080518_Catani4.jpg

Luke McDonalnd during a juggling act.

080518_Catani6.jpg

Jack Ziebell has a bit of work to do.

080518_Catani7.jpg

Majak Daw in the zone.

Agreed Mate. Richmond's small forward line worries me though. Does Atley go back to cover EVW? I think that Waite can provide the same defensive pressure Up forward as Atley. :stern look
Ats back could work. Marley, Wright, JMac, LMac, Clarke, Atley. Plenty of options for their small forwards

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Out: EVW (inj) & Turner

In: Ahern & Waite.

Team:

B: Williams, Tarrant, Wright
HB: McMillan, Thompson, McDonald
C: Jacobs, Higgins, Hartung
HF: Ziebell, Waite, Simpkin
F: Zurhaar, Brown, Wood
Foll: Goldstein, Cunnington, Anderson
Int: Dumont, Atley, Ahern, Clarke

Emergency: McKay, Daw, Walker, LDU

I think we might have to swing Atley & Mcdonald back to counter the Richmond Mosquito fleet.

The biggest factor in this game will be our foot skills. If we start turning the ball over across half back, Richmond counter their smalls will get on top of us.

If we keep the pressure and don’t allow them too much corridor then Taz and Thompson should have a field day cutting off attacks across the last line.

Goldy is going to have to have a big game. Nankervis has been in solid form giving Cotchin + Martin first use. He also follows up really well. Goldy will have to be on his a-game. I really think this game will determine if he is really ‘back’ or not. He needs to get on his bike and provide an option around the ground. Would also love to see him get forward and kick a couple of snags.

Obviously Richmond’s backline is solid. They are a good unit and know how to defend as a group. I think Zurhaar has to go to either Houli or Short, both provide lots of setup and run off half back. Personally send him to Houli, he doesn’t like the physicality so I’d be pressing Z to really hard at him. Simpkin and Ziebell also have to apply a tonne of pressure across half forward. We need to create turnovers and make them count. We have done this well in recent weeks.

It’s also important that we make the most of our chances, especially early. Wood and Waite are going to have to get on their bikes early and provide some space to Browny. Try get him one out on either Grimes or Astbury.

Hartung + Higgins are going to have to provide a heap of run to counter the likes of Edwards, Lambert & Martin.

I expect Jacobs to go to Martin. People are saying he isn’t in form but he is still playing awesome football, the thing is he only needs 5 minutes to completely destroy you. Plus he’ll be up and about with the whole contract thing last year. When he goes forward i’d Have Jacobs run with Edwards. He has been equally as damaging this year. Cunners will have to match his usual output so far this season. Anderson’s pressure is going to be important, i’d Match him on Cotchin around the contest. If Graham goes to Higgins as a hard tag I’d send him to Full forward and throw Ziebell in there to mix it up.

Richmond’s forward half pressure is a real feature of their game. We CANNOT afford to over use the footy in the back half, when in doubt go line down the line to Waite and Wood. Taz obviously gets the job on Riewoldt. Townsend is the slowest of their taller forwards so Thompson goes to him with ability to zone off and repel attacks. Williams to Castagna, McDonald to Caddy, McMillan on Lloyd, Wright on Higgins/Butler. Clarke and Atley to rotate through there depending on how the match ups are going.

Going to be an awesome game. I’m not overly confident but I think we’ll be really Competitive.

Richmond by 10 points.

Who are we bringing in for Zurhaar. I am not sure we should be classifying Ahern as a defender.

I suggested Waite in for Zurhaar, and Ahern upgraded from travelling emergency for the injury of EVW.

Zurhaar is more a low possession forward flanker, Ahern is a mid/fwd.

We wouldn't need another defender because we have an excess of defensive flankers in the team as it stands and Richmond only has one key position forward. We don't have ideal matchups for their smaller forwards, however, we don't have anyone else better in the VFL.

I think Ahern has earned the opportunity and we will likely need more run against Richmond than we would against most other sides.

Waite's a lock, dunno about anyone else. Maybe a good time to debut Ahern. His handball could cut through the Richmond squeeze and release players..

On VFL form LDU seems the only one to put his hand up but I’d rather he have a few games at the level to build some confidence.

I wouldn’t mind seeing Ahern come in for VDub, his kicking skills would be handy against the hard pressing Tigers.

Gees the tigers run out games well, check their piss!

Normally I’d want to see Ahern and LDU back in a couple of weeks when we play some easier teams. But I think we’ve got the defenders for all their smalls in Thompson, Williams, Wright, Clarke, and then McDonald and atley as needed. So a mid for EVW makes sense. And given Ahern has been the emergency last week I guess he plays.

Maj back next week against GWS.

Richmond has only played 1 finals team from last year if I'm not mistaken. Adelaide. Including us next week that's a ******* soft draw to start the year for the reigning premiers..
AFL scripting a back2back to perfection
north have only played 1 of the top 6 scoring sides this year.
They've played 4th, 7th, 8th, 9th, 16th, 17th, 18th.
we've played the 3rd, 4th, 5th, 7th, 13th, 15th, 17th.
so its a 1974 gf rematch if u reckon the fix is in

I have to ‘host’ a group of competition winners at Collingwood Vs Geelong game on Sunday, so unfortunately won’t make it.
Do they have TV’s with other games televised in corporate boxes at the G?

Is the Richmond board that uninteresting that they all flock here? i mean whatever but its odd.

I suggested Waite in for Zurhaar, and Ahern upgraded from travelling emergency for the injury of EVW.

Zurhaar is more a low possession forward flanker, Ahern is a mid/fwd.

We wouldn't need another defender because we have an excess of defensive flankers in the team as it stands and Richmond only has one key position forward. We don't have ideal matchups for their smaller forwards, however, we don't have anyone else better in the VFL.

I think Ahern has earned the opportunity and we will likely need more run against Richmond than we would against most other sides.
Turner or Zuhaar though... And you're right about plenty of defender options - Ziebs the swingman?

north have only played 1 of the top 6 scoring sides this year.
They've played 4th, 7th, 8th, 9th, 16th, 17th, 18th.
we've played the 3rd, 4th, 5th, 7th, 13th, 15th, 17th.
so its a 1974 gf rematch if u reckon the fix is in

Clearly there is a stat to be found to support any morons fantasy :rolleyes: