Review Changes & General Discussion - Hawks vs Crows

I heard that Bock was doing light training only and would be assessed later in the week. Still a very big question mark over his head.
Nope, reports out of here are that he should be A ok for this week. Thompson said yesterday he has trained freely all week, so no worries there.

Not so sure about your sources, on Adelaide 9 news tonight they said Bock trained freely and without hinderance today and should be back in this week..
Yep, heard the same. Bock pulled up well, so he should play.

This should be a great game, we might start as favourites but it'll be close all day.

I'm tipping Buddy to kick a big bag and get us over the line!
I've been hoping that Buddy would kick a bag for some time now, and I just don't know how our midfield will contend with a Crows outfit that is renowned for being able to lock a side down.

Considering the games we've played recently and how stifled our ball movement is, this could be the worst game of the year, when speaking about a visual spectacle.
I can only hope that we hit the switch.

I've been hoping that Buddy would kick a bag for some time now, and I just don't know how our midfield will contend with a Crows outfit that is renowned for being able to lock a side down.

Considering the games we've played recently and how stifled our ball movement is, this could be the worst game of the year, when speaking about a visual spectacle.
I can only hope that we hit the switch.

The conditions will probably be very cold & wet.

This could be the ugliest game of the year.

Buddy goes alright in Tassie, he'll boot 7 :thumbsu:

Out : Bateman, Young

In : Buddy, Muston (or Shoey if we're looking for a tall/ extra option up forward)

Muston was in the side and got squeezed out. He and Shoey have both been amongst the best at BH recently, but Muston is a better runner, and has the longer boot. Time for him to unleash ala Youngy?

The conditions will probably be very cold & wet.

This could be the ugliest game of the year.

Buddy goes alright in Tassie, he'll boot 7 :thumbsu:

On Bocky in the wet? Look forward to seeing that! ;)

I see Bateman is out, he usually towels us from memory, how has he been playing, you blokes see him as a big out or not so much?

On Bocky in the wet? Look forward to seeing that! ;)

I see Bateman is out, he usually towels us from memory, how has he been playing, you blokes see him as a big out or not so much?

He's been bloody suspended half the year:mad:

Changa is a very big out IMO.

On Buddy vs Bock - Buddy has done quite well down at Aurora when the conditions have been cold and wet.

If Bock isn't fit enough, no point playing him on Buddy unless Craig is willing to allow his star defender to suffer regularly from nightmares, reminding him of the day he faced Buddy Franklin in Tassie:p

Yeah well he's no Chris Massie, so I don't think that'll be happening.....hope anyway. We all know Buddy is a star, but Bock goes very well on him, although Buddy has kicked 18 in their 5 games. Be an interesting battle if Bock plays which he probably will.

Code:
Lance Franklin v Nathan Bock
[B]Player 	       MT      K 	 Avg 	 H	Avg 	D 	Avg 	M 	Avg 	HO 	Avg 	T 	Avg 	FF	FA 	G 	Avg 	B	SC 	Rat 	Avg[/B]
Lance Franklin	5	51	10.2	17	3.4	68	13.6	23	4.6	1	0.2	7	1.4	6	18	18	3.6	14	122	359	71.8
Nathan Bock	5	71	14.2	38	7.6	109	21.8	37	7.4	0	0	9	1.8	2	9	2	0.4	2	14	425	85

Weird that Buddy kicked those 18, yet Bock's rating overall is 14% higher. Not that stats ever tell the whole story.

Yeah well he's no Chris Massie, so I don't think that'll be happening.....hope anyway. We all know Buddy is a star, but Bock goes very well on him, although Buddy has kicked 18 in their 5 games. Be an interesting battle if Bock plays which he probably will.

Code:
[B]Player 	       MT      K 	 Avg 	 H	Avg 	D 	Avg 	M 	Avg 	HO 	Avg 	T 	Avg 	FF	FA 	G 	Avg 	B	SC 	Rat 	Avg[/B]
Lance Franklin	5	51	10.2	17	3.4	68	13.6	23	4.6	1	0.2	7	1.4	6	18	18	3.6	14	122	359	71.8
Nathan Bock	5	71	14.2	38	7.6	109	21.8	37	7.4	0	0	9	1.8	2	9	2	0.4	2	14	425	85

Weird that Buddy kicked those 18, yet Bock's rating overall is 14% higher. Not that stats ever tell the whole story.
But of course the Stats aren't always going to add up, when you're looking at a Defender versus a Forward.
If Franklin only has 15 kicks for the game he could quite easily kick 4.6 and still have a great game, while Bock could have 24 odd possessions while trying to work the ball out of the backline and gain the better score.
Stats are just that, especially supercoach/DT points.

slightly off topic here..........any Melbournians out there know of a decent pub to hit on Saturday arvo to watch the game??

OUT: BATEMAN, YOUNG
IN: FRANKLIN, HOOPER(if fit)/SUCKLING

If fit, then Hooper should be given first preference. If not, then Suckling.
Can't say I am big on JKT. Would rather Savage or Muston.

B: Brent Guerra, Stephen Gilham, Thomas Murphy
HB: Grant Birchall, Ben Stratton, Luke Hodge
C: Rick Ladson, Shaun Burgoyne, Jordan Lewis
HF: Carl Peterson, Lance Franklin, Michael Osborne
F: Cyril Rioli, Jarryd Roughead, Brendan Whitecross
R: Brent Renouf, Sam Mitchell, Brad Sewell
IC: Wayde Skipper, Xavier Ellis, Liam Shiels, Rhan Hooper/Matt Suckling

So, so hope Hooper plays! He is such an X factor, the most exciting player in the team for mine, so important for the forward pressure and movement. Really hope he gets his hammy back on track because we are so much better with him in the side.

I never actually knew how good he was, until he donned the Hawks colours. It is mouthwatering to note the aboriginal X factor influences we have in the team, just make us unpredictable and great to watch most of the time!

Code:
[B]Player            MT      K      Avg      H    Avg     D     Avg     M     Avg     HO     Avg     T     Avg     FF    FA     G     Avg     B    SC     Rat     Avg[/B]
Lance Franklin    5    51    10.2    17    3.4    68    13.6    23    4.6    1    0.2    7    1.4    6    18    18    3.6    14    122    359    71.8
Nathan Bock    5    71    14.2    38    7.6    109    21.8    37    7.4    0    0    9    1.8    2    9    2    0.4    2    14    425    85

Interesting stats. One stat that is unlikely to change is the FF v FA ratio 6 to 18 in 5 games with no doubt Bock holding him, wrestling etc but that will make no difference. Buddy will just get ignored yet again by the maggots