Preview Changes & prematch discussion Rd8 vs Richmond

I have to ‘host’ a group of competition winners at Collingwood Vs Geelong game on Sunday, so unfortunately won’t make it.
Do they have TV’s with other games televised in corporate boxes at the G?

No mate, take your laptop or tablet get onto the Telstra afl deal thingy or a transistor radio with ear piece

080518_Catani7.jpg

Majak Daw after a cone.

Fixed your typos mate.

I have to ‘host’ a group of competition winners at Collingwood Vs Geelong game on Sunday, so unfortunately won’t make it.
Do they have TV’s with other games televised in corporate boxes at the G?

No mate, take your laptop or tablet get onto the Telstra afl deal thingy or a transistor radio with ear piece

Can't you just change the channel? I haven't been in a corporate box for years, having had to attend multiple games with clients in a past life, which gave me the absolute shits.

north have only played 1 of the top 6 scoring sides this year.
They've played 4th, 7th, 8th, 9th, 16th, 17th, 18th.
we've played the 3rd, 4th, 5th, 7th, 13th, 15th, 17th.
so its a 1974 gf rematch if u reckon the fix is in
But some of those are (slightly) lower scoring sides because they've played us. Same with you guys.

5 of the 7 teams we've played had their lowest score for the season against us, including Hawthorn and Sydney. Even the bad teams we've held to lower scores than they've managed against decent sides.

I don't think we'll win but I don't think quality of opposition has been overrating our defensive performances.

The three tallish types allows Rance to play loose.

I assume Astbury will play deep on Brown, Grimes will pick up Waite when he is inside 50ish, and Wood will run around the high 50 metre zone with Vlaustin. My guess is North will try to isolate Astbury, and if Rance stays back to assist, we will go through Brown and Wood. Wood is dangerous from 50 with his kicking.

I expect Atley will play a negating role on Houli. If he get's goal side of Houli then Houli will be eating his dust. Don't have a clue who Richmond might put on Turner.

Number 1 and 2 intercept and points against sides playing on each other this week. Interesting stuff.

Broad down back to we play 4 "Talls" down back.

Astbury will play on Brown, Broad on Wood and Rance will take Waite.

Hearing that Martin and Nankervis unlikely to play, Prestia and Grigg ruled out and Cotch is touch and go.

If Dusty does line up, he will most likely play FF for majority of game.

Our midfield will be very suspect this weekend if mail is correct.

North playing super footy and Etihad has never been a good ground for us.

Hearing that Martin and Nankervis unlikely to play, Prestia and Grigg ruled out and Cotch is touch and go.

Where'd you hear this? I'd be extremely surprised if Martin didn't play and didn't know there was a question mark over Nankervis. Who would be next ruck in line?

Soldo been playing pretty well in VFL will win majority of taps however pretty useless around the ground compared to nankervis can occasionally clunk a mark

A good matchup for Goldy then (on present form).
Maybe if our team actually kicked it to him when he is wide open he would pick up a few more touches, gets completely ignored.
Is he not liked around the club or something?

Soldo been playing pretty well in VFL will win majority of taps however pretty useless around the ground compared to nankervis can occasionally clunk a mark

Dusty has been injured for around a month now, the feeling is because of the 3 games in quick succession if Cotch had of got up last weekend Dusty would have had a rest vs Freo. Don't be surprised if he spent majority of this game forward and then have the rest vs the Eagles but I am hearing the club would prefer to rest Martin and Nank for this game and have them ready for the big clash with WCE but with Prestia getting injured, Grigg already ruled out and Cotch 50/50 its made it more complicated to give them a rest.

Sounds like it was generated from a malarkey bot.

Assistant coach from Richmond is where it was coming from.
Take a look at Dusty's TOG last week 78% and they have been trying to manage him for a month or so now with TOG and playing majority up forward where possible.

Personally I reckon they need to play, North is a danger game they are playing well and its at Etihad which we don't play well and North very well. Much improved team from last year and every chance to play finals.

Bottom line, our skills have to be able to hold up under their sustained pressure. Otherwise, it will be like the third quarter last year and we'll get blown away. However, on the other hand, we need to be able to sustain our own pressure. Anderson, Simpkin, Jacobs and company are really vital to our success in this regard. If we can weather their pressure while sustaining our own pressure, our defence and forward men will take care of business. I can easily see a good outcome for us here. However, I'm afraid the more likely scenario is something like how the Port and Demons games played out. We're, probably, not strong/stable enough as a unit quite yet. Having said that, the Western Bulldogs and Richmond experiences over the past two years are good arguments to the contrary. Hope springs eternal....

Not sure an Ahern inclusion would be a positive. 1st senior game against one of the better pressure sides in the comp....

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Richmond's pressure factor is directly related to how much the opposition handballs and how well they execute handball.

Collingwood put them under the pump for a large portion of their match because they executed release handballs very well and pushed through the scrum.

H to K ratio is the key. Scoreboard pressure when we get our shots and, lot's of kicking down the line to tall targets, and cover that switch..

Looking like we will miss a few or have to play a few through not quite right injuries giving the 3 games in short time over the last few weeks. Will be interested to see if we play guys not quite right or bite the bullet and give them a week to recover.

I would personally rather give them a week off as its a game at Etihad that I can see us dropping regardless, so test the depth and have a crack with Soldo and Miles for Nank and Martin.