Preview Changes/Preview Vs Geelong

OUT: Hansen / Waite / Preuss / Thomson / Simpkin
IN: Durdin / Daw / Jed / Clarke / Cunnington

Hansen done. I cringe when he goes near the ball. Get games into Durds all year.
Give Daw ten games in a row & kick it to his stomach not a meter over his head. If he's not up to scratch after those ten games - with decent delivery - chuck McKay in for five games.
Save Preuss for when we want to rest Goldstein for a match or three & give Jed a real crack now.
Cunners & Clarke are surely no brainers. Simpkin needs to play some VFL. Great to have a taste straight up but he needs to get fit & confident.
Garner or EVW soon.
Leave Hibberd & Mountford in there for five weeks & see how they develop.

Daw in Preuss out

Wood bloody oh so close you could near taste it.

Screen_Shot_2013-06-07_at_12.33.20_PM.png

Aaron Sandilands one week, Todd Goldstein the next; Rhys Stanley is the first to admit he faces another huge challenge on Sunday.

Perhaps better known for his work as a key-forward, Stanley shouldered the load in Geelong’s win over Fremantle, with Zac Smith a late withdrawal.

The 200 centimetre Cat limited the influence of Sandilands, but quickly has to move on to a battle against Goldstein.

“Todd’s a great ruckman. To come up against their side will be another great challenge and we’ll throw everything at them,” Stanley said.

“[We’ll] try and replicate a little bit of what we did on the weekend but he’s a whole different beast altogether.

“The way he [Goldstein] jumps and moves around the ground is another aspect to ruckmen that we’ve got to be able to overcome.”

Geelong won last year’s clash between the sides at Etihad Stadium, but played just five games at the venue in 2016, compared to North’s 13.

“They’re [the Roos] good there. They play a lot of football there and it’s obviously another big challenge for us,” Stanley added.

Hate to see Simpkin go back to the VFL after one game. All he needs from the VFL is a place to go to play at a slower pace for his recovery. Won't teach him anything he doesn't already know and his confidence will grow with AFL games.
What about if Garner & Anderson are ready to go though?
Not arguing just asking - do you feel we just keep him in no matter what, based on potential?
I would say 'they wouldn't be playing him if he wasn't right' ...but we all know that currently means nothing at NMFC.
I feel like having that first taste of AFL & then going back to get some fitness / game time under his belt at VFL level would be beneficial - particularly if he kicks a bag of five or does some things we 'potentially' think he can do.
How's he going to feel if he has 5 games in a row with 4-6 possessions?

Danger is so solidly built that it would need a suspension from JZ to keep him quiet or out of this game.

I really hope he doesnt clock more than 35 but I am guessing 42 or above.
'Preussy, we have a job for you.'

I thought we were too tall and I think Daw gives us more below the knees and X factor than Pruess (who I thought was good) so I would bring in Cunnington Daw Clarke and EVW drop pruess Hanson and Gibbo. Definetly send some messages mix it up rotate the playing group get games into the young fellas. I guess I find it astonishing that from a spectators point of view (sitting at 90%+ games over the past16 years) the game day coaching of Brad can still be so predictable and repetitive and therefore substandard in the modern era :libra: but hey what would I know? I'm not paid vast amounts of $ to be an AFL coach.

I thought we were too tall and I think Daw gives us more below the knees and X factor than Pruess (who I thought was good) so I would bring in Cunnington Daw Clarke and EVW drop pruess Hanson and Gibbo. Definetly send some messages mix it up rotate the playing group get games into the young fellas. I guess I find it astonishing that from a spectators point of view (sitting at 90%+ games over the past16 years) the game coaching of Brad can still be so predictable and repetitive and therefore substandard in the modern era

Opposition coaches can plan accordingly, knowing very little will change on game day.

If daw isn't fit maybe try Hanson forward and roll him on the ball when goldy rests . Match him to blixavs who is a complete spud.

Swollow, Gibson and Thompson need to go for any one .

