go to training or anything, so it is great to get these sort of reports from someone who is/was up close and personal.

Bondi Blue from talking Carlton has done a heap of reports on the players from Thursdays training session and said it's alright to paste them here so I'll copy some into the buddy threads.

Thanks for that Sin and a big thanks to Bondi Blue. Always enjoy reading player/training reports, especially as I have no chance of actually getting to a session.

http://twitter.com/#!/Walkytalky1/status/24566118945398784
First hills running for the season. I wish the club would let me do it on a motorbike. That would be so good of them!!

http://twitter.com/#!/Aaronjoseph45/status/24560750999642112
On the way to hill sprints.. It's gonna be like running up a river!!
http://twitter.com/#!/Aaronjoseph45/status/24560750999642112

Sounds like fun. *has another gulp of an Egg Flip Big M*

Saw Tony De Bolfo at the closed session which I didn't know about <_<. Since I know him, I requested an article/interview {like the one he did on Levi} on Hendo about where he's at and stuff. He said he should have it in about a week or so.

Good job mate :)

Sounds like fun. *has another gulp of an Egg Flip Big M*

Hey I have always wondered, what the hell is an Egg Flip Big M? What flavour is it? Sorry I searched for a Big M thread and couldn't find one.

Thats awesome! Just so you know I'm reading between the lines, I hear ya, You muscled De Bolfo into doing your dirty work. I like it.

He looked psychotic yesterday, he an cachia were smashing anyone an everyone. Good stuff.

How about our potential inside-mid stocks: McLean, Psycho Ellard, Curnow, Cachia - hard-bodies and low to the ground; will be great to see Judd, Gibbs, Murphy and Lucas (primed for a big year) with room now to run and deliver. Tell you what, I reckon we've got a lot of talent that's just ready to flourish - Bullants are going to be bursting at the seams with talent eager to get a run in the seniors!

Is that you "Spiro from Springvale" :p

Looking forward to Hendo's interview :thumbsu:

Hey I have always wondered, what the hell is an Egg Flip Big M? What flavour is it? Sorry I searched for a Big M thread and couldn't find one.

Thats awesome! Just so you know I'm reading between the lines, I hear ya, You muscled De Bolfo into doing your dirty work. I like it.

Mum used to make egg flips when I was crook and home from school. Just really a milkshake with eggs and vanilla essence, maybe some nutmeg sprinkled on top. Yermy! :thumbsu: