Preview Changes & prematch discussion Rd8 vs Richmond

We get them at a good time. Soft underbelly as they haven’t really been challenged. We will be up in this up to our necks as long as we bring the intensity. Had a read on their board, you would think they had just won a 3 peat is their arrogance “ we need injuries to test our depth” “**** we are good” “1st gear all day””no one can get near us” They are so ripe for a spanking!

Hey, actually think we might drop this one at Etihad. Every top 4 side drops a few games through the year and this could easily be one of those against a side that we historically have struggled with at Etihad. If you get $3+ odds or anything silly like that Id be backing that strongly as a North fan.

Should be an absolute cracker with a big crowd and awesome atmosphere under the dome where it gets damn loud.

We face a conundrum peeps- Waite, Majak, Preuss.

Wood is 60 years younger than Waite, Wood is also mobile like Waite, so Wood doesn't make us 'top heavy' and neither does Waite.

Turner is playing a fwd defensive role I believe stats for him haven't really be a concern. Not sure this week though, but if he had a job to do and delivered I can't see him being omitted.

Goldy is just going, but Preuss isn't going to make us sharper.

Brown in the ruck robs us of our best fwd, also the opposition put a fair bit of work into him and this benefits the likes of Wood.
Majak is another guy that while he's big of stature he is mobile, and can ruck and his pressure is first rate. There's also perceived pressure players don't want to be slow when Maj is around.

Cannot see a spot though for both Maj and Waite. Reckon I'd go with Maj due to his ability in the ruck, then I can foresee Waitey flying across the pack and pulling in screamers.

In; dunno

Out; dunno (EVW inj ?)

Looking forward to selection on Wednesday.

Watched a heap if vids a few minits ago of Martin being attempted tackled by the Dockers.

Every tackle broken.

They were broken because they went for shoulders to pin his arms. He just fends them off.

Surely after two seasons of this fending off trick, some Club would have come up with a technique to tackle him?

Or is he just untackleable?

They lost the hit outs 16-56 and it made no difference.

You must put metres on them with kicks, apply scoreboard pressure, and cover the switch.

100 out of the 110 points came from Fremantle turnovers, in the 3rd where they used the ball okay, it dried up Richmonds rebound game. We must not bomb the ball blindly next week. We must hit targets and deny them the quick rebound.

Watched a heap if vids a few minits ago of Martin being attempted tackled by the Dockers.

Every tackle broken.

They were broken because they went for shoulders to pin his arms. He just fends them off.

Surely after two seasons of this fending off trick, some Club would have come up with a technique to tackle him?

Naihanchi-Armbar.gif

One major thing to avoid this week:

Numerous players being sucked into the contest leaving their counterparts loose on he outside.

If that occurs, we're boned.

Spot on. Richmond take a lot of uncontested marks running into a vacant 50 especially after opposition sides kick to the boundary and commit numbers there from kick ins etc and leave their 50 open. We'd be better off kicking to one on one's from kick outs etc like we did with Cunnington against the Swans and our other good marks and not leaving the 50 vacant.

Kicking up the guts from defence isn't as dangerous as it's made out to be if you don't over commit numbers, man up and defend the 50 until it's clear we've won the ball. Leave the congestion inside 50 in case the ball comes back, not 60 metres out from goal on the boundary line.

Waite straight back in >>>> easily.
Id drop Lmac to be honest, make a statement within playing group and bring in LDU only because its Richmond as the Reigning Prems.
Scott has the chance to put the needle on players that arent :-sic' playing their role.

do you really think that...I mean really

just seems a completely idiotic thing to say

What about Ziebell to half back and Waite comes in for EVW if he doesn’t come up

Ziebell doesn't make good decisions that far out from goal imo, also his tank isn't that great, i think if he goes back and is forced to be accountable, they will run him ragged and he is more of an impact player. Before rotation limitations we often took him off for short breaks and that was when he played his best footy in the middle. I think the forward line gives him more of a break and allows him to have those bursts.

Waite or Lmac ?
Yep thats me, shock jock type of poster......his kicking ( Lmac) which is supposedly his trade mark is ordinary atm .

sure kicking cld be better
but if you are dropping blokes on specific deficiencies
well....not many left are there

and you leave turner alone ...too much schnapps

Too tall mate. Just too tall for Richmond.

Don't think height has anything to do with it. Our smaller defenders aren't

Every tackle broken.

Watch the GF, as good as he was, he was tackled well.