Review Changes V Adelaide.

Reckon Stanley should be rested. There was one play late in the game where he got absolutely destroyed from 2 Carlton players making a marking attempt from opposite sides, and smashed into Danny, contorting his body wildly. It looked horific haha.

Dicko's back looked pretty sore too. Wonder if Brennan will be back... Probably not. Schade might get a run.

...does anyone care? We beat Carlton! :D:D

Na, seriously.

Dixon will probably struggle to get fit I would think. Looked out of sorts on Saturday but scraped through well.

Other than that, not sure what else will be changed really. All may hold their spots.

I care, i'm going to the game! :p Anyone else making the journey across for the final game?

AAMI stadium sucks compared to Metricon... Such a cold miserable environment.

Bluey noted that Caddy was asked whether he wants to hang up the boots early (like Swallow) to rest his injured shoulder but has kept playing the last couple weeks. I'd like to see him and Dixon probably take this game off. Not sure if we have enough players to do so though?

Wonder if Henry Schade is a chance to debut this week , been a emerg for the last few weeks.

For his sake I hope not. Will not be a confidence boosting debut against argueably the best clearance team in the comp (Adelaide), and probably one of the best forward duos in the league in Tippett and Walker.

The irony if Fraser does have a farewell game, camps at FF and kicks a lazy 8 in a couple of goal win :thumbsu:

I was one of the "Play Fraser" crew during the year, but it's hard to argue against the development we've seen in Hickey Day Dixon and Lynch made possible because he was playing NEAFL.
It will be interesting to see Zac Smith's 3rd year.
Thought he showed some improvement in the last matches we played but he will have to come on strong next year to overtake Hickey Dixon Lynch and Day.
Will Brennan play this week?
Probably

Its always interesting popping over to the opposition board...turns out on the R23 v Gold Coast thread, they are already talking about Hawthorn match ups for finals for the last couple pages...

Anyway, gonna be a really tough day at the office on Saturday arvo against the best clearance midfield team in the comp. I'll be stoked if we keep this under 50 points, and I sure as shit hope that muppett Walker doesn't kick too many. Can't stand him, shithouse mullet, grub of a player, ears that stick our perpendicular to his ugly mug.

It's that time of the year, really. Last game of the H&A season. Those that are playing finals will be talking about their finals and exciting stuff. The last round, since the top 8 has been decided, is pretty much just a token round. It doesn't decide that much. At least from Adelaide's perspective.

For those not playing finals like us, it's sorta hard to get motivated about this game. Playing away at AAMI, coming off a big scalp against the Blues. I'm a bit 'meh' about it myself. Won't care too much about the result, so long as we don't get smashed I suppose!

Not sure if Fraser has come out and said he is retiring yet , we all know he is gone at the end of the year but maybe Josh thinks he will go on somewhere else.

Fraser himself tweeted that he was retiring I'm pretty sure. A few weeks ago.

Its always interesting popping over to the opposition board...turns out on the R23 v Gold Coast thread, they are already talking about Hawthorn match ups for finals for the last couple pages...

Anyway, gonna be a really tough day at the office on Saturday arvo against the best clearance midfield team in the comp. I'll be stoked if we keep this under 50 points, and I sure as shit hope that muppett Walker doesn't kick too many. Can't stand him, shithouse mullet, grub of a player, ears that stick our perpendicular to his ugly mug.

He's not a grub of a player (he's young and exuberant, but not a grub), but I agree about the crap hairdo. :) Whilst some are discussing the following week's game (the consensus is it will be against Sydney not Hawthorn), most of us are not taking this for granted - we did that against Brisbane and look where that got us! Most believe we won't be "resting" anyone, so expect close to a full-strength Adelaide team.

It's great to see GC starting to come into their own, exciting times ahead for you guys! Just not this week - ok!?

Oh and to the person who hates AAMI stadium (cold and miserable I think the words were to describe it) - well yes it is those things on a cold winters day, but I well remember Carrara as it was then known, in the days of the Bears - and game nights were FREEZING (have to wear your thermals type freezing) and the carparks were mudpits! AAMI is fine on a sunny day, just like Metricon. :thumbsu:

He's not a grub of a player (he's young and exuberant, but not a grub), but I agree about the crap hairdo. :) Whilst some are discussing the following week's game (the consensus is it will be against Sydney not Hawthorn), most of us are not taking this for granted - we did that against Brisbane and look where that got us! Most believe we won't be "resting" anyone, so expect close to a full-strength Adelaide team.

It's great to see GC starting to come into their own, exciting times ahead for you guys! Just not this week - ok!?