What about if Garner & Anderson are ready to go though?
Not arguing just asking - do you feel we just keep him in no matter what, based on potential?
I would say 'they wouldn't be playing him if he wasn't right' ...but we all know that currently means nothing at NMFC.
I feel like having that first taste of AFL & then going back to get some fitness / game time under his belt at VFL level would be beneficial - particularly if he kicks a bag of five or does some things we 'potentially' think he can do.
How's he going to feel if he has 5 games in a row with 4-6 possessions?
There's lots of players that could come out for Anderson since he'll be a midfielder this year from the sounds of things. Garner will spend more time forward IMO so there will be a crush if all of Garner, Turner, Simpkin and Thomas are fit but I'm not too worried about this hypothetical yet. Will be happy just to know that Garner's getting on the park.
If he's in the side for five weeks with those numbers he should feel lucky but that's exaggerating. Wasn't that far off it in his first game and now the nerves are going to be less of an issue should be getting ready for game two.

Ok...

So we brought 6 new players into out 22 last week. That's a major adjustment.

Senior players shat the bed last week. It's wrong to assume that will be repeated. But them credits in the bank copped a major hammering, GFC style. (GFC meaning Global Financial Crisis, not Geelong Football Club. Unfortunately for us their senior players rarely shit anywhere other than on their opponents' heads).

None of the 4 kids scored a pass mark. But they will all be better for the run. But we should still drop one as a token sacrificial lamb. The rest will still suck, but hopefully incrementally less sucky. Sometimes you gotta spend money to make money. I don't know what that means either.

So...for mine it's adjust and adapt but don't go crazy. Also our opposition isn't exactly stocked with tall blokes so we need to be aware of that. A bit less land of the giants, a bit more mosquito fleet. So here's what I reckon:

Out: Waite (inj), Hansen, Hibberd

Waite is obvious, Hansen gets move to the McMahon role for the rest of the season (on field defensive coach in the twos) barring injury and Hibberd was the one kid who was well off the pace. He'll learn from it. Sorry mate, you'll be back.

In: Garner, Mullett, Cunnington

Cunners is obvious. Mullett comes in for Hansen which addresses the fact Geelong has a relatively small forward line and Fishy was the best defender on the weekend (reward results). Garner for Waite because while Wagner and Larkey were good, we need Garner's ability to add forward defensive pressure while being able to present in marking contests. Larkey is going to be a cut above VFL but a cut below AFL this year due to size, and while Wags would come in if we needed a small forward, but with Waite out we need someone who can take a grab. If LT delivers a repeat performance and Wags keeps it up (unlike his social media profile), then things change next week. Ditto Thommo for Durdin or EVW, BTW. Thommo survives purely cos Hansen is ballast at this point.

I want to see Preuss and Goldy split ruck duties 50/50, with Goldy to play forward more to stretch Geelong's defence and finish every goal by mansplaining to his teammates that that is how you do it (TBH there were some things I saw about Goldy's game last week I didn't like much - little self important arrogant I'm better than my underperforming teammates things. Not sure if I'm reading something into nothing but I wasn't overly ecstatic. His last goal when he took an easy mark and turned his back on the goals and completely burned a teammate running past him into an open goal was an example - yes he was 20 metres out but he handball and easy goal from the goal square was on and he didn't even look. That kind of thing).

I want to see Swallow sent to Selwood head to head, and told to go a hard tag if Selwood gets going. I want to see Spitta play a hard tag and see what happens. I could also do with him having a zero kick, 20 handball game - hell he can handball farther than he can kick these days.

Mountford to Dangerfield, and to submit a 2,000 word essay after the game on the topic of how elite midfielders destroy their tags.

Tarrant to Hawkins, and by christ I hope he doesn't play him as well as he played Kennedy. Thompson to whomever is large and wanders down to defence, and most importantly to not play defence like he has no idea what he is doing. MacMillan to centre half finger point (aka Silly mid Maxwell), LMac to gritted teeth and overt displays of desperation. Williams to play on whomever towels up LMac despite his really obvious best efforts to prevent that happening. Menzel to kick 4 in the first half and then disappearing as a result.

