Changes against fremantle ??

Coin_Toss said:
Holland will miss another week, unfortunately.

OUT Prestigiacomo, Thomas, Rusling
IN J Cloke, Davis, T Cloke

Davies deserves a second chance.

Do you think davies will ever make a real difference in the collingwood midfield ? I guess thats why i say drop him, its because IMHO i dont think he will ever be the player we need him to be. I would prefer to persist with Rusling to see if he can turn into the player we need him to. Dropping Presti is a big call, just wondering why you think he deserves to be dropped? Is it form or do you feel he doesnt have a match up against freo ?

Will Davis be ready ? Damn Holland missing has made us very soft in the midfield, we need him back.

I dont care if Holland has only 1 decent leg.

Get HIM BACK IN!

Drizt said:
Do you think davies will ever make a real difference in the collingwood midfield ? I guess thats why i say drop him, its because IMHO i dont think he will ever be the player we need him to be.

Will Davis be ready ? Damn Holland missing has made us very soft in the midfield, we need him back.

Give him another game. Dropping a player after one game is, dare I say, unreasonable.

Davis is a cert to play, don't worry about that.

Timmy from Thomastown said:
In J Cloke Davis Fanning T Cloke
Out Morrison Presti Rusling Thomas
You cant be serious with Fanning?

Timmy from Thomastown said:
I am. He's the only one left and he played ok last week in the VFL. Fraser cant do it alone, and nobody else has put their hand up for second ruck.
Richards thanks.

Fanning is a useless hack.

With Davis back, I'd be letting Rusling find more form at Willi.

Fanning won't lose more taps than Fraser against big Sandi and is doing okay around the ground; his second rucking would let Frase go forward more if the rest of our crack lot are marked out of scoring (Fanning did okay against beanpoles last year to ruck us to a couple of unlikely wins; much prefer Richards, but seems still injured).

If Presti is injured, a blanket over JCloke, TCloke, OBrien. (Trav may give more CHB/forward/ruck flexibility?)

Midfield: there's the rub. OBree has been tagged out. Licca seems stuffed. Holland a week or two away. Swan coming back slowly from injury but getting there now it seems. Didak and Davis do cameos. Johnson relies a lot on the others feeding to him. Lones and Rhyce can do quick run-withs on mids of different heights, but if the matchups aren't good or aren't there at all then they both struggle. Thomas and Pendles are learning their trade, and are next year's issues for the mid. Davies is grinding away but not hurting others with his disposal much. Yakka looks the VFL goods (and can kick, oh yeah) but not yet translate his impact into AFL.

In: Davis, Fanning + [TCloke - or JC or the Brazilian - if Presti inj)
Out: Rusling, Davies + [Presti, if inj]

So longer term we we bank on OBree, Swan, Licca refinding form. Holland finding fitness.

twaters said:
With Davis back, I'd be letting Rusling find more form at Willi.

Fanning won't lose more taps than Fraser against big Sandi and is doing okay around the ground; his second rucking would let Frase go forward more if the rest of our crack lot are marked out of scoring (Fanning did okay against beanpoles last year to ruck us to a couple of unlikely wins; much prefer Richards, but seems still injured).

If Presti is injured, a blanket over JCloke, TCloke, OBrien. (Trav may give more CHB/forward/ruck flexibility?)

Midfield: there's the rub. OBree has been tagged out. Licca seems stuffed. Holland a week or two away. Swan coming back slowly from injury but getting there now it seems. Didak and Davis do cameos. Johnson relies a lot on the others feeding to him. Lones and Rhyce can do quick run-withs on mids of different heights, but if the matchups aren't good or aren't there at all then they both struggle. Thomas and Pendles are learning their trade, and are next year's issues for the mid. Davies is grinding away but not hurting others with his disposal much. Yakka looks the VFL goods (and can kick, oh yeah) but not yet translate his impact into AFL.

In: Davis, Fanning + [TCloke - or JC or the Brazilian - if Presti inj)
Out: Rusling, Davies + [Presti, if inj]

So longer term we we bank on OBree, Swan, Licca refinding form. Holland finding fitness.

Good post - well thought out :thumbsu:

As i've mentioned before i know Ben Davies so i'll always give him a wrap, but if I reckon you need to give him another chance at least. I didnt see Sunday, but he played some very good footy last year, and so far this year hes played 2 one off games and been dropped the next week, both after not playing too badly. Give him a chance before denting his confidence yet again

Kegs44 said:
As i've mentioned before i know Ben Davies so i'll always give him a wrap, but if I reckon you need to give him another chance at least. I didnt see Sunday, but he played some very good footy last year, and so far this year hes played 2 one off games and been dropped the next week, both after not playing too badly. Give him a chance before denting his confidence yet again

i dont know why people are being so harsh on him. he wasnt our worst against the saints.

he's young. if he doesnt get games he won't improve.

Coin_Toss said:
Davies deserves a second chance.
Not yet he doesn’t. If you tolerate mediocrity you get what you ask for. He either goes back and gets better or he gets the flick. He needs to work on his decision making and disposal skills.

FWIW:
In: Davis, C1, C3,
Out: Morrison, Thomas, Rusling

It is hurting us having Thomas and Pendlebury in the same side. Both look like being good players but together they represent too much non influential baggage at this point. I’d play only 1 at a time and their form will fluctuate to allow promotion and relegation. If they are both flying then put them in by all means. If we are playing well and against a bottom team play them both for development reasons by all means. Right now we need to win. Rusling just doesn’t look ready. Morrison just isn’t good enough. Surely MM can see that?

If Presti can’t play then C1 in for him. If C1 plays on Pavlich though I will cry. For us and Jason.

MarkT said:
Not yet he doesn’t. If you tolerate mediocrity you get what you ask for. He either goes back and gets better or he gets the flick. He needs to work on his decision making and disposal skills.

but I think you've at least gotta give the kid a few games in a row so that he can adjust to the increased pace of the AFL and the better players and bigger bodies he will be playing against. if you say to him we'll give you at least 3 weeks it'll take a lot of pressure off him and he might be able to develop some confidence which could in turn help to improve the attributes that you mentioned that are lacking.

Hadders said:
but I think you've at least gotta give the kid a few games in a row so that he can adjust to the increased pace of the AFL and the better players and bigger bodies he will be playing against. if you say to him we'll give you at least 3 weeks it'll take a lot of pressure off him and he might be able to develop some confidence which could in turn help to improve the attributes that you mentioned that are lacking.
In principle I agree. Not this week. In a few weeks we play the bottom 4 sides. That’s the time to blood/develop. We need to secure top 4 and aim for 2nd at this point.

MarkT said:

FWIW:
In: Davis, C1, C3,
Out: Morrison, Thomas, Rusling

It is hurting us having Thomas and Pendlebury in the same side. Both look like being good players but together they represent too much non influential baggage at this point. I’d play only 1 at a time and their form will fluctuate to allow promotion and relegation. If they are both flying then put them in by all means. If we are playing well and against a bottom team play them both for development reasons by all means. Right now we need to win. Rusling just doesn’t look ready. Morrison just isn’t good enough. Surely MM can see that?

If Presti can’t play then C1 in for him. If C1 plays on Pavlich though I will cry. For us and Jason.

Be realistic. Morrison won't get dropped. For two reasons...

He's Mick's lovechild.
He was OK at the weekend.

I presume you want Davies to remain in the team???

MarkT said:
Clement is the obvious match-up :thumbsu:

Changes against fremantle ??