Caulfield Cup Day Mail

• Thread starter Thread starter aggotwang

I want to kill Newitt right now. :mad:

What the hell was he thinking taking off like that with 800m to go. FFS.

Yep. Surely after walking out the of gates, he follows someone like Prarie up the outside & flies home. Was one of the dumber rides I've seen in quite some time with him basically hard under the whip at the 600m.

I work with one of Dame Claires owners, he saying they will push forward and try and make a strong staying test as the mare is more suited over a longer trip. So the thinking is to run them off there feet. If she gets stuck back the feeling is she wont have much chance.

she had every chance.

Yep. Surely after walking out the of gates, he follows someone like Prarie up the outside & flies home. Was one of the dumber rides I've seen in quite some time with him basically hard under the whip at the 600m.

The horse tacked on well after missing the start ( which he does a lot sadly ) so had to use a bit of juice for that and taking off when he did was just plain dumb and had he trailed a horse into the race like you said i was pretty confident it could still finish the race off and make a contest. I was shocked when he took off 4 wide with 800m still to run and no wonder the horse was spent with 100m left. :mad:

i've been electioneering here in the ACT this morning... it was good. looking at the results of the first 5, it's saved me money, and the sitting around between "customers" gave me heaps of time to do the form and listen to the radio :P

i had some mail on Mr Edison in Sydney early and he came through for the place at odds - that's the only early bet i've had.

in the Caulfield Cup, Glencadam Gold is my first choice. the odds have become juicy on account of the barrier, but unless he bombs the start, i don't think it'll be too much trouble, he'll want to go forward anyway.

i really like My Quest For Peace. I saw his last run in Europe before coming over here, but didn't actually realise til the barrier draw that it was in the Caulfield Cup. I like the horse, but don't like that it's become the spruik horse, cos $9 is unders. the $17ish being offered yesterday was far more reasonable.

Jackalberry is the each way bet everyone should have

in the race after, I expect Mosheen to walk in.

finally, the quaddie

(i realise i'm posting my quaddie after the first leg, you'll just have to take my word that i'd included the favourite...)

2, 5, 8/2, 9, 10/1, 2/1, 3, 13, 14

i've got 55.56% of it.

Secret Admirer also getting a small E/W wager. Her run in last years Cox Plate was massive and i think she will love todays trip with only 53kg on her back.

Race of many chances though and good luck all. :thumbsu:

After having pre post bets on Glencadam Gold and Lights of Heaven I'll also have a quin involving the following:

Glencadam Gold
Lights of Heaven
December Draw
Alcopop
Moudre

Going with a local flavour

Williams is the best jockey in the country, fantastic ride from him today. He is riding beautifully atm

Get on Americain in the cup in two weeks i reckon, wont carry any more wight than it did last year, and it flew home today very well, and Dunaden will have more weight than it did last year.

well, the best thing i can say about that race, after Dunaden was the last horse that I eliminated when doing the form, is that at least i'm still in the quaddie...

And despite the massive hole in my strides (that was actually caused by Alcopop moreso than Dunaden), I can't be cranky with the nag that gave me my biggest ever Melbourne Cup day last year.

Gee we fell for Gai's crap again with Glancadam Gold. Yeah, he worked hard to the first turn, but it didn't make a difference by the end of the race. Americain, Dunaden and Lights of Heaven have all had great Melbourne Cup runs. I don't think My Quest For Peace's Cup chances were hurt today either.

well, the best thing i can say about that race, after Dunaden was the last horse that I eliminated when doing the form, is that at least i'm still in the quaddie...

And despite the massive hole in my strides (that was actually caused by Alcopop moreso than Dunaden), I can't be cranky with the nag that gave me my biggest ever Melbourne Cup day last year.

Gee we fell for Gai's crap again with Glancadam Gold. Yeah, he worked hard to the first turn, but it didn't make a difference by the end of the race. Americain, Dunaden and Lights of Heaven have all had great Melbourne Cup runs. I don't think My Quest For Peace's Cup chances were hurt today either.

Boss's ride Sneek a Peek was also solid and a good lead up run towards the M Cup.

My Quest For Peace went good, will have some improvement to come. Thought I was home on the 'Pop there, but super run regardless, just beaten by a champion and a champion jockey.

Pretty dirty day for me so far, only consolation is I didn't fall into Glencadam Gold :D

still in the quaddie, with Streama my only back up for Mosheen.

and wouldn't u know it, I knackered my quaddie! ive got 5 horses marked in the form guide, but only 4 in the bet - and it's the favourite, lady melksham, that I'm missing :(

I've had to have a pretty serious hedge on her. if none of my 5 nags get up, it's time for me to quit...