Up forward, BBB to present up - geez we need him to discover the secret to kicking 5 or 6 in a high pressure game. LT to find 3 or 4 opportunities for the commentators to tell us about that time he had the yips and for me to throw a shoe at the TV (geez we need him to discover the secret to kicking 5 or 6 in a high pressure game). Ziebell to spend more time forward and less time getting the ball out of the centre square, finding space and having absolutely no idea where to kick it to so I'll just roost the thing and hope like hell it won't land in between four opposition players oh well that's exactly what just happened. Turner to provide more than the occasional cameo where he shows that when he gets near the footy, he is all class. Yeah I wish.

Oh...and our kick ins to be directed 60 metres to the boundary line where Goldy, Brown and Preuss can all get outmarked by Blicavs. Mark ****ing Blicavs. Geelong to kick 13 goals 25, purely cos Chris Scott thinks it is hilarious to watch North supporters sink lower and lower in their seats as every kick out goes to the same spot 60 metres out from the boundary line for exactly the same turnover. Champagne comedy Chris, champagne comedy.

Ok...

Senior players shat the bed last week. It's wrong to assume that will be repeated. But them credits in the bank copped a major hammering, GFC style. (GFC meaning Global Financial Crisis, not Geelong Football Club. Unfortunately for us their senior players rarely shit anywhere other than on their opponents' heads).

None of the 4 kids scored a pass mark. But they will all be better for the run. But we should still drop one as a token sacrificial lamb. The rest will still suck, but hopefully incrementally less sucky. Sometimes you gotta spend money to make money. I don't know what that means either.

So...for mine it's adjust and adapt but don't go crazy. Also our opposition isn't exactly stocked with tall blokes so we need to be aware of that. A bit less land of the giants, a bit more mosquito fleet. So here's what I reckon:

Waite is obvious, Hansen gets move to the McMahon role for the rest of the season (on field defensive coach in the twos) barring injury and Hibberd was the one kid who was well off the pace. He'll learn from it. Sorry mate, you'll be back.

Cunners is obvious. Mullett comes in for Hansen which addresses the fact Geelong has a relatively small forward line and Fishy was the best defender on the weekend (reward results). Garner for Waite because while Wagner and Larkey were good, we need Garner's ability to add forward defensive pressure while being able to present in marking contests. Larkey is going to be a cut above VFL but a cut below AFL this year due to size, and while Wags would come in if we needed a small forward, but with Waite out we need someone who can take a grab. If LT delivers a repeat performance and Wags keeps it up (unlike his social media profile), then things change next week. Ditto Thommo for Durdin or EVW, BTW. Thommo survives purely cos Hansen is ballast at this point.

I want to see Preuss and Goldy split ruck duties 50/50, with Goldy to play forward more to stretch Geelong's defence and finish every goal by mansplaining to his teammates that that is how you do it (TBH there were some things I saw about Goldy's game last week I didn't like much - little self important arrogant I'm better than my underperforming teammates things. Not sure if I'm reading something into nothing but I wasn't overly ecstatic. His last goal when he took an easy mark and turned his back on the goals and completely burned a teammate running past him into an open goal was an example - yes he was 20 metres out but he handball and easy goal from the goal square was on and he didn't even look. That kind of thing).

I want to see Swallow sent to Selwood head to head, and told to go a hard tag if Selwood gets going. I want to see Spitta play a hard tag and see what happens. I could also do with him having a zero kick, 20 handball game - hell he can handball farther than he can kick these days.

Mountford to Dangerfield, and to submit a 2,000 word essay after the game on the topic of how elite midfielders destroy their tags.

Tarrant to Hawkins, and by christ I hope he doesn't play him as well as he played Kennedy. Thompson to whomever is large and wanders down to defence, and most importantly to not play defence like he has no idea what he is doing. MacMillan to centre half finger point (aka Silly mid Maxwell), LMac to gritted teeth and overt displays of desperation. Williams to play on whomever towels up LMac despite his really obvious best efforts to prevent that happening. Menzel to kick 4 in the first half and then disappearing as a result.