Oh and to the person who hates AAMI stadium (cold and miserable I think the words were to describe it) - well yes it is those things on a cold winters day, but I well remember Carrara as it was then known, in the days of the Bears - and game nights were FREEZING (have to wear your thermals type freezing) and the carparks were mudpits! AAMI is fine on a sunny day, just like Metricon. :thumbsu:

Hehe both of those comments were me Jenny :)

Exhibit A - pretty close to a spear tackle in our game, I wouldn't use "exuberant"

Exhibit B - http://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&v=XCZtud9Yoy0&feature=endscreen
Jaensch doesnt even appear to do anything wrong, and then Walker intentionally goes punches him in the guts later on in an intraclub match? Bit of a grub act if you ask me, hard at the ball and contest.

And his other sling where I think he got a week or 2?

So 2 seperate dumb suspensions, and a dumb act at training within 12 months.

Anyway, at Carraratron I think I've worn a tshirt with a footy guernsey over the top every game except for one where it was a bit nippy and breezy, so I bought a jumper that night. I'm all for defending players/club, but lets be serious. Football Park isn't the greatest stadium going around cosmetically, and viewing wise, and it is quite uninviting after being at other grounds around Australia. But just my opinion.

Good luck on Saturday anyway, I think the Crows will win by about 10 goals. Will be good for Bluey and Gary to go have dinner with Kurt anyway friday night or something :p

Ok.. here's my response for what it's worth:

A. The "Morris" incident. It was made to look far worse than it was, mainly due to the fact that Morris was attempting to kick the ball at the same time that Tex was bringing him down to the ground. The momentum then forced him up to a different angle resulting in the spear like tackle. The damning thing here was the apparent DR's report from Richmond that said he was injured, which changed the impact from low to medium, resulting in 3 games. It was worth one - at best, for reckless play. Interestingly Morris played that entire game out and hasn't missed a minute of football since. Amazing how the DR's could have even remotely said he was injured. It was apparent payback for an incident that happened last year.

B. The Jaensch love tap was an absolute beat up - the boys were having a lend of everyone on twitter and the journo's took the bait. Was quite funny. They are in fact, very good mates.

C. The Geelong tackle again was reckless, but there was no malice intended. It's good to see that he has appeared to learn from his very costly mistakes and seems to have reigned in that aggression.

AAMI in it's younger years was quite something. A lot of people think it's too far out, but I never did. It seats a lot more people than Metricon or Skoda, so it has a different feel for sure. I think they've done a terrific job with Metricon (far better than the old Carrara) and it looks like Adelaide Oval may have a similar type feel to it?

Good luck to you guys too. Not so much for this weekend :p , but for next year. Hope Bocky makes his way back into the side.

Ok.. here's my response for what it's worth:

A. The "Morris" incident. It was made to look far worse than it was, mainly due to the fact that Morris was attempting to kick the ball at the same time that Tex was bringing him down to the ground. The momentum then forced him up to a different angle resulting in the spear like tackle. The damning thing here was the apparent DR's report from Richmond that said he was injured, which changed the impact from low to medium, resulting in 3 games. It was worth one - at best, for reckless play. Interestingly Morris played that entire game out and hasn't missed a minute of football since. Amazing how the DR's could have even remotely said he was injured. It was apparent payback for an incident that happened last year.

B. The Jaensch love tap was an absolute beat up - the boys were having a lend of everyone on twitter and the journo's took the bait. Was quite funny. They are in fact, very good mates.

C. The Geelong tackle again was reckless, but there was no malice intended. It's good to see that he has appeared to learn from his very costly mistakes and seems to have reigned in that aggression.

AAMI in it's younger years was quite something. A lot of people think it's too far out, but I never did. It seats a lot more people than Metricon or Skoda, so it has a different feel for sure. I think they've done a terrific job with Metricon (far better than the old Carrara) and it looks like Adelaide Oval may have a similar type feel to it?

Good luck to you guys too. Not so much for this weekend :p , but for next year. Hope Bocky makes his way back into the side.

Dont get me wrong, I think Walker is a very good footballer and might be the best full forward in the comp within 2 years. As you said he is very young and about 23 next year I think you said? Just starting to enter his prime and the last probably 18-24 months probably only starting to work out how big he is and how to use his size to best effect. Doesn't change my opinion that I think he is a big of a grub of a player, obviously not in the ilk of a Milne ;) More towards the J.Riewoldt variety of a grub. Has an arrogant demeanour about him on the field that aggrevates me.

I'm not ignorant in regards to AAMI, I know where it's located ;) and the capacity. I hope Adelaide oval is done well, we'll be great for the economy there and definitely encourage more people to the footy regardless of the 2x clubs performances. It entices a day/night out being in town. Dinner drinks footy for a couple hours, also accessiblity which is our biggest issue at Metricon. Great stadium, but transport is a bitch, and theres no entertainment nearby, pubs, restaurants etc...

e.g. I think Etihad and the Gabba are miles ahead of Football Park in terms of seating, style, environment, location, facilities. They are of similar size so good comparisons.

Really our comparison for Metricon is against Skoda, and maybe even Simmonds stadium? Based on smaller markets/smaller stadiums.

Review Changes V Adelaide.