Preview Changes for round 11 - Freo Vs Hawthorn

• Thread starter Thread starter Seppo

Seriously.

*It's at the MCG
*It's the Hawks, need I remind you they're top 4 material this year
*They'll be out for blood due to last years built up rivalry.

We might as well be sitting on the tarmac at Perth Domestic Airport come bouncedown time.

Terrible attitude.

1. So what? Every MCG game we should just chalk up as a loss? pathetic.
2. The Hawks are currently top 4 but ladder positions at this time of the year don't mean a lot. We were top 2 this time last year. The Hawks are very beatable
3. Nothing point. We should be out for blood to make up for the last month of footy. We should be out for blood to redeem ourselves in Melbourne. Once the ball is bounced it means nothing and the best team wins.

Bateman out..works for me. Our midfield can match the Hawks, they're not the quickest. Put a leash on Rioli.

Dont know what the F Harvery is doing.
He played Palmer in the guts a fair bit last week an we saw a completely diff player.
Yet this week i cant even remember seeing him even close to the middle until the dieing minutes of the final quarter.

Pav once again like all year useless in midfield.
What are they seeing that im not?
I see a big body, who will sometimes recieve the tap but coz hes so big an slow has a guy all over his back an ball gets locked in or if hes lucky gets a terrible scrambling kick or handball forward, which generally gets picked up by opposition as we have no CHF to get them.
Then his opponent just runs around all day with no pressure free to rack up a bunch of disposals an be damaging.

Saints know what our gameplan is on offense.
Its push up the ground then try an catch them on the rebound with quick entry into a forward line with lots of space.
So because we have noone forward who can take a pack mark an no CHF options they just sat back in defense all day.
Gave us no space an meant we were completely outnumbered anytime the ball went in there.
Expect more teams not to waste time an effort following their opponents up the ground an just making sure they keep atleast 4 back inside our 50 all the time.

Fair analysis.

What is that supposed to mean?
Yes we are not expected to win, but thats just a complete cop out by saying we have nothing to lose. For a team apparently looking to win a premiership in the next few years, every game there is everything to lose. There are absolutely no excuses for the effort we put in last week, so im hoping the players dont carry the same mindset as you.

it's exactly what it means Leslie, outside expectation is that we lose this game and comprehensively. It's the "backs against the wall, underdog approach"It's what every coach wants. The players go out take on the game, take more risk and play a natural game and WIN four points. If you read my full quote it's like what the hawks did in the 08 GF. I don't make or did make excuses for last week in my post because this thread is about this weeks game.

WTF has Rhys Palmer done to Harves? Rhys as a sub? That's ridiculous. I'm now convinced he's off to GWS, which is very very disappointing.

He is good when he actually plays in the midfield but Harvey is just not giving him a proper chance.

I don't think we have anyone suited to being a sub, except players like Hill and Fyfe. But obviously that would just be stupid. Guys like Crichton and Pearce aren't going to have a quick impact, whereas someone like Palmer could at least come on and get 10+ touches in the last term.

But instead of just rotating guys through the position, we should be picking the sub separate to picking the team. It is a specialist position, and I don't think we've really made the most of it.

Hawthorn v Fremantle at the MCG, 1.10pm
NO CHANGES
FINAL INTERCHANGES
Hawthorn: Michael Osborne, Matt Suckling, Kyle Cheney
Substitute: Luke Breust
Fremantle: Jesse Crichton, Zac Clarke, Kepler Bradley
Substitute: Rhys Palmer

So do I take this to mean that Buddy is playing??

WTF has Rhys Palmer done to Harves? Rhys as a sub? That's ridiculous. I'm now convinced he's off to GWS, which is very very disappointing.
He's a very good impact player, that is the thing. Finding someone who can sit on the bench for 2-3 quarters and then come on and have an impact is hard.. but Rhys is a ball magnet so he has an immediate impact.

EDIT: Chris, we think so alike :p

Harvey's making it very difficult to like him of late. Poor team selections, playing guys out of position, choosing a sub that makes no sense and in the recent media conferences he's had that sulky, petulant look on his face that he had early on. Get your shit together Harv's. :thumbsd:

So we are going to get smashed at clearances while the guy who won rising star as a midfielder is sitting on the pine and our best ever goalkicker is on the ball?
It's starting to feel like 2007 again.

He's a very good impact player, that is the thing. Finding someone who can sit on the bench for 2-3 quarters and then come on and have an impact is hard.. but Rhys is a ball magnet so he has an immediate impact.

That's fine Brady if we're gonna use Pav predominantly onball in the first half then sub in Palmer for Clarke/Griffin/Johnson, play Rhys in the middle, and move Pav forward. But the recent script has been for Palmer to play half forward and wander around like a headless chook and have no impact. :mad:

Either play the bloke as a midfielder or for East Fremantle. And Kepler on the bench ?? That's silly and has forced me to back my least favourite player (Johnson) for first goal because I'm assuming with Clarke and Kepler on the bench we're going to start with a tall in the forward line. :confused:

I don't think we have anyone suited to being a sub, except players like Hill and Fyfe. But obviously that would just be stupid. Guys like Crichton and Pearce aren't going to have a quick impact, whereas someone like Palmer could at least come on and get 10+ touches in the last term.

But instead of just rotating guys through the position, we should be picking the sub separate to picking the team. It is a specialist position, and I don't think we've really made the most of it.

I think Crowley could be suited as sub. He could play half forward once on and run his defender into the ground. Might result in a few scoring opportunities (see how I didn't mention goals). Otherwise he could come on and tag the most dominant Hawk and due to his freshness actually take him out of the game. Maybe?

I just don't think we can afford the luxury of having a midfielder - and that's what Palmer is - playing as sub.

If he is going to GWS from what I understand I doubt the coaching staff would know, and if they knew and he was playing well enough to be in the midfield they would have him there with these injuries. I just don't think he is playing well enough to be in the midfield, that is why he is not there.

If he wanted the midfield bad enough and he was good enough he would fight his way in no matter what position they put him in. Wherever you are on the ground there are stoppages everywhere, so get the f#ck in there and work your ass off and prove you deserve to be put in the middle.

I have not seen this in rhyse this year, I have seen glimpses but nothing consistent. That is why he is sub today and not playing in the midfield IMHO

Hawthorn v Fremantle at the MCG, 1.10pm
NO CHANGES
FINAL INTERCHANGES
Hawthorn: Michael Osborne, Matt Suckling, Kyle Cheney
Substitute: Luke Breust
Fremantle: Jesse Crichton, Zac Clarke, Kepler Bradley
Substitute: Rhys Palmer

So do I take this to mean that Buddy is playing??

That would mean no changes from the team posted on Friday mate, which didn't include Franklin. Although I agree, it's a tad confusing.

Buddy's definately out.

If he is going to GWS from what I understand I doubt the coaching staff would know,

A fringe player refusing to discuss a new contract until after the season suggests he wants out regardless of GWS.

and if they knew and he was playing well enough to be in the midfield they would have him there with these injuries. I just don't think he is playing well enough to be in the midfield, that is why he is not there.

Assuming he plays half forward that leaves us with Palmer and Crowley at half forward who offer bugger all. If we're going to carry someone play Walters, Bucovaz, any one of the young blokes.

I have not seen this in rhys this year, I have seen glimpses but nothing consistent. That is why he is sub today and not playing in the midfield IMHO

The only game where Rhys played a large portion of the game onball was against Port and he played well. And when he went back to the Sharks he got plenty of the ball too.