Up forward, BBB to present up - geez we need him to discover the secret to kicking 5 or 6 in a high pressure game. LT to find 3 or 4 opportunities for the commentators to tell us about that time he had the yips and for me to throw a shoe at the TV (geez we need him to discover the secret to kicking 5 or 6 in a high pressure game). Ziebell to spend more time forward and less time getting the ball out of the centre square, finding space and having absolutely no idea where to kick it to so I'll just roost the thing and hope like hell it won't land in between four opposition players oh well that's exactly what just happened. Turner to provide more than the occasional cameo where he shows that when he gets near the footy, he is all class. Yeah I wish.

Oh...and our kick ins to be directed 60 metres to the boundary line where Goldy, Brown and Preuss can all get outmarked by Blicavs. Mark ******* Blicavs. Geelong to kick 13 goals 25, purely cos Chris Scott thinks it is hilarious to watch North supporters sink lower and lower in their seats as every kick out goes to the same spot 60 metres out from the boundary line for exactly the same turnover. Champagne comedy Chris, champagne comedy.
When lawyers go bad.

Sorry but Luke would not be able to run out a full game in the midfield. He's basically spent playing at HB.

Ok...

Oh...and our kick ins to be directed 60 metres to the boundary line where Goldy, Brown and Preuss can all get outmarked by Blicavs. Mark ******* Blicavs. Geelong to kick 13 goals 25, purely cos Chris Scott thinks it is hilarious to watch North supporters sink lower and lower in their seats as every kick out goes to the same spot 60 metres out from the boundary line for exactly the same turnover. Champagne comedy Chris, champagne comedy.
Nice write up.

I think Williams definitely needs to play on Menzel. He will keep him quiet.

I think the matchups are easier in this game. We just need to dampen the Dangerwood influence and we have a chance of winning if Tarrant doesnt play like he did last week (mind you, half of it was not his fault) and our forward line functions well without Waite. I have a feeling Brown might have a breakout game if we play a 2nd tall in the fwd line.

I think that because Simpkin played round 1 he is going to be playing a lot more games than I first thought. Well depending on how his body is coming up after the game. If he is fine and fitness is ok I am thinking he we be playing more than I first thought.

Cam Guthrie in doubt as Geelong Cats mull extra tall for North Melbourne clash

Geelong will consider fielding a taller lineup against North Melbourne on Sunday but are unlikely to risk important midfielder Cam Guthrie.

Guthrie is battling a calf injury which sidelined him for the Cats' opening-round AFL thrashing of Fremantle.

The 24-year-old finished fourth in the Cats' best and fairest count last year and has become an important contributor alongside stars Patrick Dangerfield and Joel Selwood.

Geelong coach Chris Scott is reluctant to risk Guthrie, who also suffered a minor ankle issue during the pre-season.

"I think he'd be unlikely," Scott said on Wednesday.

"It's still early in the week, early in our preparations so it's hard to get clarity.

"One thing's for sure, we will be really conservative with him. He has had a couple of minor issues but it's two in a month now.

"He's been a very, very good player for us and we need to make sure that when he comes back, he's ready to perform at 100 per cent. That involves conditioning as well given he's missed a fair portion of training."

Ruckman Zac Smith is likely to be available after missing the Dockers game with soreness, raising the prospect he could line up alongside Rhys Stanley and Mark Blicavs to combat the Kangaroos' brigade of talls.

North will be without Jarrad Waite (shoulder) but Majak Daw is a chance to join fellow big men Todd Goldstein, Braydon Preuss and Ben Brown.

Scott said the AFL's new "no third-man up" rule would not have a bearing on the decision to play three talls.

"We did all of last year virtually. I think the results suggest it's effective," Scott said.

"Now the stoppage is a bit more stable it gives us some different looks, with Mark and his height and reach around the stoppage at ground level still an asset for us.

"He's the best transition runner we have in our team by far. That's without even talking about what he could give us in our back half as well, so we think we've got options with him."

Geelong will start comfortable favourites in Sunday's game but Scott said the rebuilding Kangaroos should not be underestimated.

"They looked to have West Coast, who I think are probably the best team in the competition at the moment, on the ropes early in the game on the weekend," he said.

"They're missing some personnel when you compare them to last year but clearly their football at times this year has been at a high level."