Changes for Anzac Day

Fresh legs are clearly a must for this game, given the conditions we coped with today.

Ins - Didak, Bryan, Medhurst, Egan

Outs - Dick, Richards, Licuria, Cloke

And Wakelin for Presti if he is injured.

Fresh legs are clearly a must for this game, given the conditions we coped with today.

why would you bring egan in, he is not playing anywhere near to his full potential. He hasnt earnt his spot back yet. he was woeful last week in the vfl, he should dominate at that level he looked distracted or something.
i agree with didak,bryan and medders (if fit) and either Iles or Davies would be my choice, if medders not right then both.
outs i agree with also but i doubt that travis will be dropped, he still takes a key defender each week.

I don't know about Dick he should be given another game if it is going to be dry.

Cloke deserves to be dropped but will play Anzac day to make up for it.

Medders to play, Bryan will be unlucky to miss, Licuria shouldn't be dropped because he did well today.

Any chance on Buckley?

why would you bring egan in, he is not playing anywhere near to his full potential. He hasnt earnt his spot back yet. he was woeful last week in the vfl, he should dominate at that level he looked distracted or something.
i agree with didak,bryan and medders (if fit) and either Iles or Davies would be my choice, if medders not right then both.
outs i agree with also but i doubt that travis will be dropped, he still takes a key defender each week.
Someone once said Egan only plays his best football at AFL level.

I agree with that.

Cloke shouldn't make the cut, but we rely on him too much. Just hope he can actually do something as a forward...in the last quarter today our forward line was NO-ONE Rocca NO-ONE; NO-ONE NO-ONE Cloke (hack)

I agree with that.
a lot of footballers play their best footy in the seniors for starters the delivery is better and the game flows a lot faster and better. but the way he played last week, im sorry but he looked like he couldnt care less if he was out there or not. you have to earn the right to play for Collingwood.

I agree with that.

Probably me (I say it in every Egan topic :p),

Chris Egan is clearly an AFL player. It is like dropping Stephen Milne to VFL...he wouldn't succeed. Egan plays to the crowd due to his arrogance, loves a sniff of the better leather, and the pace of the game is all but better.

I was actually thinking of another case of this, being George Hogg of the Australian Cricket Team. Terrible at State level, but he is a ripper when it comes to playing at the highest level.

Egan isn't a good VFL player, and never will be. The problem is, it is our benchmark, but another good thing is, Mick knows what I said. Egan is in our best 25, just needed a little match practice, hopefully he will be in the side soon, cos he is a waste down at Pt Jellybean

a lot of footballers play their best footy in the seniors for starters the delivery is better and the game flows a lot faster and better. but the way he played last week, im sorry but he looked like he couldnt care less if he was out there or not. you have to earn the right to play for Collingwood.
Half back flank isn't his position anyway... but there is your answer up there ^^ ;) Cheers LF50.

Probably me (I say it in every Egan topic :p),

Chris Egan is clearly an AFL player. It is like dropping Stephen Milne to VFL...he wouldn't succeed. Egan plays to the crowd due to his arrogance, loves a sniff of the better leather, and the pace of the game is all but better.

I was actually thinking of another case of this, being George Hogg of the Australian Cricket Team. Terrible at State level, but he is a ripper when it comes to playing at the highest level.

Egan isn't a good VFL player, and never will be. The problem is, it is our benchmark, but another good thing is, Mick knows what I said. Egan is in our best 25, just needed a little match practice, hopefully he will be in the side soon, cos he is a waste down at Pt Jellybean

Yeah deffinately. I have gone on record to say Egan only competes when in the senior side. It happens at all levels. He loves the space and electricity of senior footy.

I would like to see him included for Anzac day. It may just bring out the best in him.

Okay this is assuming that Thomas and Burns are right to play:

In: Didak, Medhurst, Bryan
Out: Prestigiacomo (inj), Licuria (inj), Richards

I Pray to God they replace Richards with Bryan who I remember on his debut for Carlton racked up 20 touches against the swans along with 2 goals.

egan could be given a go, it is easier to get a kick for egan in afl then vfl, is isn't never ever gonna get tagged or anything unlike in VFL, but i much rather see buckley in then egan

I reckon Egan has to play some serious time in the seniors this year for your team..Decisions need to be made on people at the end of every year....

Like your ins and most of that except Cloke, will not be dropped and no need to drop him.

Would like Egan in so maybe some one else will make way, maybe Cox as we have too many defenders and not enough midfielders/goal kickers at the moment.

Cloke shouldn't make the cut, but we rely on him too much. Just hope he can actually do something as a forward...in the last quarter today our forward line was NO-ONE Rocca NO-ONE; NO-ONE NO-ONE Cloke (hack)

Well there you go again. The usual stuff from you. Exactly how much ball did our pansy big men supply to enable our blokes to get it down there?

He was starved of opportunities...

The game was lost at the stoppages in the last quarter - so how about some slight attempt to make a little bit of sense in future.

Now if you want to talk aboyut GUY - then I am with you. Travis has been doing ok and for what its worth was better than treadrea yesterday

Warmest regards...

