Preview Changes: R7 vs GWS

• Thread starter Thread starter Scorpus

Worrell has to come in, I think Jones comes in, his game Saturday was better than the stat sheet says stood up when game was on the line and the cupboards pretty bare, Berrys a no brainer if fit.

Out Hamill ,Rowe , maybe Berg push Fog up forward or i wouldnt mind seeing Ned miss...................Lynch nowhere near the squad please

Worrell has to come in, I think Jones comes in, his game Saturday was better than the stat sheet says stood up when game was on the line and the cupboards pretty bare, Berrys a no brainer if fit.

Out Hamill ,Rowe , maybe Berg push Fog up forward or i wouldnt mind seeing Ned miss...................Lynch nowhere near the squad please
Its still too early for Jones IMO. For his own sake he needs a month of good footy in the lower level. Especially considering he's just had a position change

Regarding FOG, I know he’s not lighting the world on fire, but I feel like every game he’s inching closer to that super confident junior footy player that was dominant at every level.

Personally I still think he’s a forward in the end, but in a year where we are developing the team, I really don’t mind him playing the midfield minutes to get him into the game. Feel like if we persist with him something special will emerge, but dropping him will all but nail the coffin shut.

its about time someone said it, I reckon he should be playing every game replacing Lynch.

Its still too early for Jones IMO. For his own sake he needs a month of good footy in the lower level. Especially considering he's just had a position change
fair call, i just think we are struggling for options and its time to drop a few, interesting selections this week coming up

its about time someone said it, I reckon he should be playing every game replacing Lynch.
I mean its obvious he's a naturally talented and confident kid, but somewhere along the line it looks like we have turned that switch off in him. And I think the only way to turn it back on is through selection consistency.

No more 4 game stints. In a year like this play him at all costs and see what we get.

as I said a few weeks ago. We are now wasting Worrell in the sanfl. Once he plays an AFL game he won’t play sanfl again.

Injuries:
Sloane Hamill Lynch McPherson? Berry Talia Crouch Milera Hinge Gollant

In options:
Worrell Mackay McAsey Murray Newchurch O'Connor

Out options:
McPherson(likely injured) Rowe McHenry Fogarty Brown Murphy McAdam Hately

Pedlar(unfit-not ready)
Jones(not ready)
Frampton(SANFL standard)

In:
Worrell Mackay(sub) O'Connor Newchurch

Out:
Hamill Lynch(sub) Hately McHenry/Fogarty

Brown Butts Kelly
Smith Worrell Doedee
Sholl Laird Seedsman
McAdam Walker Murphy
Rowe Himmelberg Newchurch

ROB Keays Schoenberg

O'Connor Thilthorpe McHenry/Fogarty McPherson?

Sub: Mackay

Re Fog, I paid little bit of attention to his centre bounce work again. He often goes to one of oppns most dangerous mids and seems to be concerned more about defense than getting the ball himself. I’ve seen it enough to think it might be his planned role in CBAs.

I can’t be bothered doing the analysis myself but I wonder what his direct opponent’s centre clearance rate is when he’s in there, and also our side’s centre clearance rate is with him in there vs not in there.

You've accidentally copied their goals average in the tackles column. I'll also add some stats you can pick up from AFL stats section, which help pad out this story.

Tackles:

Murphy: 3.7
McHenry: 2.7
Rowe: 2.2
McAdam: 1.8

Pressure Acts:

McHenry: 19.3
Murphy: 16.5
Rowe: 12.8
McAdam: 11.3

Score Involvements:

Murphy: 4.8
McHenry: 4.5
Rowe: 3.7
McAdam: 3.7

It's also worth noting how we want to play is pretty important here. The current dynasty for instance has got similar offensive output out of their small forwards as we have throughout their run. Though they had three reliable avenues to goal for most of their premierships elsewhere.

At the moment though, we seem like a side in an early rebuild. Ned is fine for a 10-20 game player, but will need to ramp that production up a tad (and lower the amount of horrific plays) to really cement his spot. Murphy is probably a bit more of an extreme Ned this season, but not that big of a problem at the moment. Rowe could be due some SANFL time to work on his game, kind of average to poor at everything, but there is a player there. McAdam has gone full Menzel this year. On track for 40+ but is an absolute blackhole outside of it.

At the moment, I'd replace McAdam first. Though that's more to give him a rocket as his forward play has been rather lazy in the past month. There is value in having a player like him around our forward mix if we're willing to select players who'll cover him though.

Newchurch eventually comes in, he's had a good year in the SANFL so far (and I disagree with defense comments earlier, he's averaging 3 tackles a game at the moment). Dudley will also add another wrinkle when we get him as an NGA.

Amended

Out: Kelly, McAdam, Rowe, Hamil, Lynch (sub)
In: McAsey, Worrell, Newchurch, Jones, Mackay (Sub)

Let us see them play. No point having these blokes on the list rotting in our underperforming 2's. Fog Move to HFF to replace McAdam, Jones in the middle. McAsey to free up Doedee.

Donkey, where have you been mate?

absolutely they need to bring Worrell in for Hamill - no other option for a rebuilding side should even be considered as Worrell could play that role Hamill has been.

I would also be bringing in McAsey this week as the second KPD. He has been alright at SANFL level and his height will be a help back there. Kelly is probably the unlucky one to come out. The added benefit would to be allow Doedee to become the intercept marker and not have to man up on a guy towering over him

If Berry is right to go, the week off should have helped a bit for general soreness and tiredness, then bring him in for Murphy would be my take. If there is any doubt, give him another week off to rest up - the kid has been super and lets manage him properly to make sure he does not burn out too early

Lastly, Lynch out for McKay as sub seems the most obvious one

Pedlar not yet ready fitness wise is my take but if he pulls up ok after another couple of SANFL games then yep, lets bring him in to have a look

Jake adds no value

I quite like Kelly, but he's infuriatingly 2 speed. If he gains possession in general play he's perfectly fine. But if it's a mark or free kick he's a total momentum killer. Even if he takes a mark in space where he can just go, it's the same result, he stops, looks sideways, nothing on, wait, go back, look sideways, nothing, righto, long and line.

We lost so we are allowed to make changes this week

Historically we've taken the brave option. The easy option is to react without thought and make changes for the sake of it. We've always been stronger than that and have resisted any form of unforced change after a loss.

McAsey/Worrell/Newchurch have played a sum total of 4 SANFL games each. Hardly 'rotting'. :p Underperforming 2's? We are in the Top 5!!! (for a few minutes at least, anyway)

Re Fog, I paid little bit of attention to his centre bounce work again. He often goes to one of oppns most dangerous mids and seems to be concerned more about defense than getting the ball himself. I’ve seen it enough to think it might be his planned role in CBAs.

I can’t be bothered doing the analysis myself but I wonder what his direct opponent’s centre clearance rate is when he’s in there, and also our side’s centre clearance rate is with him in there vs not in there.
I did notice this and last week too
The same applied to when Jones was attending centre bounces. Very defensive

McAsey/Worrell/Newchurch have played a sum total of 4 SANFL games each. Hardly 'rotting'. :p Underperforming 2's? We are in the Top 5!!! (for a few minutes at least, anyway)
Ideally Newchurch spends more time there too, but our guys are so out of form it's worth taking a risk.

Worrell has deserved a game, McAsey is close based on the first month of the year too.

The idea of a rebuild is to see what we've got. We've done well giving games to a fair few kids this year, let's see some more. I mean we could see more of what Berry and RT have given us.

I did notice this and last week too
The same applied to when Jones was attending centre bounces. Very defensive
The thing with Fog is he doesn't have the ability and speed of Jones. He has to be at the front of th stoppage or he'll be left for dead.

The times he got the pill he was Infront of his opponent and got a yard of space.

Don't mind that...but personally I'd keep Kelly ahead of Brown who's done nothing in recent times.

Outs...Lynch,Hammil,Mcpherson,Brown (to Sub)
Ins....Newchurch,Worrell,Jones
Doedee,Butts,Kelly
Jones,Worrell,Smith
Sholl,Seedsman,Keays
Newchurch,Walker,Murphy
McAdam,Thilthorpe,Rowe
Obrien,Schoenberg,Laird
Int..Fogarty,Himmlberg,Mchenry,Hately Brown(sub)
On Notice...McAdam,(play in front) Mchenry(attack the ball not the player)

Perhaps but they were still called frees against and probably will continue since he has form of being a little shit. In every other game he has played he has given away loads of dumb free kicks.
2 of those FA weren't there though. A non-throw that was called one and a HTB that wasn't.

On SM-A205YN using BigFooty.com mobile app

Perhaps but they were still called frees against and probably will continue since he has form of being a little sh*t. In every other game he has played he has given away loads of dumb free kicks.

On SM-A205YN using BigFooty.com mobile app
Maybe, but none of those 4 were dumb free kicks. Judge everything on its merits.