thylacine60
Post-Human
- Banned
- #9,451
whatever it takes, harkmanistan........

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Thankfully we now have a competent list management and recruiting team: SOS, Paul Brodie and Michael Agresta. Not just a one man decision.
If they rate Bailey Smith similar to Sam Walsh AND can get 3 & 6 in exchange for pick 1, then I will trust the process and trust our leaders to get it right.
I don't see Gold Coast doing that, they will try pick 3 & a pick in 20s, at which point I would tell them 3 & 6 or go home. This is not about fair trading, this is about unfair trading, and unfair our way. Sam Walsh projects to be a 300 game player and future AFL skipper, pick 3 and a pick in the 20s will not cut the mustard, points system do not hold water here. If Gold Coast really want Sam Walsh, picks 3 & 6 are required, otherwise they can stay put and draft a couple more flight risks.
Split the middle.
Tell them to trade down from 6 (10 & 15 from Port, 8 and 16 from Adelaide).
We take 3 and 8/10.
They get 1 and keep 15/16.
Carlton: 1 -> 3 & 8/10
Draft - 3 (Smith), 8/10 (Caldwell/Jones), 69 (BSOS)
Gold Coast: 3 & 6 -> 1 & 15/16
Draft - 1 (Walsh), 2 (Lukosius), 15/16 (Stocker/Butters), 24 (McHenry), 29 (???)
Don't mind the look of that. And I reckon Port might be keen as well, especially if St Kilda don't look like trading down from 4. Gives the Power 5 and 6 to use on Rankine and Rozee, which is a nice pairing. Or they could nab one of the King boys if they're that way inclined.
https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...iscipline-sets-him-apart-20181107-p50elp.html
This has a bloke who gets fed up with the game and walks away at the age of 24 from burn out written all over it.
https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...iscipline-sets-him-apart-20181107-p50elp.html
This has a bloke who gets fed up with the game and walks away at the age of 24 from burn out written all over it. Also if he is this serious about it all, he will struggle to adapt with a bunch of other young men who like to have a bit of fun and can find the balance of partying and professional footy, he will become a very unlikable team mate.
if it is all business and with the commitment of time and energy required these days, he's in danger of being permanently "on"....not good
This has a bloke who gets fed up with the game and walks away at the age of 24 from burn out written all over it. Also if he is this serious about it all, he will struggle to adapt with a bunch of other young men who like to have a bit of fun and can find the balance of partying and professional footy, he will become a very unlikable team mate.
From the article...
“Physically and athletically, he’s miles ahead of certainly where I was or any other 17-year-old that I’ve ever seen.
Have to question how much physical development there is left and where he sits once his peers catch up on the physical development
anyone hear shifter sheehan suggest he sees pick one as a toss up between max king and sam walsh - it was on GuesSEN ffs.........
About the fourth time I've watched this and, every time I get more convinced he is the man for the job. Ticks all the boxes and would be infinitely coachable.
When there is no obvious alternative, stick with the most likely successful outcome. In this draft, it's Walsh for mine.Of course. Good fallback.
Why would you want to take the best player in the draft when you can take the third best player and a pick in the 20's?
People say that pick #1 doesn't guarantee you the best player and have supported this by highlighting recent picks, but let's try it this way.
Where were the best mids taken.
2011: 1st mid taken was Coniglio @ #2
2012: 1st mid taken was Whitfield @ #1
2013: 1st mid taken was Kelly @ #2 and then Bontempelli @ #4
2014: 1st mid taken was Brayshaw @ #4
2015: 1st mid taken was Mills #3 and then Oliver @ #4
2016: 1st mid taken was Taranto @ #2 and then McCluggage at #3
Looks different now, doesn't it?
sounds like doctor turf giving racing tips.........Yep, but then he quickly followed up with the thought that all top six could easily go number one.
I said.......what % of our list are top tenners? time to pay the piper, sack the ferryman and shoot the barman...................2019 is right here, right now.........sort of............
I seen a bit of Luke Ball as a kid in jnr development and he was already really developed and this is probably exactly what stopped him getting to the ultra elite that he didnt have as much improvement in him as Judd, Hodge etc.. So for him to be saying that, says something.