Well there you go again. The usual stuff from you. Exactly how much ball did our pansy big men supply to enable our blokes to get it down there?

He was starved of opportunities...

The game was lost at the stoppages in the last quarter - so how about some slight attempt to make a little bit of sense in future.

Now if you want to talk aboyut GUY - then I am with you. Travis has been doing ok and for what its worth was better than treadrea yesterday

Warmest regards...

Obviously, I know where you are coming from, but the thing that annoys me about Trav is that he hasn't shown enough improvement over not only the last few weeks, but the last couple years.

He has a work-rate, yes, which is great, but he still can't kick despite training 5 days a week. Why can't he kick...he is a footballer. Another thing, he is 20, and can't turn. He is just at the minute frustrating.

He is only 20, so he will only get better, however, we haven't seen the improvement in the technical thing such as kicking yet, and if he can't turn at 20...think 25. It is just an issue that is worth bringing up...and it is the part of the game that has to be fixed, and can be fixed with the staff down there.

With his importance to the side, I think he has to just be a little more better in these area's, because as said, it is fustrating. He is fastly becoming the worst kick in the league (no.3 most inaccurate player...no.1 most inaccurate forward!)

We cant't be fussy about Egan. He belongs at AFL level not VFL. We need our classiest players in the sides, i reckon with the inclusion of him Dids medda and Bryan we can really stretch the Bombers with a bit of speed in the forward line.

Ins- Medhurst, Egan, Didak, Bryan, Brown
Outs- Dick, Richards, Licuria(inj), Presti(inj) Toovey(stiff i know, purely for match ups)

Come on guys give Trav Cloke a go, drafted as a 17 yr old the kid(yes he's only 20) plays in the toughest spot on the ground, its not like he's been woeful, he has a crack and in a few years will be better for the experience.

I was saying Egan plays better at AFL level than at VFL level before it was cool.

I'm with Lonie, although I wouldn't drop Cloke (we kinda need him) unless Reid really really looks like he would step up, and even then it would be a stretch. I think Cloke, look at it wholistically is a promising player for us, and has become a key componant of our side in only his 3rd year, that is pretty good for a key position player and without the concession of being a KPP he is still easily in the top 15 players selected in the draft we got him in (2004?). But in saying that, that is why we do have high expectations of him. The frustrating thing is the agression is there, the workrate and engine seems to be there, but he has lost touch in what used to make him look so great at times in the last few years, his clean gathering and quick kicking to our advantage.

Out Licuria Presti Dikk Thomas Richards
In Didak Wakelin Medhurst Bryan, with Nicholls Davies or Goldsack to take the last spot depending on todays VFL form

Thats assuming Burns and BJ are ok. I dont expect Thomas to come up, and even if its a 50/50 we shoudl be conservative. He's to important than to play injured. Also assuming Lonie still unavailable.

B: James Clement, Shane Wakelin, Harry O'Brien
HB: Heath Shaw, Nick Maxwell, Shannon Cox

M: Chris Bryan, Scott Burns, Shane O'Bree
Ben Johnson, Dale Thomas, Rhyce Shaw

HF: Josh Fraser, Travis Cloke, Alan Didak
F: Paul Medhurst, Anthony Rocca, Tarkyn Lockyer

Inter: Dane Swan, Scott Pendlebury, Alan Toovey, Leon Davis

Out: Simon Prestigiacomo, Paul Licuria, Guy Richards, Brad Dick

Season defining game.

I was told burns would be a 55/45 chance to play, so it would be a risk playing him you would think.

NLM, winders or welsh are likely to come in for the bomebrs.

B: James Clement, Shane Wakelin, Harry O'Brien
HB: Heath Shaw, Nick Maxwell, Shannon Cox

M: Chris Bryan, Scott Burns, Shane O'Bree
Ben Johnson, Dale Thomas, Rhyce Shaw

HF: Josh Fraser, Travis Cloke, Alan Didak
F: Paul Medhurst, Anthony Rocca, Tarkyn Lockyer

Inter: Dane Swan, Scott Pendlebury, Alan Toovey, Leon Davis

Out: Simon Prestigiacomo, Paul Licuria, Guy Richards, Brad Dick

Season defining game.
I think thats pretty much close to spot on, however do we really need to play wakes if presti misses? Maybe another runner would be handy like iles or perhaps bring in reid to play in forward line as 3rd tall and allow maxi and jimmy to get lloyd and lucas respectively with possibly OBrien to get a stint if need be. i just think we will need more runners and more fresh legs in this game thats all.

The guys were knackered in the last quarter on Saturday. We need fresh legs all over the ground.

Wakes in is a must for mine, we need his mobile height for Essendon's tall nimble forwards.

How many more kids can we bring in? Cox and Dick weren't too effective in the slosh, and although Toovey had a good patch he was soon spent. Maybe they'll be OK but I want a side to run all day.

The kids give us flashes but you have to cobble those flashes together. Even Pendles and Thomas are only 2nd year players, we can't expect more than a half of hard footy from them.

Changes for Anzac Day