Preview Changes & prematch discussion Rd8 vs Richmond

Broad down back to we play 4 "Talls" down back.

Astbury will play on Brown, Broad on Wood and Rance will take Waite.

That will be interesting - Waite is the most likely to play up the ground, which I imagine Rance would be happy with as he can chop out and attack but Waite has caused some real damage this year in that floating role. He then comes back forward and can mark on any player - particularly a guy like Rance who IMO is weak 1 on 1 against this type (high marking, athletic).

Who takes JZ - he's a big threat, particularly if you put your best on Brown, Wood & Waite.

That will be interesting - Waite is the most likely to play up the ground, which I imagine Rance would be happy with as he can chop out and attack but Waite has caused some real damage this year in that floating role. He then comes back forward and can mark on any player - particularly a guy like Rance who IMO is weak 1 on 1 against this type (high marking, athletic).

Who takes JZ - he's a big threat, particularly if you put your best on Brown, Wood & Waite.

Its hard to describe but you see it live at games, our backs are great at peeling off and covering for each other. Rance tends to play deep so he can peel off and intercept but the effectiveness of that is dependent on how Grimes/ Broad or even Vlastin cover for Rance up the ground.

Example If Rance had Waite and Waite pushes up then say Vlaustin will go with Waite up the ground and Rance will keep an eye on Vlas opponent. Astbury has had a better season than Rance and I hope he gets Brown who is most dangerous KF in the game at current point.

What are the likely match ups at our end, Tarrant to Jack, Thompson to Dusty/Caddy, Townsend usually will play defensive role on interceptor.

Should be a cracking midfield battle! Hopefully its a great game of footy.

Dusty has been injured for around a month now, the feeling is because of the 3 games in quick succession if Cotch had of got up last weekend Dusty would have had a rest vs Freo. Don't be surprised if he spent majority of this game forward and then have the rest vs the Eagles but I am hearing the club would prefer to rest Martin and Nank for this game and have them ready for the big clash with WCE but with Prestia getting injured, Grigg already ruled out and Cotch 50/50 its made it more complicated to give them a rest.

Why would they be playing their best player injured so early in the season, especially when Richmond are sitting pretty on top of the ladder? Is it a depth issue? You’d hate to make him grind through injury and have him break down when it matters.

We have three tall forwards with enormous tanks, have them push up and down the ground all game.

And absolutely play our game. Teams that try to nullify Richmond are on a hiding to nothing.

Make the game about us, and how we play.

The enemy always get a vote in your plan, just make it an invalid one.

Thompson to Riewoldt, Tarrant deep on Dusty/Casdy- will flog both 1 on 1. Daw loose cutting in front. Only way they win is if Clarke/Wrighty/Jamc can't hold their 2nd and 3rd smalls, which unfortunately is a possibilty.

Maybe if our team actually kicked it to him when he is wide open he would pick up a few more touches, gets completely ignored.
Is he not liked around the club or something?

Haven't particularly noticed this but if true it could be he's running to wrong spots and/or not demanding the pill enough. If he's presented as a better option and not been utilised I'm sure it would come up in video reviews post game. He didn't help himself with his gigantic shank a couple of weeks ago.

Yeah possibly, at the game from higher up i've noticed him sprinting to present as a target and nothing, against Port he could have strolled into goal.
Yes his kicking has left a lot to be desired this year unfortunately, but the only time he gets the ball is winning it himself, free kick or i he takes a contested mark. wont get it more that 10-12 times again doing that.

cant believe we are $4. Richmond struggle against tall forward lines look at how they played against the crows where jenkins tore rance and the whole defence to bits. Brown I can see kicking 5+ again especially if ends up at any period one on one with rance as he is a mediocre at best one on one defender. Add in Waite who always gives this mob grief plus ziebell playing a predominant forward post I think we are going to win. Our home ground, our fans and our shinboner spirit will get us across the line. We will show the football world who the real best defence and defender in the comp is. Cant wait to belt them

Makers, how's things mate?

Unfortunately, that's how I felt before the Port game....

Richmond's pressure factor is directly related to how much the opposition handballs and how well they execute handball.

Collingwood put them under the pump for a large portion of their match because they executed release handballs very well and pushed through the scrum.

H to K ratio is the key. Scoreboard pressure when we get our shots and, lot's of kicking down the line to tall targets, and cover that switch..
Pies handballing, by memory, is one of the best handballing I have seen in a game from a team applying such high pressure on them. I was quite amazed at how well they did it.

Their handballing is reminiscent of the 2016 Bulldogs in how well their efficiency and forward movement was, which I would say was a large contributor to them winning finals. Unquestionably the best handballing in the game right now.

Yep!

It breaks down the time needed for Richmonds press to take effect. Fumble or pause and they are upon you.

Richmond's pressure factor is directly related to how much the opposition handballs and how well they execute handball.

Collingwood put them under the pump for a large portion of their match because they executed release handballs very well and pushed through the scrum.

H to K ratio is the key. Scoreboard pressure when we get our shots and, lot's of kicking down the line to tall targets, and cover that switch..
Just think it's steep ask for Ahern.

From what I've seen of lolmond this season, their pressure is continuous and they score a lot of points on the turnover. Hardly a recipe for a success for a 1st gamer...

If we kick like we did against Swans, will make it a tall order...

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Just think it's steep ask for Ahern.

From what I've seen of lolmond this season, their pressure is continuous and they score a lot of points on the turnover. Hardly a recipe for a success for a 1st gamer...

If we kick like we did against Swans, will make it a tall order...

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Ahern's handball in traffic looks better than half the blokes in the current side can execute.