Prediction Changes V Swans

• Thread starter Thread starter avishka5

Problem with that is they are then 1 fwd down on rotation with an extra mid. I think it throws team balance out as they like to put Rioli and even Lecca through the guts at times but you can't have Shred or Hutch up forward butchering it.
You have quite a rigid view of team balance. We played Darling and Waterman without Kennedy earlier in the season and it was fine. We can play JK and Waterman without the whole team glitching out.

Why specifically would playing just JK and Waterman cause a problem?

Mitch Brown EF Joke

200.gif

You have quite a rigid view of team balance. We played Darling and Waterman without Kennedy earlier in the season and the sky didn't fall down. We can play JK and Waterman without the whole team glitching out.

Agreed, no drama playing with just JK & Waterman. Also makes slotting Ryan back in the team much easier.

I guess it depends on whether we shuffle our forward line around around to cover Masten's position - could Ah Chee play Masten's role on the wing? In which case we might be able to use that opportunity to blood someone like Brander.

Agreed, no drama playing with just JK & Waterman. Also makes slotting Ryan back in the team much easier.

I guess it depends on whether we shuffle our forward line around around to cover Masten's position - could Ah Chee play Masten's role on the wing? In which case we might be able to use that opportunity to blood someone like Brander.
Or we just go in with a slightly smaller forwardline? I'm not sure this hardcore like-for-like thing is realistic.

I'm not sure Ah Chee has the tank to do what Masten does.

There is absolutely no evidence of Shred playing forward where hes made an impact. Hutch has at least played forward recently, taken good marks up there and been in good positions to score but just messed up his kicks. The following week he didnt miss his opportunity at goal so i'd back Hutch over Shred as a forward any day if need be.
Ideally Ryan comes in and Waterman shifts to Darlings role with Ah Chee in Watermans role, and Shuey just slots straight in to the midfield. When Ryan is ready then we can look at dropping the next underperforming player or whoever we need to for team balance.
You need to clear your schedule, get a hot cup of tea and spend some time on Youtube

I like Hutch too, but Sheed's best is awesome and there's no question he can be damaging in the forward 50.

You need to clear your schedule, get a hot cup of tea and spend some time on Youtube

I like Hutch too, but Sheed's best is awesome and there's no question he can be damaging in the forward 50.

Given his form I can’t see Sheed being especially damaging on a HFF at present. Reckon it’d just dent his confidence

Not sure about Brander at the SCG.

He Strijks me as dominant when he has lots of space to lead into, but won’t have the frame to deal with wrestling defenders, which I assume will be the case given how small the SCG is?
Depends if Grundy goes to Jk. He has the height and reach to beat Rampe tho.

Sheed's goals are from forward stoppages as a mid, not from playing as a permanent forward, that was the point i was making. Hutch has presented well at half forward and would have had two goals there against Carlton if he had his kicking boots on. Even more to the point is neither of them should be there as we have better options.

I don't necessarily disagree that neither should be there. And Sheed is definitely in horrid form, I'm just pointing out that he has had a good presence in front of goals in the past. I really hope he gets back to that soon.

Also, this.

I don't necessarily disagree that neither should be there. And Sheed is definitely in horrid form, I'm just pointing out that he has had a good presence in front of goals in the past. I really hope he gets back to that soon.

Also, this.

Yeah gonna have to agree to disagree on some, and agree on other parts of that post. :)

Personally think they should leave bringing in Brander for the following game when we are back on our home turf - at least he would have the home crowd behind him which isn't a bad way to make your debut. Like many don't think we need another tall for the SCG. If we bring in an extra - probably Petrol? Wouldn't play Ryan until he's had a game or two in the WAFL to get rid of any rustiness and to regain his touch. Who do we play the following week - is it Essendon?

Also, this.
When coming back from injury it always seems to take time for Sheed to find his mojo again. A bit of patience is required as we know how good he can be when playing at his best. If somebody needs to be dropped it's probably either Hutch or Sheed?

Out : Darling inj ,Jetta

In: Brander ,Shuey

Just the 2 changes omitted Jetta because I don’t think he’s done anything special to keep getting gifted games ..See Sheppard Hurn Gov and Barrass busting their guts and what is Jetta doing besides getting carried as a passenger ..

Edit : Shit I forgot Duggan and Cole who have been fantastic and always putting their bodies on the line ..

