2nds Casey Thread 2013

• Thread starter Thread starter Tulip

Saw about 2 1/2 quarters with ThePuppetMaster yesterday before heading off to Etihad for our weekly dose of humiliation.

Casey ended up winning by 8 points, 13.12.90 to Pies 12.10.82.

To echo most of TPM's thoughts...

Hogan was huge, as above he finished BOG. He looks to be an intelligent forward, not to mention the fact that he just draws the ball to him. Played at very high intensity and just generally carved them up. Goal kicking is a slight issue but can be worked with.

Strauss did some good work off half back, surely he gets a crack next week.

Taggert looks a player, strong hands and good disposal from what I saw. Finished with 2 goals. Should come in for Kent this week I think, or Byrnes... or both.

Spencer dominated the ruck by virtue of his size. Did a bit around the ground too.

Barry is a smooth mover with a good kick, still learning the physical aspects of the game though as above - he has put a bit of size on his shoulders but his lower body is still stick-like, so his tackling is ineffective at best. Plenty to work with though.

McKenzie didn't do much again.

Magner seemed to be playing various team roles so didn't get a heap of it either.

Not much to say about Davis, Jetta or Tynan, although apparently Tynan had 25 touches. He played in the midfield mainly. Stark played too I think.
I stayed for the whole game and agree with most of what you've said but I thought Tynan was pretty good. Uses the ball quite well too. Always seems to make a good decision too. I really like him.

Strauss got better as the game wore on. Gee he is prone to the odd clanger though.

Hogan is just so dominant it's ridiculous. Even the pies supporters around me were in awe.

Spencer had a great game and kicked a pearler of a goal on the run from fifty with that really tricky breeze. He's such an odd player. My thinking is he'll be one of those Juice/Bater type players. In between VFL and AFL level.

Jetta was absent and apart from a couple of ok touches also cost us at least one goal from a clanger.

I thought Jordie tackled well but yeah, didn't get heaps of the ball.

Panozza had a really good game too. So solid down back. Took plenty saving, contested marks and used the ball really well off half back. He's a decent defender

Barry has most definitely bulked up compared to when I was going to pre season training sessions. He always seems to be able to take a couple of quick steps to get a bit if space and has confidence to hit a 'Flash' target. As in one only Flash would try and hit. As a result can turn it over but I prefer those turnovers than the Jetta 'I'm under no pressure so I better butcher it' turnovers.

Actually, that's what Casey have much more of than the seniors. Confidence. I see the Dees players see their first option, almost go to hit it, then stop, think about it, hear Neeld's voice in their head, then Craig's, then go to their first target who is now triple teamed. Casey players just trust their instinct and hit the target when it's there the first time.

Collingwood's side was pretty strong too with Lynch, Krak and Didak (who was as unlikeable as ever) among their listed players.

Enjoyable game though and kinda nice being able to just walk in off the street to watch it. The worst part was having to go to Docklands. Would rather have stayed at watched the Dees get belted at Vic Park

I stayed for the whole game and agree with most of what you've said but I thought Tynan was pretty good. Uses the ball quite well too. Always seems to make a good decision too. I really like him.

Strauss got better as the game wore on. Gee he is prone to the odd clanger though.

Hogan is just so dominant it's ridiculous. Even the pies supporters around me were in awe.

Spencer had a great game and kicked a pearler of a goal on the run from fifty with that really tricky breeze. He's such an odd player. My thinking is he'll be one of those Juice/Bater type players. In between VFL and AFL level.

Jetta was absent and apart from a couple of ok touches also cost us at least one goal from a clanger.

I thought Jordie tackled well but yeah, didn't get heaps of the ball.

Panozza had a really good game too. So solid down back. Took plenty saving, contested marks and used the ball really well off half back. He's a decent defender

Barry has most definitely bulked up compared to when I was going to pre season training sessions. He always seems to be able to take a couple of quick steps to get a bit if space and has confidence to hit a 'Flash' target. As in one only Flash would try and hit. As a result can turn it over but I prefer those turnovers than the Jetta 'I'm under no pressure so I better butcher it' turnovers.

Actually, that's what Casey have much more of than the seniors. Confidence. I see the Dees players see their first option, almost go to hit it, then stop, think about it, hear Neeld's voice in their head, then Craig's, then go to their first target who is now triple teamed. Casey players just trust their instinct and hit the target when it's there the first time.

Collingwood's side was pretty strong too with Lynch, Krak and Didak (who was as unlikeable as ever) among their listed players.

Enjoyable game though and kinda nice being able to just walk in off the street to watch it. The worst part was having to go to Docklands. Would rather have stayed at watched the Dees get belted at Vic Park

How did you rate Taggert??
Named in best again and had good wraps from a few experts.

How did you rate Taggert??
Named in best again and had good wraps from a few experts.
Yeah I thought he presented pretty well and showed some decent skills. Still not quite sure he's ready for the next level but only one way to find out I guess.

Would like to hear thoughts from ThePuppetMaster and [USER]Captain Jack[/USER] as to why they think Strauss can't play this well, even in the VFL, on a consistent basis. Confidence issue? Fitness, even?

Would like to hear thoughts from ThePuppetMaster and captainjack as to why they think Strauss can't play this well, even in the VFL, on a consistent basis. Confidence issue? Fitness, even?

Good question. In the VFL I think conditions don't often suit the open, fast style of play he prefers. There was plenty of space at Vic Park and some quick rebound footy in the second quarter. That was chalk and cheese compared to last week, where it was blowing a gale and really congested all afternoon. Strauss was able to hold his own there but the congestion didn't allow him to play to his strengths, i.e. speed and kicking skills.

At AFL level it's a different story, there is plenty of space but maybe he doesn't have the tank to make the most of that. We should also give him some credit for playing in an absolute rubbish team when he does come in at AFL level.

Would like to hear thoughts from ThePuppetMaster and [USER]Captain Jack[/USER] as to why they think Strauss can't play this well, even in the VFL, on a consistent basis. Confidence issue? Fitness, even?

Firstly, it's hard for a running half back to dominate in the VFL - he's been consistenly getting around 20 touches for Casey, featuring in the bests a few times too.

In the AFL it's definitely confidence, he backs his run a lot more at VFL - even when he doesn't play a great game.

Has only played 20 odd games (due a lot to injury really) - needs a crack.

Everyone needs to watch Taggerts last goal on the VFL highlights, starting about 3.45 in... ******* boom.

Being an old St Pat's boy, had mail that he was going to be a ripper for us, but taking a little longer to get going. He and Barry will both be better at AFL level, 2's can make players look scrappy!

Taggert should definitely get a game this week, his thingy in the VFL report is glowing.

Every week Barry seems to get more and more praise. He is one player that seems to be consistently improving at Casey. Hopefully he'll develop a bit physically this off season.

Taggert should definitely get a game this week, his thingy in the VFL report is glowing.

Every week Barry seems to get more and more praise. He is one player that seems to be consistently improving at Casey. Hopefully he'll develop a bit physically this off season.

Yep. I wouldn't mind if he didn't play until late 2014 or even 2015, looks like he could be a star for us with the right development.

He could get a run against the dogs this year as taste leading in to the preseason.

We are desperate for more running power through the middle.

Guys like Kent and Tapscott were huge liabilities against North.

Why don't we look at recruiting that streaker from the origin??? Had good size, pacey and had great evasive skills.... Until he fell over!

If he's streaking during origin he clearly doesn't need the cash either . Play for peanuts.