Changes v Crows

My only concern with the height up forward would be if the Crows are able to run it out. However, what I saw from Wingard yesterday allayed most of those fears, especially with Neade throwing himself around too.

Amon for White seems to be the most logical. You would think that Toumpas would get a run soon though.

more worried about our contested defence than getting clearances. so a firm no for Young from me, one our worst defensively in clearance situations IMO. Ah Chee is enough for one team.

If it wasn't for the White injury I wouldn't change the side. I'd like to see Toumpas get a game in White's role. Also keep Bobby in will need all our key tall defenders this weekend.

more worried about our contested defence than getting clearances. so a firm no for Young from me, one our worst defensively in clearance situations IMO. Ah Chee is enough for one team.

If you want contested 'defense' it might be better to put in Young who is actually a proven contested ball and clearance winner, rather than say Amon or Toumpas who do not have inside games at all.

no and no

first off Amon has a reasonable contested game, underrated IMO. undecided on Toumpas.

Young is a see ball get ball player. we had plenty of them on the weekend except every single one of them coughed it up as soon as they were pressured. Young will worsen this. then there's the times where we had a high risk setup and the opponents had unpressured clearing kicks out of a stoppage, young is a shocker when he doesn't win the ball. If he was half decent at this Andrew Moore wouldn't have been on our list for the last 2 years. Moral of the story is Hartlett is our best clearance player in win % despite not being a great contested ball winner why? because his smothers, tackles, experience and size greatly helps the defensive side of the stoppages.

for me it is out of Amon and Young, I suspect Toumps will need to bide his time in the SANFL and virtually knock the door down

Toumps is a player who will blossom with grays boak Ollie polec Ebert around him...

Backing him in

I feel for White, he missed games last year through injury and wasn't able to find his mojo in the games that he did play (he was no orphan of course!). He is an important player in our side because of his elite speed.

I thought we were absolutely pumped in the centre yesterday so hopefully we get more from Lobbe next week, I can't see why we can't at least break even at the centre bounce giving our on-ballers first look at the ball.

Looking forward to our boys dictating play from start to finish next week.

White out - Young in.
Although Hoon might be a chance down back against Betts
We had a few passengers for 3 quarters yesterday - Ah Chee didn't pick up the flow of play at all and Impey needs to add more offensive work to his defence mindset.

This whole 'O'Shea turns into a gun in the second half of the year' thing is such a myth.

2011 and 2012 he was poor all year. 2013 he was good all year. 2014 he was poor in the first half and good in the second. 2015 he was poor in the first half, then started getting games in the second half because Carlile and Trengove were injured, but apart from the Collingwood game he was still very average.

The 'poor first half, good second half' thing has happened once in five years. Once in five years is not a pattern.
2011 and 2012 is irrelevant - he was shit, I would have cut him, but Primus gave him game time and he benefitted and surprised nearly every Port fan in 2013 as he was good.all year.

So lets look at the last 2 years as our sample size after he had established himself in the team as a player who is worthy of being top 25 player. He starts off slowly and he struggles at Sanfl level either because of concentration issues and or the way the game is played ther ie more man on man and he is a senior player down back ie he cant do that zone off play that he is so effective at AFL level and reading the play and intercepting the opposition play.

Every year during the 2012-15 years at least one of Carlilie and Trengove have been out for a month straight and the last 2 years both at the same time, so to think we arent going to get injuries again and even have form issues is closing your eyes to reality. Who at the start of 2015 thought Jonas would have such a bad year? OShea will get opportunities in both the first and the second half of the year and he has shown he can grab them and run with them better in the second half. He is a fantastic endurance athlete and he seems to have the ability to endure the marathon that is an AFL footy season that goes 5 months or 6 months if you go deep into September better than some of his fancier team mates.

The only thing that is cooked about Oshea, is his food for nutrient intake to keep enduring.

Don't think anybody would argue that he's going to break away from the pack and hit a forward on the tit with a silky skilled pass ala Robbie Gray, but he's excellent at reading the tap. I'd rather have Young grabbing the ball and blindly kicking it forward our way than Matt Crouch grabbing the ball and blindly kicking it forward their way.
Only problem with that scenario is young doesn't do that, he gets caught holding the ball.

Kane Cornes was talking up OShea before the game. Kane's a fair idea of his value I would roll with that but Basset was talking up DBJ for no reason out of the blue Ken talked him up after the internal trial from memory? Maybe there's something they like about him ? Only looking at stats again Norwood anyone at the game watch him stats look ok if defensive side of game was good and didn't burn the ball?

Lobbe won't be dropped. Not even worth discussing

It's the most compelling issue to be discussed coming from the game. Lobbe is a deadset liability. Smashed in clearances and the opposition ruck was near BOG and had a ridiculous number of hit out to advantage. We can only be thankful Dangerfield wont be on the park next week to tear us a new one.

It is purely not worth discussing because it is zero chance of happening.

Seriously, Bobby to Lynch? He will be cramping up 15 min in.impey needs to lern to let Eddy go up field and defend on the way back, I'd do the same with Bobby on Walker.
I don't recall the last time Bob played on Taylor, I reckon Hombsch usually goes to him and Bobby is too short for Jerka so I reckon Lynch is the obvious choice.

Lynch was tagged by mcdonald on the weekend, greatest asset is his long leading so you need someone fit and reasonably tall. I actually think O'shea would be perfect. Finding good matchups for our other key backs is harder.

Out: Lobbe, White

In: Howard, Toumpas
Keen to give Jacobs another record hit out day? He would destroy Howard, Trengove and Westhoff in the ruck. It would handing the filth their biggest advantage on a platter I feel. Lobbe has to play but get Trengove into assist more if we can depending what happens with the Crows forward line

I don't recall the last time Bob played on Taylor, I reckon Hombsch usually goes to him and Bobby is too short for Jerka so I reckon Lynch is the obvious choice.
Lol you cant be serious, what is Lynch's strengths vs Bobby weakness.

Keen to give Jacobs another record hit out day? He would destroy Howard, Trengove and Westhoff in the ruck. It would handing the filth their biggest advantage on a platter I feel. Lobbe has to play but get Trengove into assist more if we can depending what happens with the Crows forward line
Get westy around the stoppages for 3 man up as well as Ollie, ever player should be told to bang into Jacobs at any given chance.

I rated his work in the pre-season and thought White hadn't done enough.

I'm sure Matty would shown a lot more against the saints had he not been injured and probably proved me wrong though.

Regardless I reckon Toumpas will have a great game if selected.