When coming back from injury it always seems to take time for Sheed to find his mojo again. A bit of patience is required as we know how good he can be when playing at his best. If somebody needs to be dropped it's probably either Hutch or Sheed?
This is so true about Sheed. It makes me wonder why he doesn't come back through the WAFL. Some players are straight back in after injury (e.g. Shuey). Sheed always seems to come back slowly and it does him no favours bringing him straight back in.

I think the MC will bring Ryan in for Darling and Shuey for either Sheed or Hutch (maybe Nelson but that may require more shuffling - I am a bit lost as to where everyone played last week). On the Ryan call, "it's the vibe".

Edit: Jetta is on thin ice too but would give him another week given it is Sydney at the SCG and we look better structured with him in the side and playing at least half decent (but post injury it hasn't been half decent)

You have quite a rigid view of team balance. We played Darling and Waterman without Kennedy earlier in the season and it was fine. We can play JK and Waterman without the whole team glitching out.

Nope you are interpreting what I am saying incorrectly if you think I'm saying we must replace Darling with a tall.
I have said it at least twice here already but lets go again- I am not advocating the addition of another tall (although neither am I against it). Im more than happy to have Waterman and JK as the 2 talls with Achee in support. However we will need another forward- big or small to play a specialist forward role which frees up Rioli and Lecca to take some midfield minutes which will change up the dynamic in the midfield.
With Shuey, Redden, Gaff and Yeo doing the bulk of the work in the midfield, having 2 more midfield specialists in Sheed and Hutch is 1 too many IMO.
Anyway I'm not sure how many different ways I can say it so I guess we wait a week and see if I'm right.

Nope you are interpreting what I am saying incorrectly if you think I'm saying we must replace Darling with a tall.
I have said it at least twice here already but lets go again- I am not advocating the addition of another tall (although neither am I against it). Im more than happy to have Waterman and JK as the 2 talls with Achee in support. However we will need another forward- big or small to play a specialist forward role which frees up Rioli and Lecca to take some midfield minutes which will change up the dynamic in the midfield.
With Shuey, Redden, Gaff and Yeo doing the bulk of the work in the midfield, having 2 more midfield specialists in Sheed and Hutch is 1 too many IMO.
I just don't think there are these hard and fast rules. Just pick the team that gives us the best chance of winning.

Why do we need LeCras and/or Rioli to play in the midfield? They can play more minutes forward if we need them to. As your post suggests, we'll have enough genuine mids to cover the rotations. Masten went out of the side against St Kilda and wasn't replaced with a midfielder. So bringing Shuey back, with Darling going out, would simply be addressing a shortfall in the midfield. And we've got enough forwards.

Certainly, against the Swans, I'd rather have the extra midfielder than the extra specialist forward.

I agree. And having some serious speed in the forward line such as Ryan or Petch would give us a vastly better chance of winning than rotating either Sheed or Hutch through the forward line- which is what would happen if a mid didn't come out of the team for Shuey.

Or rotate Shuey/Yeo through the forwardline.

What is the deficiency in a side like this? There are enough forwards and enough mids. Plenty of run.

B: Nelson Barrass Sheppard
HB: Hurn McGovern Duggan
C: Jetta Redden Gaff
HF: Ah Chee Waterman Cripps
F: Rioli Kennedy LeCras
R: Naitanui Yeo Shuey
Int: Lycett Hutchings Sheed Cole

Why do we have to drop Sheed/Hutchings for a two-gamer in Petruccelle? If Ryan is fit, then that's different.

Yep hence my changes being
In Shuey, Ryan, Petch
Out Nelson, Hutch and Darling

Dont mind Sheed not an A grader but a good player to have. Could be handy against the contested beasts Parker, Kennedy and Hannebery

Channel 10 just said Jake Waterman is injured. Not sure if he will be fit for Sydney yet.

Didn't say what the injury was.

My mate just come back from surgeons this arvo in Subi and Waterman was having mri on shoulder he said he was 50/50 on playing Swans before the Mri.
Did see Ryan and Venables are available for Swans on twitter today.
Might be a few changes.
Id say Shuey, Ryan, Venables in for Darling, Waterman and?

If Waterman goes out now with Ryan and Venables in id say he will struggle to come back in once Darling is back in.